We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Normandie Motel

94 reviews
Save
Traveller (14)
Room & Suite (18)
Dining (3)
Overview
  • Excellent12%
  • Very good21%
  • Average38%
  • Poor19%
  • Terrible10%
Travellers talk about
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Room Service
Suites
3.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (94)Write a Review
Filter reviews
94 results
Traveller rating
12
20
34
18
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
12
20
34
18
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscertain charmstar propertiesrooms were cleancrown streethosts
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 94 reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago

This is budget accommodation so don't expect the Taj Mahal; however the room was clean (tad small), reception friendly, very quiet, great location - 5 min from beach. All in all it was a pleasant stay and would stay again. Good Budget accommodation.

Thank gingie71
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed at the Normandie overnight whilst in town for a wedding. Rooms very small but clean. However had to wait for at least 5-10 minutes for any sign of warm water in shower to come in. Luckily it’s summer so didn’t freeze whilst standing waiting....More

Thank Kerrie W
Response from Beydon S, Manager at Normandie MotelResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to review Normandie. We are a small boutique Motel, the rooms are different sizes and configurations (sizes advertised). If you are the first to use the hot water does take some time. It is not a circulating system.If there...More

Reviewed 29 December 2017

My partner and I stayed for 5 nights over the December holidays. As a business traveller accustomed to 5-star properties, I found The Normandie utterly charming and a refreshing change from the generic, impersonal cookie-cutter hotel room. The Normandie had a lovely old-world charm about...More

1  Thank Chrissy L
Response from Beydon S, Manager at Normandie MotelResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to review Normandie . The building was built in 1946 Retro style, designed by a Frenchman. It is a little piece of Europe in Wollongong. So it is very different to the surrounding accommodation venues in the Southern region....More

Reviewed 4 September 2017 via mobile

Stayed here one night. Rooms were clean, bed was comfy and clean. Check in was easy & the man at reception was friendly. Location is really great. If you're looking for budget accomodation in a top location of Wollongong this would be one of few.

1  Thank Sarze-J
Response from ManagerNormandie, Manager at Normandie MotelResponded 5 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review Normandie. Glad you were happy here, and that you enjoyed your time in Wollongong. Kind regards Beydon

Reviewed 20 May 2017 via mobile

Do yourself a favour and don't even think about staying in this motel from hell. Rudest staff we have ever come across. You aren't allowed to talk in your room without the cops being called and kicking you out. We were paying customers down from...More

Thank vnight6
Response from ManagerNormandie, Manager at Normandie MotelResponded 23 May 2017

We were feeling deflated and disappointed. On Friday night we had to do what was best for our guests and enforce our policy to have disruptive guests leave the premises. It was unfortunate and we did everything we could before resorting to this. You are...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345619
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Room Service
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Room Service
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Refrigerator in room
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$98 - US$153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Suites
Details
Price range
US$98 - US$153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Suites
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (14)
Room & Suite (18)
Dining (3)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Normandie Motel staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Room Tips
"Request rooms with renovated bathroom."
Read review
"If you want a good room, book at another motel"
Read review
"Find another place to stay"
Read review
"I like the rooms at the front - traffic dosnt bother me. some guests are inconsiderate, but any issues let..."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing