We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Travellers Motor Village

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Travellers Motor Village
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

57 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 57: English reviews
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel in the past, and it was okay then, but now with new management/ owners, they are slowly improving the whole hotel... I stay in the back villas which are a little bigger than a standard hotel room and has a basic stove and microwave. They are at the back of the complex and are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew_Aqua
TMV2304, Manager at Travellers Motor Village, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comment! I am so glad that you noticed the motel has been slowly improved under the new management. We are still working very hard to improve our rooms and services.

Broome, WA
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

We had a basic queen and single room. it's quite 'cosy' and simple but does the job. Gas cook top which was a constant danger due to handsy kids so I'd recommend upgrading those one day to a hob which can be turned off at the wall, room 4 also had a damaged towel rail and old furniture, but very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AdventureIsOutThere2
TMV2304, Manager at Travellers Motor Village, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comment! Glad you had a good rest at our motel. Yes, the gas cook tops are fairly old in some of our rooms. You are absolutely right. It is also dangerous for kids. But the good news is we will be replacing them soon. It is on our job list for sure! Hopefully next...

Reviewed 12 October 2016

Our 3rd National Conference in Newcastle saw no reason not to book with our favorite little motel Travellors Motor village, formally Best Western. Made my booking via the internet some 4 months before our National conference, I had a internet glitch when booking so I called and confirmed what I had booked and checked it was all ok. Something told...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 669kent
TMV2304, Manager at Travellers Motor Village, responded to this review

Dear Client, Thanks for your review. I am so sorry to hear that your stay with us was unpleasant. Cabins are our budget accommodation. They do only have limited facilities. Could I ask for more details of your booking if possible? Such as the date, the cabin number and/or the booking reference number if available? As you mentioned that you...

Port Macquarie, Australia
Reviewed 8 October 2016 via mobile

Booked a night at the Travellers Motor Village in a deluxe spa room as we had a function on close by. Great location and only a short drive to surrounding areas and shopping centres etc. Also had a takeaway shop and servo across the road which was handy. The room itself was very clean so we actually booked another night....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LenaPMQ
TMV2304, Manager at Travellers Motor Village, responded to this review

Dear Client, Thank you so much for your comment of our room. I am so glad that you had a great time staying with us at the Travellers Motor Village! Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Reviewed 18 May 2016 via mobile

Neat and clean rooms, well designed. Fantastic customer service from all staff that we spoke to. Would recommend if you need budget but great value accommodation in Newcastle. We booked 3 rooms for family and all were comfortable with air conditioning and good beds. Some double bunks and 1 room with a spa.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Anthony P
Matt K, General Manager at Travellers Motor Village, responded to this review

Hi Anthony Thank you firstly for choosing to stay at our property we are very pleased you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay. It is always nice to receive such positive feedback. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Newcastle

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 18 May 2016

Room was great and the facilities, the only disappointment was that we couldn't watch the soccer on foxtel. Nobody seemed able to fix the problem It was a great location relatively quiet. Staff were very helpful just the issue with FOXTEL!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandra R
Matt K, General Manager at Travellers Motor Village, responded to this review

Hi Sandra We appreciate you taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at our property. Apologies for the Foxtel. I do know what this would mean to a soccer lover.I am not sure what the issue was either however we have advised Foxtel that this station is down. Should you be visiting Newcastle again please pay...

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 27 April 2016

We booked online when we were driving, once we figured out where we wanted to stop and spend the night. We got there about a half hour before reception closed, only to find that they had not received our booking. We forwarded the desk clerk the booking email we got, which helped her. Fortunately, she did have a room for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Anne B
Tamworth, Australia
Reviewed 10 April 2016 via mobile

I stayed here in April for a family function with my mum and my sister. We stayed in a cabin which was very reasonably priced. At first glance the cabin looked very clean and tidy until we went to get into the beds and the sheets were stained and gross and looked like they had already has someone sleep in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kwilkonson
Cranbourne, Australia
Reviewed 6 April 2016

Upon check in, we were upgraded from a cabin to a villa. Our room was nice, quiet and modern. We thought it a bit weird having the only access to the bathroom, through the main bedroom. It wasn't an issue for us as we only have a toddler, but for other travellers it might be awkward! The only other issue...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MelnAnt
Reviewed 3 April 2016

the staff were very helpfull and friendly and the grounds where very nice but when it came to the beds there were like cerment was not impressed at all the sheets smelled like smoke but over all not to bad just a few thing to fix my parents were not inpressed at all

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mandy B

33 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
3.5 km away
The Executive Inn
The Executive Inn
#6 of 22 in Newcastle
313 reviews
3.8 km away
The Premier Hotel
The Premier Hotel
#14 of 22 in Newcastle
38 reviews
5.1 km away
Travelodge Newcastle
Travelodge Newcastle
#9 of 22 in Newcastle
1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 km away
Ibis Newcastle
Ibis Newcastle
#8 of 22 in Newcastle
637 reviews
5.5 km away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 22 in Newcastle
890 reviews
1.4 km away
The Gateway Inn
The Gateway Inn
#13 of 22 in Newcastle
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Breakfast Available

Additional Information about Travellers Motor Village

Address: 295 Maitland Rd | Mayfield West, Newcastle, New South Wales 2304, Australia (Formerly Best Western Travellers Motor Village)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Price Range: $113 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Travellers Motor Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Travellers Motor Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Travellers Motor Village staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“do not stay here”
 of 5 bubbles 647mickf, 1 Apr 2016 | Read review
“for the elderly, book a ground floor room”
 of 5 bubbles michaelbassimas, 24 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Ask for the front rooms near the pool”
 of 5 bubbles mattandben, 17 Mar 2015 | Read review
“WIFI was excellent speed.”
 of 5 bubbles 930ashleyf, 3 Mar 2015 | Read review
“Ask to view the room...you will soon know if they've got something to hide.”
 of 5 bubbles ianandmazza, 1 Dec 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay