We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Novotel Newcastle Beach

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Panoramas (2)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

750 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Novotel Newcastle Beach
See the most recent reviews
Showing 743: English reviews
Tugun, Australia
Reviewed 14 July 2015

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank marktdixon
Thomas K, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Beach, responded to this review

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 13 July 2015 via mobile

Good location and nice view of ocean, the fort and the lighthouse. Staff exceptionally friendly and welcoming. Would suggest that the rooms are big enough to add a small setting, and should be considered. Or even a small lounge would be nice and a lamp in the corner. Just looked like it wasn't quite finished.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tanya M
Thomas K, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Beach, responded to this review

Dear Tanya, We are very pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us during your visit in Newcastle. We have note down your comments in regards to the in room interior and will see in what ways we can improve to further enhance the experience here. It is our hope to welcome you back in our hotel...

Newcastle
Reviewed 12 July 2015

My husband and I wanted to have an anniversary "staycation" and decided - as Le Club Accor members - to chose the Novotel Newcastle. The room was comfortable but fairly soulless with no warmth or charm. My main problem though was the entrance foyer, reception staff and the hotel eatery. There was a general "backpacker hostel" vibe. For a hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Loulee
Thomas K, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Beach, responded to this review

Dear Loulee, We are very sorry to hear that your anniversary stay wasn't to your satisfaction please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. In regards to your comments made, it is certainly unacceptable to have you sitting and enjoy your welcome drink in the middle of table that have not been cleared, I will address this with the department...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 11 July 2015

I spent an evening at this hotel ,my room was terrific the bed was extremely comfortable along with all other amenities . The Resturant is not large but maintains the charm of a larger hotel and the food was just what I needed after a long day. The staff were friendly rooms and hotel very clean, underground parking is available.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank steve w
Thomas K, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Beach, responded to this review

Dear Steve, Thank you for writing this review about your recent stay in Newcastle. We are very pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. I'll ensure to share your review with our entire team as it will serve as great encouragement. It is our hope to be able to welcome you again with us in the...

Hunter Valley, Australia
Reviewed 8 July 2015

Great location, close to beach, cafés and numerous quality restaurants and the city centre is close by. The staff at the Novotel are friendly and helpful. Great size room with balcony and view of the beach, unfortunately there is a construction site next door but at this stage the room we stayed in still had a good view. The bed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cassie H
Thomas K, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Beach, responded to this review

Dear Cassie, Thank you for taking the time to write this review about Novotel Newcastle. We are happy to read that you have enjoyed your time with us and I'll ensure to share your words with the team. In regards to the A/C issues we will investigate and see where we can improve on the functionality of the system. We...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 7 July 2015 via mobile

Typically Novotel, great hotel with customer service to match among with a great location closer to the centre of the City. My only gripe is having to pay for parking, even as an Accor member, it just seems like a money grab, sorry. All in all, I recommend the Novotel Newcastle, I've stayed here a couple of times and always...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LukeB_Aus
Thomas K, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Beach, responded to this review

Dear Luke_B, Thank you for writing this review about your recent stay. It is always a pleasure to hear that your stay was to your satisfaction and you did enjoy our rooms and services provided. I'll ensure to share you words with our entire team as it serves as great encouragement. We hope to welcome you back with us in...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 July 2015

The novotel is one of my favorites. When staying in Newcastle this is my choice of hotel when I can get it. The hotel is very close to the beach and makes for a great location to get out in the morning for a walk or a run. There is a number of good quality restaurants nearby so there is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Monique T
Thomas K, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Beach, responded to this review

Dear Monique, Thank you for choosing Novotel as your hotel of choice when staying in Newcastle. We do appreciate your warm words about the rooms and our location for a variety of land and water based sports activities and I'll ensure to share them with our entire team. We are looking forward to welcome you back with us when you...

Reviewed 30 June 2015 via mobile

Stayed overnight in a very nicely appointed room with an exceptionally comfortable bed but minimal ocean view. Actually most view was of the construction site next door. Breakfast was included and was a good selection with great service. Hotel is in walking distance to beach and Central Newcastle shopping centre, restaurants. Good availability of undercover secure parking. Quite pricey overall.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Catherine K
Simon G, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Beach, responded to this review

Dear Catherine, Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience in our Hotel. It is always a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. You are absolutely right that our close proximity to local shops, the beach and other tourism points of interest makes it the perfect place to stay. It is my hope...

Quirindi, Australia
Reviewed 25 June 2015

One of the better hotels in Newcastle...upgraded as we always do as Accor members...great bed...fair ocean view but with construction going on next door that might be a thing of the past real soon...breakfast was defiantley a no go area as it was one of the worst ever encountered...walking distance to some of the best restaurants in Newie...extraction unit in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annie2343
Simon G, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Beach, responded to this review

Dear Annie2343, Thank you for the feedback following your stay with us, we are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy our breakfast buffet. The hotel is only 5 years old and with a constant maintenance program in place is in very good condition. The ventilation system in the bathrooms does work, however as we are in a...

Reviewed 23 June 2015

Stayed one night in May. It was ok but the rooms were small, bland and the 'harbour view room' was a glimpse, don't pay extra for it. I was there with my wife for a 2 day getaway/visit where I grew up sort of trip. It's probably best suited to business men & women travelling on their own.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Bruce G
Simon G, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Beach, responded to this review

Dear Bruce G, Thank you for taking the time to review Novotel Newcastle Beach, we are sorry to hear that you found the hotel bland, our staff try to make every guest feel welcome and special. The hotel is well suited for both business and leisure travellers, particularly given our location. We hope you will return again in the future....

182 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (71)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (26)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (75)
Viewed
Amenities (19)
Viewed
Beach (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Superior Room (42)
Viewed
The Hotel (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
1.2 km away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 22 in Newcastle
890 reviews
0.3 km away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
2.5 km away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#1 of 22 in Newcastle
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 km away
The Executive Inn
The Executive Inn
#6 of 22 in Newcastle
313 reviews
2.0 km away
Travelodge Newcastle
Travelodge Newcastle
#9 of 22 in Newcastle
1,159 reviews
1.8 km away
Quest Newcastle Apartments
Quest Newcastle Apartments
#7 of 22 in Newcastle
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Novotel Newcastle Beach

Address: 5 King St | Newcastle Beach, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia (Formerly The Sebel Newcastle Beach)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Price Range: $186 - $379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Newcastle Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and ACCOR so you can book your Novotel Newcastle Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle
#4 Business Hotel in Newcastle
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Novotel Newcastle Beach staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Penrith, Australia
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Novotel Newcastle Beach staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Upper levels facing north have harbour/coast views”
 of 5 bubbles DTG59, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room on the eastern side”
 of 5 bubbles 897granth, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“balcony room”
 of 5 bubbles 320cristinap, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Avoid south facing rooms - you won't see much other than a new tower being built.”
 of 5 bubbles lynden_d, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Higher up is always better”
 of 5 bubbles Z3330PTstevenc, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay