We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Cypress Lakes Resort By Oaks Hotels & Resorts

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Cypress Lakes Resort By Oaks Hotels & Resorts
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

925 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 919: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Cypress Lakes has been getting upgraded over the last few years with Oaks in charge. Previously was a little run down, but much of the grounds and facilities are now great, the villas (particularly the executive 2 bedroom) have been refurbished and are really nice. We stayed in villa 604 and found it excellent - it was close to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wb1970
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed in a lovely villa with a private leafy outlook. It had comfortable outdoor sofa setting where we could sit and chat and enjoy a glass of wine in the evening. The décor was superb. Loved the wine artwork as it really created the ambience you are looking for when on a vineyard tour vacation. Cleaning standard was high...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank leannebremner
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

My husband and I stayed 3 nights early Dec 2016. We stayed in unit 673 - it was a 1 bedroom apartment on the lower floor. It had a lovely balcony, fully equipped kitchen, recently renovated bedroom and good bathroom. Staff in the restaurant and bar area could improve their attitude towards guests - a few of them appeared to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hannah G
sydney
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Had an awesome day today 7/12/16 at the club, facilities have improved since Oaks have taken over, the fairways, greens were all just superb. New irrigation is ongoing but very minor hinderance when playing. The greens were a pleasure to put on and the fairways were just like carpet - congrats to the team of Greens Keepers - just awesome

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Davem152
Phil S, General Manager at Cypress Lakes Resort By Oaks Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review

Hello Davem152, Thank you for your review, we are very excited about the ongoing renovations at our resort. I am glad you enjoyed the course and hopefully next time you can enjoy our spacious accommodation and everything else that Cypress Lakes Resort has to offer.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

We rented 2 houses for an extended family get together and seeing the kitchen in the pictures we aimed to self cater. However, we had to ask for more crockery as there were no platters and we were only able to cook very simple dishes using pots and pans we brought from home. The doorbell and balcony light were broken....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KarinP63
Phil S, General Manager at Cypress Lakes Resort By Oaks Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review

Hello KarinP63, I am sorry to hear that you stay was less than enjoyable. We do have a 24 hour reception to assist with any issues and I hope they were able to organise our onsite maintenance team for you. We take any hurt to guests very seriously and I will be following up with the Front Office to ensure...

Gold Coast Hinterland, Australia
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

After reading some of the reviews for this property, I was prepared for a disappointment. Not to be ! The amenities of the resort are terrific, the room must have been recently refurbished, it was of a very high quality. The restaurant meals were fine (not 5 star, but that wasn't my expectation either !), the golf course was in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank swannie00450
Phil S, General Manager at Cypress Lakes Resort By Oaks Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review

Hello swannie00450, Thank you for your review. Cypress Lakes Resort has been doing a lot of work this year to bring our resort up to a great standard and I am glad that you were able to experience this. I am glad to hear that your party will be returning and hopefully I get to meet you in person.

Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

Where do you start with this resort. $400 plus per night. After going to the pools you then need to walk back to reception to get a pool towel. Once you have gone back to the pool you then discover the bar there is closed and you need to walk back dripping wet into the hotel to get a drink....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Stuart A
Phil S, General Manager at Cypress Lakes Resort By Oaks Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review

Hello Stuart A, Thank you for your feedback, I am sorry to hear that the wine opener that was provided to you did not work, I will investigate with our supplier to provide a better quality of opener. As most Hunter Valley wine is opened with screw top, we only keep a small supply of cork openers and for safety,...

Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed for one night at Cypress Lakes with my partner and was extremely disappointed. Whilst the room was average, there was little included in the stay. Yvette at the front desk was very condescending and rude when checking us in to our room. The bartender had no clue how to make a cocktail and our drinks took 20 minutes to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank taymathews
Phil S, General Manager at Cypress Lakes Resort By Oaks Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review

Hello taymathews, Thank you for your review, I am a little surprised to hear of your experience with Yvette as we normally have glowing reviews about her customer service, However, I will follow up to ensure that she is aware of this interaction. We do only offer room service until 9pm as this is when the kitchen closes for the...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

If minus ratings were allowed, this would be the place to use it. The entire experience from start to finish was terrible. At check-in I was greeted with such urgency you'd think there was a line 200people, not that I was the only one. Next I thought I'd grab a bite, ordered food which was brought out in 3 mins,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank PDAX
Phil S, General Manager at Cypress Lakes Resort By Oaks Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review

Hello PDAX, Thank you for your review. Unfortunately, the private villas are independent of the resort and as such, rooms are not serviced and stocked by Oaks Hotels & Resorts. I am discouraged to hear the staff were not friendly to yourself as we pride ourselves on our guest interaction, I will be following this up to ensure that all...

Sydney
Reviewed 1 week ago

We paid extra for the 'deluxe' villa however the deluxe we got was not 'refurbished' as stated on the website. I stayed in regular villa previously and when I compared that to the 'deluxe, it actually looked slightly more updated than the deluxe. I am not sure if there was a mix up of some sort but our villa looked...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank travellingwoman2222
Phil S, General Manager at Cypress Lakes Resort By Oaks Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review

Hello Travellingwoman2222, Thank you for taking time to review our resort. I am sorry to hear that you stay was not enjoyable, We have very high standards when it comes to the cleanliness of our villas and I will be investigating with Housekeeping to ensure that our standard is upheld. I apologise that our refurbishment team disturbed you, they do...

300 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (270)
Viewed
Room/Suite (69)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (35)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (23)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (101)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
3.0 km away
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
1.2 km away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
4.9 km away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 km away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
776 reviews
1.7 km away
The Convent Hunter Valley Resort
5.7 km away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Golf Course
  • Tennis Court
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled in the Hunter Valley's picturesque hinterland surroundings, Cypress Lakes Resort by Oaks Hotels & Resorts promises a tranquil and indulgent escape, ideal for a leisurely holiday with family and friends, golfing break, memorable wedding, or unique conferencing experience. Coupling luxury, self-contained villa accommodation in one, two and three bedroom configurations with thoughtful in-room appointments and elegant furnishings, each apartment features a modern kitchen, dryer, spacious living and dining areas and private balcony overlooking the resort's verdant bushland and 18-hole championship golf course. The resort also features a selection of superior onsite leisure facilities set against an exquisite backdrop - ensuring guests can enjoy more active pursuits or simply relax in serene surroundings. Enjoy a game of tennis or golf, dine at the onsite Bodega restaurant and bar, unwind in the swimming pool and spa, work out in the fully-equipped gymnasium or Bike Hire is also available for purchase. Cypress Lakes Resort is also just a stones throw from the indulgent Golden Door Day Spa, where guests can choose from an extensive menu of pampering treatments. For all types of occasions and both short and longer stays, Cypress Lakes Resort by Oaks Hotels & Resorts is the Hunter Valleys premier resort destination. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cypress Lakes Resort By Oaks Hotels & Resorts

Address: 15 Thompsons Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia (Formerly Cypress Lakes Resort)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Price Range: $159 - $503 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cypress Lakes Resort By Oaks Hotels & Resorts 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Cypress Lakes Resort By Oaks Hotels & Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cypress Lakes Hotel Pokolbin
Cypress Lakes Pokolbin
Cypress Lake Resort
Cypress Lakes Resort By Oaks Hotels & Resorts Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Pokolbin
#7 Spa Hotel in Pokolbin
#11 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cypress Lakes Resort By Oaks Hotels & Resorts staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Cypress Lakes Resort By Oaks Hotels & Resorts staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Villa 604 had just been refurbished, and is the only one we saw with a 8 seater outdoor sofa for lounging with vino”
 of 5 bubbles wb1970, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
“privacy, renovated villa and comfortable outdoor lounge setting.”
 of 5 bubbles leannebremner, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Some of the rooms are a bit of a walk, all uphill. I would suggest that if you have a family, ask for a room close to the amenities.”
 of 5 bubbles swannie00450, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“we welcomed the ground floor unit set in the bush but with easy access to the car”
 of 5 bubbles 402lynetted, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room that offers some kind of view towards the golf course or the lake.”
 of 5 bubbles maurorisch, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay