We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Travelodge Hotel Newcastle

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,311 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,306: English reviews
Start your review of Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
 Click to rate
Mount Saint Thomas
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I would always recommend to stay at this hotel as its just really good old fashioned service so neat and tidy as well as great rooms with the convince of a microwave allowing you to cook fresh veggies.great value for money and very central to all the features around town.I would highly recommend to stay here.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 718clarea
Gumly Gumly, Australia
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Comfortable motel located within walking distance of shopping centres, Hunter Street, harbour and restaurants. The rooms were a little small for three people but we managed. Staff were very friendly and accommodating!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank alib632017
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

The hotel was easy to find , it's close to everything, the big problem is parking which they charge extra $15 for but if you are not there early you miss out! It was clean, bed was comfy and staff nice!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sarah B
Lucy O, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear Sarah B, We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay at Travelodge Newcastle. We are glad to hear that you were able to take advantage of our great location and that you found our team friendly and helpful. Thank you again for sharing your experience, we look forward to seeing you at Travelodge Hotels again in the...

Taigum
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Enjoyable stay. Although was disappointed with the requirement to pay for parking and the wifi provided did not work. Great location. Was great to see the cheaper fair and two for one breakfast offer for booking on a Tuesday

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 482caitlinw
Lucy O, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear 482caitlinw, The team at Travelodge Newcastle are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay and thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to Travelodge in the near future. Kind Regards, Natalie Graham Hotel Duty Manager

Hoi An
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Our first room had mould and dust all through the air conditioner, so we moved to another - the air conditioner in the second room was just as bad. We asked management to clean it for us and after having to ask them again - someone finally came up and gave it a very light clean (it was still very...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Banana30
Lucy O, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear Banana30, Thanks for the review of your stay! The team at Travelodge Newcastle are committed to constantly improving and your feedback will be a great help. We are sorry to hear that your stay was not as comfortable as you had expected it to be and our team wasn't able to resolve the issue. I have made a note...

Richmond
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Accommodation was ok , needing renovations, and needing better up to date tv and wifi , no foxtel , movies pay per view 😩 , no mini bar, the restaurant was closed , noticed pool on site but no signage to get there , confussion on how to exit car park

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank D7623PXcraigs
Lucy O, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear D7623PXcraigs, Thank you for your review, we appreciate the time you have taken to write it. We are grateful of the fact that you've given us some positive feedback to share with our team and also some which will allow us to improve. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel at some stage in the future....

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Newcastle west stay for a night. Good location. Price was reasonable and comfortable beds. Room was clean but I think the whole building is old now as bathroom door was chipped and tiles and carpet looked old. Food was good. Staff need training in customer service. No warmth in the hotel.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank mrssapnas
Lucy O, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear mrssapnas, Thank you for taking the time to post your review about your recent stay at Travelodge Newcastle. We aim to provide clean, comfortable accommodation in a great location and I'm glad your comments indicate this. We are grateful of the fact that you've given us some positive feedback to share with our team and also some which will...

Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Room was tidy if a little jaded. In house movies an Fox Sports didn't work. The aircon was temperamental and I had to go to reception and get 2 spare room key cards to get it to power on. The staff were lovely though.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
Lucy O, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear Paul B, Thank you for taking the time to post your review about your recent stay at Travelodge Newcastle. We are sorry your stay wasn't as enjoyable as we hope for all our guests and any feedback is of the highest value to us, so I would like to thank you for letting us know where we can improve....

Mudgee, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

This accommodation was certainly convenient as it is centrally located. There is off street parking, but it comes at a price, $15 a night, which I think is a bit rude. The building is getting old and tired and does need some upgrades, but generally the presentation of the rooms are fine. The bed was very comfortable and the room...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank P7789JRclairew
Lucy O, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear P7789JRclairew, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us at Travelodge Newcastle. We are grateful of the fact that you've given us some positive feedback to share with our team and also some which will allow us to improve. Thank you again for your feedback, I do hope we have the...

Whittlesea
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very clean and comfortable with very friendly and professional staff. the meals in the restaurant are excellent. The only negative is the toilet seat wouldn't stay up. I have also found this in other rooms during previous stays.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank petercR3231YZ
Lucy O, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear PetercR, Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor, we are pleased that you had a great stay with us. We are glad to hear that you were able to take advantage of our great restaurant and that you found our team friendly and helpful. We apologize that you had issues with the toilet seat. I will be sure...

65 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (57)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Newcastle

Address: 12 Steel St, Newcastle, New South Wales 2302, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Price Range: $118 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Hotel Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Toga Hotels, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Newcastle Hotel Newcastle
Travel Lodge Newcastle
Newcastle Travelodge
Newcastle Travel Lodge
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Travelodge Hotel Newcastle staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go to another hotel.”
Tangalooma2000, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Just ask to see the rooms and feel the carpet”
garyrY5552RA, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Avoid room 101. Car parking is free on the street after 12pm Sat and all day Sun”
arkanite, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors have less traffic noise”
Nayaram4750, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Very short walk to the shopping centre and take away.”
344suzanned, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5