We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Travelodge Newcastle

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Travelodge Newcastle
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,163 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,159: English reviews
Terrigal
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I've stayed in many budget hotels that still had a quality standard. This hotel unfortunately missed the mark. Room smelt old, air con leaked and water pipes hissed all night. The lifts were reno'd but that was it!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JasonVG
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

For a 4 &1/2 star rating very disappointing, aircon leaked water all night onto the carpet, mould around bath tub and tiles, toilet seat old cheap plastic, I think they tried to up date the bathroom however new vanities with old tap ware etc doesn't work. Over all room was ok very basic,bathroom needs to be looked at. Staff were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Craig G
Sydney
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Great location, walking distance from Darby St for my food options, Woolworths and Coles and Officeworks across the road. Emergency feed: McDonald's KFC and Dominos Pizza too. Recommended location for visitors to Newcastle, whether it's for pleasure or for business.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank laughinman1
Lucy O, Manager at Travelodge Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor, we are pleased that you had a great stay with us. We are glad to hear that you were able to take advantage of our great location. Thank you again for sharing your experience, we look forward to seeing you at Travelodge Hotels again in the near future. Kind...

Gunnedah
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

was a great stay overall, the bed was very comfortable and the room was nice and clean. one thing that could of been better was the internet, wifi is definitely needed and maybe more foxtel channels as they were all sport except fox8.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank D410RYsarahs
Lucy O, Manager at Travelodge Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, The team at Travelodge Newcastle are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay and thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. Thank you for your feedback in regards to the Wi-fi. We do have Wi-fi sometimes rooms require an extra router that we have available at reception to be able to get...

Liverpool
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The location and value were the stand outs for this hotel and I Enjoyed my 2 days immensely There does need some refurbishments especially in the bathrooms and wireless internet is a much needed addition as not everyone has a laptop with them to use the hard wire

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mario K
Lucy O, Manager at Travelodge Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for providing feedback on your recent stay - it's very much appreciated. We do have wireless internet available for all devices not just laptops. Sometimes you just need an extra router from reception to help the connection. I apologise if we weren't able to help you with this. We are delighted to hear that you...

Port Macquarie
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Great location. Very close to all bars and restarants and other Newcastle attractions. The staff are very friendly and efficient and local knowledge is high. Rooms are quiet and clean and very comfortable. Easy access to carpark and affordable rates.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank V7146IFtimb
Lucy O, Manager at Travelodge Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, The team at Travelodge Newcastle are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay and thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to Travelodge in the near future. Kind Regards, Lauren Porter Hotel Duty Manager

Wareemba
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Accommodation is OK if one books in advance. Dining service is below average with issues from the quality of service to meals being served. Need to constantly ask the staff for updates or have missing cutlery provided

 Report
Helpful?
Thank robertmH6475WI
Lucy O, Manager at Travelodge Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear robertmH6475WI, Thank you for taking the time to post your review about your recent stay at Travelodge Newcastle. I am very disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We take feedback such as this very seriously, and I will be sharing this with the entire team to help us improve upon our service. Thank...

Coffs Harbour, Australia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

A very neat, clean, friendly mid-range priced hotel. Convenient for business and quiet location. Staff are helpful, rooms comfortable and easy walking distance to a range of good eateries in the wharf area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sueA3000IH
Lucy O, Manager at Travelodge Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear sueA3000IH, Thank you for your recent review of Travelodge Newcastle, we really appreciate the time you have taken to write it and your fantastic comments. We pride ourselves on providing clean comfortable value for money accommodation in Newcastle. I am pleased you enjoyed the location of the hotel and appreciated the facilities the rooms have to offer. I have...

Wauchope, Australia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Room was not clean, stain on the carpet, mould growing in the bathroom and in the air conditioner, stated "room with a view" we overlook the back carpark, outside parking very expensive not Secure, disappointed in our stay, for the price

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brettb318
Lucy O, Manager at Travelodge Newcastle, responded to this review

brettb318, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us at Travelodge Newcastle. Any feedback is of the highest value to us, so I would like to thank you for letting us know where we can improve. The team and I hope one day we have the opportunity to welcome you back to...

Braidwood NSW
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very welcoming on arrival, lovely staff and happy to have a little joke with. I thought the rooms were well appointed, clean and had all you required to have a comfortable stop over. Nice bar on the ground floor and breakfast in the dining room was very nice

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Geoff B
Lucy O, Manager at Travelodge Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear Geoff B, Thank you for your recent review of Travelodge Newcastle, we really appreciate the time you have taken to write it and your fantastic comments. We pride ourselves on providing clean comfortable value for money accommodation in Newcastle. I am pleased you enjoyed the location of the hotel and appreciated the facilities the rooms have to offer. We...

51 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (43)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
1.0 km away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 22 in Newcastle
890 reviews
4.6 km away
The Executive Inn
The Executive Inn
#6 of 22 in Newcastle
313 reviews
0.1 km away
Ibis Newcastle
Ibis Newcastle
#8 of 22 in Newcastle
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#4 of 22 in Newcastle
751 reviews
1.2 km away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#1 of 22 in Newcastle
344 reviews
2.3 km away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Travelodge Newcastle

Address: 12 Steel St, Newcastle, New South Wales 2302, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Price Range: $99 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Travelodge Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Newcastle Hotel Newcastle
Travel Lodge Newcastle
Newcastle Travelodge
Newcastle Travel Lodge
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Travelodge Newcastle staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“My room was at the front of the Motel and I guess all the rooms would be similair”
 of 5 bubbles GeoffB638, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“ask for a one bedroom unit more space”
 of 5 bubbles 995lynetteh, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Go to another Hotel”
 of 5 bubbles MatthewJomtien, 23 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Ask the person behind the desk for an INTERISTING view that could fire up you imagination”
 of 5 bubbles O260LNpeterr, 28 Jun 2016 | Read review
“rooms away from King Street (main road) are quieter”
 of 5 bubbles X3046BJkarenp, 16 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay