We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort

Hotels.comUS$127*
View Deal
12/06/2017 13/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$140*
US$127*
US$140*
US$127*
US$140*
US$127*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,011 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,005: English reviews
newcastle, australia
Reviewed 30 November 2015

The good: staff are nice, bar staff were attentive, reception looks good. The bad: our two bedroom villa was very tired and in need of a renovation. Given the cost per night, @ $700, I was expecting more. The villa was very, very dated. They basically have let it decline over the last 15yrs. The level of cleanliness needed addressing,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank megandrew
Phil S, General Manager at Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Cypress Lakes Resort. It’s good to hear positive feedback about our staff, and we are very fortunate to be surrounded by such beauty. It is true, some of our villas are dated, but we are in the process of a full refurbishment set for completion in 2016. Unfortunately due to the villas...

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 28 November 2015

This resort is massive, you pretty much can't walk from your room to hotel reception. This property is probably pretty overdue for a renovation. Having said that, we had a 3 bedroom apartment for 3 couples and it did the job. It is pretty basic but the grounds are pretty. The first night we arrived, we booked a table in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rachellee122
Phil S, General Manager at Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Cypress Lakes Resort. I would like to apologise that your experience with the food and beverage staff, This will be handed onto the Food and Beverage Manager to investigate. Yes our resort is over a large property and our villas are nestled through acres of native bushland that’s why we offer our...

Bundanoon, Australia
Reviewed 28 November 2015

We booked two units at this "Resort" as a getaway for ourselves and two other couples coming from interstate.There are different types of accommodation here,the Hotel,Villas etc that are managed by the Hotel and Villas that are managed by other booking agents.I want to be clear that we didn't book through the hotel but through WEEKENDA .COM. As a result...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bundygirl824
Phil S, General Manager at Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort, responded to this review

Dear Bundygirl824, Thank you for your review. Yes unfortunately not all villas are managed by Oaks Hotels and Resorts. Next time you make a booking we would recommend booking directly through the hotel, as a guest you will be entitled to use are our facilities, and have maintenance on site with a 24 hour reception in the case of any...

Batemans Bay, Australia
Reviewed 24 November 2015

This was our first trip to Hunter Valley and we were soooo looking forward to this trip. When we arrived at the resort it all looked great at the reception and the golf course. Once we got to the room it was old and getting a little tired. We immediately had to report a number of maintenance issues and in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JoeJurisic
Phil S, General Manager at Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort, responded to this review

Dear Joe, Thank you for your feedback. It is disappointing to hear that you did not enjoy your stay here at Cypress Lakes. We are a non-serviced resort due to the villas being fully self-contained, but are more than happy to supply additional amenities and towels on request. We have maintenance on site 8.00am till 6.00pm on call to attend...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 24 November 2015

We were in a 3 bedroom attached townhouse Room 790 We were 3 families sharing and found this House and surrounding resort fantastic, Booking in was a breeze, staff were friendly and efficient and very welcoming. Rooms were spacious with king bed in all three rooms with TV's and balconies off 2 bedrooms and the length of the downstairs lounge...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Seanna1959
Phil S, General Manager at Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort, responded to this review

Dear Seanna, Thank you for taking the time to review Cypress Lakes Resort. We are delighted to read that you had a fantastic stay and hear such positive feedback from our guests. We are very fortunate to be in such a great a position with such amazing views of both our beautiful resort and the hunter valley. We would love...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 23 November 2015 via mobile

We went to the Hunter Valley to look at a wedding venue our daughter has booked. It's too far for a day trip from Sydney so we booked a night in a 2 bed villa. We arrived early and were greeted warmly ,our room would be ready after our winery tour . A little surprised 4 people were placed into...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank WayneR2233
Phil S, General Manager at Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort, responded to this review

Dear Wayne, Thank you for taking the time to review Cypress Lakes Resort. Despite the mix up I’m very happy to hear that you felt our staff rectified the issue. We take great pride in good customer service and want all guests to enjoy there stay here at the hunter valley. We hope to see you again in the near...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 21 November 2015

Having stayed in the Hunter Valley several times, I thought I would try this place, I wish I had not. Firstly it was $650 for two nights for a two bedroom apartment, with a bin that had not been emptied from the last guest, faulty air conditioning, unswept balcony, rooms not serviced, a really unpleasant mass produced breakfast and you...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank undercoverelephant
Phil S, General Manager at Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort, responded to this review

Dear undercoverelephant, Thank you for taking the time to review Cypress Lakes Resort. It is disappointing to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. We deal with complaints seriously and we will address issues directly with housekeeping. We also have maintenance on site to fix any issues that may occur throughout your stay. Unfortunately we are a non-serviced resort...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 18 November 2015

Ideal location for Hope Estate concerts. Very short bus ride. We stayed in the upper level/ 2 bedroom apartment of a 'house' . Had a great balcony with large BBQ and views across the valley. Set in the bush, good roads and many, many apartment/houses. We did have to drive down to the main restaurant/swimming pool area - too far...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KewParkRanger
Phil S, General Manager at Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort, responded to this review

Hell KewParkRanger and thank you for taking the time to review Cypress Lakes Resort, We are incredibly lucky to be so close to the concert venues as well as some of the regions best wineries and restaurants. It is good to hear that your stay was enjoyable and that you could experience our wonderful views of the Hunter Valley. We...

Reviewed 15 November 2015 via mobile

We stayed here at one of the villas for the Fleetwood Mac concert. The villas are spacious and well maintained. The setting is lovely and there are a number of things to do - golf, swimming etc. the food that really lets this resort down. The service we receive in the restaurant was poor, and the food quality was very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rainbowspritie
Phil S, General Manager at Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Cypress Lakes Resort. I’m sorry to hear that you experienced poor service in the restaurant and were not satisfied, we will take this feedback on board and pass it on to our Food and Beverage Manager to address this, as it is important to us that all our guest are looked after....

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 14 November 2015

We stayed at Cyprus last weekend to attend the Neil Diamond concert. It has been at least 10 years since we were there last so the place did look a little run down, mainly the outside of the buildings. We were given a two bedroom villa which we didn't need and found it to be incredibly private and spacious. Two...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Morris792
Phil S, General Manager at Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Cypress Lakes Resort. We take great compliments hearing that our staff were very helpful and friendly. Our views and facilities are great for relaxing and enjoying a pleasurable weekend away especially our 18-hole championship golf course. Our resort services offer shuttle bus drop offs and pickups for all our guests when required...

325 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (295)
Viewed
Room/Suite (69)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (41)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (15)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (23)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (118)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
12/06/2017 13/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
3.0 km away
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
5.1 km away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
1.3 km away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 km away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
834 reviews
1.8 km away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#9 of 15 in Pokolbin
242 reviews
5.7 km away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Golf Course
  • Tennis Court
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
HUNTER VALLEY ACCOMMODATION BY OAKS HOTELS Located in the beautiful wine district of the Hunter Valley, Oaks Cypress Lakes is a 25 acre premier resort providing Hunter Valley accommodation. Over $20m recent capital investment in this rural resort that includes 200 Villas, two restaurants and two bars, over 1500sqm of exceptional Meeting, Conference and Event facilities and a 6,487 meter par 72 18-hole championship golf course ranked among the top resort courses in Australia. The Hunter Valley is only two hours from Sydney. Scenic drives past endless rows of gnarly vines are a given, so are grazing cattle and mobs of kangaroos, and everything from tutored wine-tastings and boutique brews to cooking classes, festivals, award-winning restaurants and hot-air balloon flights. Choose from a range of picture perfect Hunter Valley accommodation options to suit your needs at Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort ... more   less 

Additional Information about Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort

Address: 15 Thompsons Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia (Formerly Cypress Lakes Resort)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Price Range: $168 - $458 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cypress Lakes Hotel Pokolbin
Cypress Lakes Pokolbin
Cypress Lake Resort
Cypress Lakes Resort
Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Pokolbin
#7 Spa Hotel in Pokolbin
#11 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay in a villa facing north on the golf course. ”
Mostravellers, 26 May 2017 | Read review
“Top villas have bes views”
robbietion, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rise early and sit outside on the deck to watch all the bird life.”
glendar374, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Choose a room a little away from reception and car noise.”
leannebremner, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“1 bedroom villa great for couples but there are 2 and 3 bedroom villas as well”
wendygG5846CG, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$127* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$127
PricelineUS$127
HRS.comUS$140
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates