We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Travelodge Hotel Newcastle

Booking.comUS$65*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$149*
US$65*
Great Deal
US$81*
US$81*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,344 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,339: English reviews
Start your review of Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
 Click to rate
Taree, Australia
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

I just stayed here for 3 nights. Comfy bed, clean room and the customer service was great! Location is very convenient and staff happily shared local recommendations with us. Fantastic food options nearby.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Megan G
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Good place to stay if want to be close to the city. Rooms good size and reasonably quiet. Has a restaurant and serves a breakfast for a reasonable price. Swimming pool available and outdoor area good for groups in warmer weather.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank christinesD2227AJ
Lucy O, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for the positive review of your stay at Travelodge Newcastle, the team greatly appreciate it. Our buffet breakfast, as you would have witnessed, is extremely popular with our guests. We are glad to hear that you felt it was generous and also that you appreciated the other amenities throughout the hotel. We hope to have...

Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The front desk staff were courteous and helpful. Unfortunately that's the only positive I have to say. The rooms are very tired and in urgent need of a major refurbishment. The bathroom was horrible and quite smelly. I wouldn't stay here again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank johnmP9080HT
Lucy O, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear johnmP9080HT, Thank you for taking the time to post your review about your recent stay at Travelodge Newcastle. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we’re very sorry you were unhappy your stay. We will take your comments under consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experience. Kind regards, Natalie Dixon Duty Manager

Griffith
Reviewed 1 week ago

Wouldn't stay here again, teaspoons dirty, tape on carpet, room very hot & it was late Autumn, bins not emptied when room was serviced, quite noisy on a Saturday night, there where alcohol cans left in the lift, not great for a family.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank W8862UBmelissah
Lucy O, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear W8862UBmelissah, Thank you for taking the time to post your review about your recent stay at Travelodge Newcastle. I am very disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We take feedback such as this very seriously, and I will be sharing this with the entire team to help us improve upon our service. Thank...

Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked with a corporate card, but upon arrival was required to have a card swiped. So had to use my own card to pay for the accommodation on a work trip. What's the point of using the work card then?? Rooms don't cater well for a business traveller with a tiny table instead of a useful desk. Wasn't given the...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank L9334FXpaulv
Lucy O, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear L9334FXpaulv, Thank you for taking the time to post your review about your recent stay at Travelodge Newcastle. I am sorry to read that your stay with us was not the positive experience that I hope all of our guests have. I want to assure you that any feedback is of the highest value to us, so if you...

United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good central location, closer to conference venue, walking areas and shopping mall including restaurants. Can be daunting at night time due to dodgy characters hanging around the streets. Overall, value for money. Check in staff (women) were great and friendly, check out staff (Darryl-I think) unfriendly and blunt, needs little bit more customer,communication training and how to be pleasant!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank indieram
Lucy O, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear indieram, Thank you for your feedback in relation to your recent stay with us. I am sorry our service delivery was below par on this occasion. Our team prides itself on customer service and to feel that we let someone down in this area is very disappointing to us. We are glad to hear that you were able to...

Grafton
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stay often with work. Great location, park the car and walk to where I have to go. Meals are nice. Brekky is great value and good variety. Rooms are neat and tidy, great king size bed. Plenty of natural light.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank B3654IXpatriciah
Lucy O, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear B3654IXpatriciah, Thank you for your recent review of Travelodge Newcastle, we really appreciate the time you have taken to write it and your fantastic comments. With you reviewing us from the perspective of a business traveller, there are few things more important than a good night’s sleep in peaceful surroundings. I'm glad we ticked the boxes for you, and...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Quite overpriced rooms for a basic bed and bathroom arrangement (no minibar, no wifi, etc). Room service order was delivered wrong, breakfast options were poorly prepared. There are better options in the same general area similarly priced.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Y177TLmatthewd
Lucy O, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear Y177TLmatthewd, Thank you for your review, we appreciate the time you have taken to write it. I am sorry to read that your stay with us was not the positive experience that I hope all of our guests have. Regarding the minibar and wifi the hotel does have complimentary wifi throughout and although we do not have a minibar...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good location . Car parking was a little limiting and tight spaces only available. Back gate didn't open always . Needed another guest to activate from the inside. Lifts efficient . You could hear other guest shutting the doors but that was the only noise you heard.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jenniferfW2221PX
Lucy O, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear jenniferfW2221PX, Thank you for taking the time to post your review about your recent stay at Travelodge Newcastle. The team at Travelodge Newcastle are committed to constantly improving and your feedback will be a great help. I'm glad to read our location was a highlight of your stay! Thank you again for your time and we hope to see...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Room was dirty in areas and particularly in areas requiring hygiene like the bathroom and the coffee cup tray. The food from the restaurant is not value for money. Portion is small and not cooked to a standard that would be expected from a 4 star hotel.Definitely not 4 star, would not stay there again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 435gregoryd
Lucy O, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear 435gregoryd, Thank you for taking the time to post your review about your recent stay at Travelodge Newcastle. I am very disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We take feedback such as this very seriously, and I will be sharing this with the entire team to help us improve upon our service. Thank...

65 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (57)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
1.0 km away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 22 in Newcastle
972 reviews
0.1 km away
Ibis Newcastle
Ibis Newcastle
#11 of 22 in Newcastle
673 reviews
2.0 km away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#4 of 22 in Newcastle
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
4.6 km away
The Executive Inn
The Executive Inn
#7 of 22 in Newcastle
345 reviews
1.2 km away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#1 of 22 in Newcastle
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Newcastle

Address: 12 Steel St, Newcastle, New South Wales 2302, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Price Range: $115 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Hotel Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Toga Hotels, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Newcastle Hotel Newcastle
Travel Lodge Newcastle
Newcastle Travelodge
Newcastle Travel Lodge
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Travelodge Hotel Newcastle staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for higher floors to keep off the traffic noise”
indieram, 12 May 2017 | Read review
“Less street noise on the higher floor”
rossl59, 27 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Go to another hotel.”
Tangalooma2000, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Just ask to see the rooms and feel the carpet”
garyrY5552RA, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Avoid room 101. Car parking is free on the street after 12pm Sat and all day Sun”
arkanite, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$65* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$81
Expedia.comUS$81
AMOMAUS$149
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates