We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Ocean Plaza Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ocean Plaza Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

217 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Ocean Plaza Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 214: English reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

We had a 2 bedroom apartment on the 11th floor and it was amazing!!! So clean and roomy and the view was to die for of coolangatta beach. In the building you have a movie theatre as well as a coles complex for all your groceries. Close to restaurants etc as well. Staff were so friendly and helpful. Cant wait...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sharelle O
Gavin P, General Manager at Ocean Plaza Resort, responded to this review

Dear Sharelle O "Happy Belated Birthday", delight to read that you enjoyed the break and found your accommodation to be exactly as you wished. Plus also sounds as though you enjoyed the associated facilities along with the fantastic view from your apartment. Again wishing you many happy Returns, and hope that we do see you again when you next visit...

New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 19 October 2016

We have stayed at ocean plaza at least four times now. Always great. Love the location for the beach, shops, restaurants and just about everything. Staff are really good and helpful. The rooms are always beautiful. We always ask for a front facing balcony and we are lucky that we get these each time. Best view ever

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GTRJ4
Gavin P, General Manager at Ocean Plaza Resort, responded to this review

"Great yet again" thank you for your positive review and we look forward to you returning again and again, well into the future. Thrilled to hear that you continue to enjoy your stays with us here at Ocean Plaza Resort. Thank you again for posting your review, very much appreciated. best wishes from all at OPR.

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 19 October 2016

We had a spacious room overlooking the beach and the view was fantastic. Room could do with a coat of paint but was clean and tidy with everything needed for our stay. Had the opportunity for some whale watching while there which added to our stay. Staff were polite and friendly and we did not need to contact them re...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank scottide
Gavin P, General Manager at Ocean Plaza Resort, responded to this review

Dear Scottide, Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your recent stay with us here at Ocean Plaza Resort, Coolangatta. Loved your comment about the FREE Whale Watching from your apartment during your stay. I guess that we are definitely spoilt with our location and hence being located on the Marine Parade (Beach Front), both our...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 21 September 2016

LOCATION - This is an older style resort at Coolangatta, which is centrally located on the Coolangatta 'strip', conveniently above a shopping centre which has a Woolworths and ALDI supermarkets, plus a multitude of cafes and dining choices. It is also directly across the street from a park which features a few kids playgrounds along it's length, and of course...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Oztourist76
Gavin P, General Manager at Ocean Plaza Resort, responded to this review

Dear OzTourist76 Brisbane Australia On behalf of the team here at Ocean Plaza Resort, I thank you for taking the time to provide your review on this website and your personal comments in relation to your stay with us, much appreciated. Unfortunately as posts on this site (as with many others), contributors are permitted to post their reviews anonymously; it...

Reviewed 9 September 2016

Have been coming here for about 9 or 10 years, love the pool and spa area, great location close to shops and beach , helpful staff comfortable rooms ,very clean, and really comfortable beds can recommend to family's ,close to cinema

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Vicki C
Gavin P, Manager at Ocean Plaza Resort, responded to this review

Hi Vicki C, Thank you for your review of your recent stay with here at Ocean Plaza Resort. Plus also many thanks for your continued support over the past 9-10 years, this has been greatly appreciated. We trust that you will continue to return year after year as it is our pleasure to be your hosts each time you visit....

Reviewed 18 August 2016 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay! Our apartment (3.5) was clean, spacious and had everything we needed. I was a little disappointed at the lack of beach view as that was what I was expecting. The location was fantastic and it was so handy having direct access to the strand shopping centre and all the awesome cafes etc. We will be...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Louise K
Gavin P, General Manager at Ocean Plaza Resort, responded to this review

Louise K Thank you for your positive feedback on your recent stay here at Ocean Plaza Resort. Please be advised that I will also forward a copy of your review to the owner of the property that you had booked via Stayz.com. As you are probably aware the actual unit that you booked for your accommodation is not managed by...

Kristiansand, Norway
Reviewed 13 July 2016

The only reason we give it 2 star is because of the view. However the view doesn't add up with the standard on the apartments. When you pay over medium price you really expect to get at least something that looks like 4 star. The apartment was 2+ star at best. The cleanliness was terrible as well. Old hairs in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vaganor
Gavin P, General Manager at Ocean Plaza Resort, responded to this review

Dear Vagnor Kristiansand, Norway. Thank you for rating based purely on the view from your accommodation. It goes without saying that we too were disappointed with receiving your review, as a result of the property presentation not meeting your personal expectations. So for this please accept our most sincere apology. Unfortunately upon receiving your review and comments some 7-8 months...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 15 June 2016

Our room was on Level 16 and looked directly out to the big blue of the Coral Sea and beach below. Just stunning. The apartment had everything we needed and was very comfortable. The advantage of Ocean Plaza is that is on top of The Strand Shopping Centre so it is only a trip down the lift directly to Woolworths,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ooomoo
Gavin P, General Manager at Ocean Plaza Resort, responded to this review

Dear Ooomoo Melbourne, Australia. Thank you for a wonderful review, and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us here at Ocean Plaza Resort. From your review it definitely sounds as though you had the full experience which is wonderful. We are definitely spoilt when it comes to both our location and the wonderful views. Thank you again...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 12 June 2016

Stayed here last year to celebrate my special birthday. This was a treat for my family and ended up a complete waste of our money and time. The hotel room was absolutely filthy, the furniture beaten up and old, hair and sand everywhere(not ours!),and neighbours kept us up all night with loud music both nights. The pool area was disgusting,...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank celestemadden73
Gavin P, General Manager at Ocean Plaza Resort, responded to this review

Hi Celeste, Upon receiving your post, I checked our guest register and records and fortunately was not able to find any records of your stay with us here at Ocean Plaza Resort under your name in the last 10 years for the dates of stay mentioned in the review? Therefore believe that you may have posted an incorrect review for...

Kingscliff, Australia
Reviewed 2 June 2016

Recently stayed at Ocean Plaza in an upper level room. Terrific views, excellent facilities. well equipped 2 bed unit. Great location. Easy walk to restaurants, bars etc. All rooms have a view of Coolangatta beach staff were very helpful in meeting our rushed holiday plans.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank marki59
Gavin P, General Manager at Ocean Plaza Resort, responded to this review

Dear Marki59 Kingscliff, Australia “Great Place”, Great review, thank you for your comments and taking the time to post the review. Very much appreciated and we were pleased to be of service. Wishing you the very best! The Team at OPR.

118 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (83)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coolangatta hotels
1.1 km away
Nirvana By The Sea
Nirvana By The Sea
#1 of 12 in Coolangatta
380 reviews
0.1 km away
Mantra Coolangatta Beach
Mantra Coolangatta Beach
#3 of 12 in Coolangatta
836 reviews
0.6 km away
Greenmount Beach Resort
Greenmount Beach Resort
#10 of 12 in Coolangatta
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Beach House Seaside Resort - Classic Holidays
0.4 km away
Mantra Twin Towns
Mantra Twin Towns
#2 of 12 in Coolangatta
2,999 reviews
0.2 km away
Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort
Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort
#9 of 12 in Coolangatta
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are located on the beach in the heart of Coolangatta with every apartment boasting ocean views. The facilities include heated pool and spa, gym, two full size tennis courts, games room, BBQ area that over looks the ocean and is attached to the Showcase Mall. We offer spacious self contained units for your home away from home. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ocean Plaza Resort

Address: 80 Marine Parade, Coolangatta, Gold Coast, Queensland 4225, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Coolangatta
Price Range: $176 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ocean Plaza Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ocean Plaza Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Plaza Hotel Coolangatta
Ocean Plaza Resort Coolangatta, Gold Coast, Australia
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Coolangatta
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Coolangatta
#4 Luxury Hotel in Coolangatta
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ocean Plaza Resort staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Ocean Plaza Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Higher rooms mean less noise heard from Griffith Street revellers”
 of 5 bubbles rahrah1, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“ask for a room with a sea view- it will be worth it”
 of 5 bubbles KKAdventures, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ocean view apartments are the best holiday option”
 of 5 bubbles 779lesters, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ensure a refurbished room only, and ideally on the northern side for views to Surfers Paradise.”
 of 5 bubbles Oztourist76, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ocean view”
 of 5 bubbles vickic974, 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5