We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Ibis Newcastle

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ibis Newcastle
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

647 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 636: English reviews
Start your review of Ibis Newcastle
 Click to rate
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Ridiculously overpriced for the room we were given and then when checking out we are informed that parking is not included with our room and incurs an additional $15 charge. The parking wasn't even under cover! The staff working on the front desk were lovely though!

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kylieb739
thirroul, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

We paid $300 for one night in this hotel after the Bruce Springsteen concert. The hotel was made with cheap materials inside and out. Our room was tiny with a comfortable bed and the fittings in the rom were made of particle board and chipped in places. The bathroom was slightly bigger than a portaloo at the concert. Other customers...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leo K
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Good location to town centre. Room need updating. Cleaning need a overhall. Breakfast poor had a poached egg cooked by chef well if thats the best she can do get a differant job. Other staff need a bit of training on front desk, we had 3 members of staff to open 1 safe box 10 minutes latter open.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank STEVE M
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Ibis Hotel in New Castle is a simple hotel in a central location. The front office team and the level of cleanliness was good. Unfortunately, the hotel does not offer complimentary Wifi in the rooms, which is below our expectations.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fabian F
IbisNewcastleGM, General Manager at Ibis Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear Fabian Thank you for taking the time to write a review and I am pleased to hear that overall you did enjoy your stay. Thank you also for your constructive feedback on the wifi. Sincerely Jo-Anne Ashby, General Manager

Port Macquarie, Australia
Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

Make sure you measure your personal dimensions and size up whether u can actually 'squeeze ' into their rooms. I got some great ideas on how to maximise space ! All on all, good value for money .. but still a tight fit for most !

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ivana2656
IbisNewcastleGM, General Manager at Ibis Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear Ivana2656, Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am really pleased you felt the hotel was value for money even if the rooms were a little tight. Sincerely, Jo-Anne Ashby, General Manager

Reviewed 7 January 2017

Budget boring chain hotel not far from newcastle cbd. Arrived in Newcastle at 1.30 am so took the first place we saw that was open but would not have chosen if had time and options. Room small but ok. However thought the cost was excessive for what we got - ie hotel strictly budget. However if you are looking for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
IbisNewcastleGM, General Manager at Ibis Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear Chris G, Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I do apologise that we did not seem to meet the expectations of your stay and do hope we have a chance to serve you better in the future. Sincerely, Jo-Anne Ashby, General Manager

australia
Reviewed 6 January 2017

We stayed overnight at the beginning of December. Although basic, it is spotless and has everything you need. We had booked at the Novotel but there was a mix-up ('no room at the inn') and, although we were at first very disappointed to be offered the Ibis as an alternative, they couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful. The only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brianandgail
IbisNewcastleGM, General Manager at Ibis Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear brianandgail, Whilst you started your time in Newcastle disappointed I am just thrilled to hear that you found the team to be helpful and welcoming, I will definitely share your comments with them and hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again Sincerely Jo-Anne Ashby, General Manager

Muswellbrook, Australia
Reviewed 5 January 2017

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank philipr298
IbisNewcastleGM, General Manager at Ibis Newcastle, responded to this review

Australia
Reviewed 2 January 2017

We found Newcastle accomodation to be expensive across the board and we were expecting a good comfortable budget room but I wasn't expecting the ensuite to be a pod bathroom - which you step up into, and i can only describe as being a moulded all-in-one pod like a caravan bathroom. As an Accor member we were disappointed our room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nonny16
IbisNewcastleGM, General Manager at Ibis Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear Nonny16, Thank you for taking the time to write a review and I would like to apologise that we did not meet your expectations for your stay. I do hope that we have the opportunity to serve you better in the future. Sincerely Jo-Anne Ashby, General Manager

Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

An excellent choice for a one night stay as it is close to the centre and easy to get to beaches and restaurants. The rooms were clean and the bed was comfortable. Would recommend when visiting Newcastle.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 153kerrig
IbisNewcastleGM, General Manager at Ibis Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear 153kerrig, Thank you for such a great review, I am really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you had a great new year's in Newcastle Sincerely Jo-Anne Ashby, General Manager

63 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (48)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
0.1 km away
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
#13 of 22 in Newcastle
1,243 reviews
1.0 km away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 22 in Newcastle
930 reviews
2.1 km away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#4 of 22 in Newcastle
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
The Clarendon Hotel
The Clarendon Hotel
#5 of 22 in Newcastle
362 reviews
4.5 km away
The Executive Inn
The Executive Inn
#7 of 22 in Newcastle
329 reviews
2.3 km away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ibis Newcastle is in the heart of the city, within easy walking distance of the Regional Museum, Art Gallery and Civic Theatre. Guests also have easy access to the many boutiques, restaurants and nightclubs in the popular Queens Wharf and Honeysuckle foreshore precinct. The hotel has 98 rooms, a restaurant, bar, Internet access and was winner of a 2005 Tourism NSW award for excellence in accommodation. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ibis Newcastle

Address: 700 Hunter Street, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Price Range: $105 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Newcastle 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Ibis Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Newcastle Hotel Newcastle
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ibis Newcastle staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Ibis Newcastle staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Dont go here and pay more than $100 a night”
 of 5 bubbles 833leok, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Although not facing the water, some of the high rooms have a water view. Ask for one!”
 of 5 bubbles brianandgail, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Request room with no steps if you have some disability.”
 of 5 bubbles leelinb, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“a room away from the street is best, but I think there is double glazing to reduce noise anyway.”
 of 5 bubbles P736KTchristineh, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“morning side, otherwise your room gets pm sun, also morning side gives glimpses of the river.”
 of 5 bubbles LocalTravelTips, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5