We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Carrington Place

Hotels.comUS$60*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$60*
US$60*
US$60*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Carrington Place
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

76 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Carrington Place
See the most recent reviews
Showing 76: English reviews
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 21 May 2016

My husband and I had dinner at Carrington Place last night. The restaurant is very nice although some of the tables are very close together. The wait staff are friendly and efficient without being in your face We had some flat bread and the Chicken Liver pate to share for starters. The pate was delicious - very smooth and full...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynette B
Scott W, Owner at Carrington Place, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. At Carrington Place we try very hard to manage our bookings through out each evening so the restaurant is not totally congested with customers at 1 time and the service and kitchen are run off their feet. It is important to try and have every guest enjoy their experience...

Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 24 February 2016

Had dinner here with a group of friends. Restaurant is lovely, food was fabulous and service was excellent. Everyone at the table enjoyed their meal. They have a fixed price menu on Tuesdays and Wednesday which makes it good value.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl L
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 February 2016

All staff were very friendly, and our room was comfortable and clean. We arrived early at midday and were able to get straight into our room which was helpful. We ate in the bar that evening and enjoyed a few tapas dishes. We were a little disappointed that when we asked for a couple of extra slices of bread, the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank fiona_russell
Scott W, Manager at Carrington Place, responded to this review

Feedback is important to ensure we can continue to improve our services to all our guests. Thank you for your post. Call me 'old school" but I like to speak to the host at the time, face to face and I would never post my feedback after the fact. This gives them a chance to rectify things on the spot....

Halifax, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 January 2016 via mobile

Booked last minute with friends for 2 nights- the lady who run the carrington was very helpful and friendly she made us feel very welcome! The rooms upstairs were decorated lovely, overall very clean! The shower was amazing! The Free tea was a life saviour! We would of preferred wifi as we stayed there during awful weather but this wasn't...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank chantelle_rawlinson
Scott W, Manager at Carrington Place, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback - we are glad you and your friends enjoyed your stay with us. With the wifi - the Carrington area is notorious for bad WiFi and we are currently working (approx 6 months) now with our provider to get this rectified. We no longer advertise free wifi for this reason. We look forward to having...

Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 6 January 2016

After hearing adds for this place for ages I decided to take my wife here to see what it was like. We arrived for lunch & after walking down a hall where the walls displayed a lot of awards, to the Restaurant we were told by a rather gruff chef that the restaurant is not open for lunch in January...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank mychin2015
Scott W, Manager at Carrington Place, responded to this review

Thank you for selecting Carrington Place as a venue for lunch and we apologize that our dining room was not open for lunch when you arrived. The month of January is a very slow month for our lunches as many people who use our venue at lunchtime are generally unavailable. We made a business decision to only offer lunch in...

Ashtonfield, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 4 January 2016

We stayed at Carrington Place on New Year's Eve so that we could enjoy the festivities at Honeysuckle. We had the downstairs room with a massive ensuite, as we have a young daughter and were advised that this would probably be more comfortable than an upstairs room with shared bathrooms. Our room was comfortable and nicely presented. Both the room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jenny F
Scott W, Manager at Carrington Place, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your stay with us - we hope to see you again.

Gold Coast
Reviewed 4 December 2015

Genuinely friendly check-in although my booking said check-in started at 2pm and closed at 3pm. The property is in lovely condition, the room is decorated nicely - even with a couple of apples. Shared bathrooms still take a bit of planning around but this one was absolutely spotless and had lots of hot water. My air cond was quiet and...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Scott O
Scott W, Manager at Carrington Place, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon

Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 20 November 2015 via mobile

Carrington House is a lovely mix of venues...the front bar offers fab bar food and entertainment while the restaurant is elegant with amazing food. Topped of by great service and you have a reason to enjoy the experience.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank MeredithMart
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 17 November 2015

Booked on Wotif thinking we had booked a hotel, actually its a pub, nice old renovated pub, Very friendly waitress/hostess greeted us, we took the bags to the room, then realised we had no private bathroom facilities, sharing 2 toilets with 14 (i think) other rooms, not happy wife! Nice place for a meal and drinks for locals, if you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark K
Scott W, Owner at Carrington Place, responded to this review

Your response is appreciated. Carrington Place is a guest house with dining and like many guest houses only shared bathroom facilities are offered. If you book directly, staff are trained to advise this direct to the guest in the first part of the reservation process. If you booked "online" it is clearly marked and stated that your room has "shared...

Taree, Australia
Reviewed 20 September 2015

We spent a night at this hotel because it was close to where we attended a social function and didn't want to drive home at night. We received a friendly greeting on arrival at this hotel which is located in an industrial port suburb undergoing gentrification. The hotel has been tastefully renovated and has attractive interior rooms. Our room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aussielins
Scott W, Owner at Carrington Place, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Carrington Place as a place to stay while you were in Newcastle, we are pleased you enjoyed the facilities we offer but wish to clarify a couple of points. Firstly, we operate 12 rooms not 15, yes we only have shared facilities, however, we have 2 ladies toilets and showers not 1 and a gentleman's bathroom...

3 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
1.3 km away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 22 in Newcastle
975 reviews
2.9 km away
The Premier Hotel
The Premier Hotel
#14 of 22 in Newcastle
43 reviews
2.5 km away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Ibis Newcastle
Ibis Newcastle
#11 of 22 in Newcastle
673 reviews
1.4 km away
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
#13 of 22 in Newcastle
1,345 reviews
4.8 km away
The Executive Inn
The Executive Inn
#7 of 22 in Newcastle
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Carrington Place

Address: 132 Young St | Carrington, Newcastle, New South Wales 2294, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Price Range: $87 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Carrington Place 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Carrington Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Carrington Place staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“get one away format he function end of the hotel.”
davidbS7018XJ, 23 May 2017 | Read review
“Any room towards end of hotel away from kitchen n bar end. Rm 8”
, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Queen room with ensuite bathroom.”
gordyf2015, 21 Jun 2016 | Read review
“I didn't stay at the hotel - only ate at the restaurant”
LynetteB411, 20 May 2016 | Read review
“If you don't want a shared bathroom ask for the ensuite room downstairs.”
459jennyf, 3 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$60* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$60
TravelocityUS$60
TripAdvisorUS$60
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates