We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Eungella Chalet

Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mackay
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
Eungella Chalet
View Map
{"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

58 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 56: English reviews
Start your review of Eungella Chalet
 Click to rate
Outback Queensland, Australia
Reviewed 18 April 2017

Good pub food. Staff friendly, location to die for. Had a burger here. Not cheap but a good plateful. Sitting looking right down the Pioneer River Valley towards Mackay - superb view! Building is now looking very tired but does have character.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm S
Mackay Eungella C, Manager at Eungella Chalet, responded to this review

Thank you for your feed back, great to hear you enjoyed your meal and the fantastic view. Enjoy your day Cheers Management

Ballarat, Australia
Reviewed 14 April 2017

Great Place to visit. Lovely views, nice meal and friendly staff. Nice place for an afternoon drive.But we stayed in Cabin 6 and it was quite dirty. My bed had the legs fallen off, so lord knows how long since it had been vacuumed under! The curtains had mould on them and the whole cabin smelt of staleness. Cockroaches,moths, (both...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank macpoet
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 31 December 2016 via mobile

We drove up from Mackay, climbed out of the 🚗 to check out the view and we were greeted by a very cranky old man. He was quite unpleasant and told us to leave cause we had a dog (on a lead) and the opposite side of the road is a public facility, with toilets and a fabulous view. Other...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Marcelle F
Mackay Eungella C, Manager at Eungella Chalet, responded to this review

Sorry for the inconvenience however we do have a NO Dog Allowed policy at our establishment, there is a sign on the front and back entry that all customers do walk past. We choose as part of our House Policy to have No Dogs in our premise. Hoping that this will provide a safe and comfortable environment for all our...

Mackay, Australia
Reviewed 17 November 2016

four couples had a great weekend staying at the cabins that are at the back of the Chalet. They were all clean and tidy. great views down the valley and nice and quiet. there was a great grassed area our the front so we had our BBQ and Christmas dinner out doors. the flies were a bit of a nuisance...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Veronica K
Mackay Eungella C, Manager at Eungella Chalet, responded to this review

Thank you, for your feed back, great to hear you enjoyed your weekend away in the mountains, have a great day Cheers Management

Reviewed 12 October 2016 via mobile

Found the views were very nice, mould in shower, no washing/drying facilities behind apartment rooms, beers were quite expensive and not much selection, meals rather expensive for quantity ( salad is a bit of grated coleslaw and vege is frozen/ packet...not fresh ), no breakfast till 8-9.30. Staff were ok, Traffic and snake hazards while driving in chalet, might hold...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tim R
Mackay Eungella C, Manager at Eungella Chalet, responded to this review

Thank you for your feed back... we will be speaking to the cleaners about the showers thank you for bringing this issue to our attention. No we don't have washing facilities in our cabins however we do have them at The Chalet just ask our friendly staff. We do have a large selection of beer for a country hotel, sorry...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 7 October 2016 via mobile

We visited Eungella for a few days for a short break but mainly to research some family history. On arrival at the chalet, we were informed that we would be housed in the cabins behind the chalet, not in the chalet as per our booking. We were OK with that and we were not charged any extra. We were definitely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JudyGoo
Mackay Eungella C, Manager at Eungella Chalet, responded to this review

Thank you for your feed back... sorry to hear you didn't like us however our rooms and cabins are clean. The Chalet is an old building with lots of history that is part of it's charm. We run a pub menu as The Chalet as it is a pub with a spectacular view. Sorry our meals were not to your...

Batemans Bay, Australia
Reviewed 29 September 2016

First impression a little concerning, as it looked a little old, not what we were expecting. Very old world, but comfortable, the view is spectacular. Our room had a view of valley, and was clean and comfortable. The food is average.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MB2010BB
Mackay Eungella C, Manager at Eungella Chalet, responded to this review

Thank you for your feed back.. Enjoy your day Cheers Managment

Mackay, Australia
Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

Was very dissapointed on a recent dinner with family... is such a beautiful place and great scenery but the food was very ordinary...especially for the price...Eungella itself is simply amazing and well worth the visit seen lots.of platypus so peaceful and relaxing

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lisa K
Mackay Eungella C, Manager at Eungella Chalet, responded to this review

Thank you for your feed back... sorry we weren't to your liking. Have a great day, Cheers Managment

Bribie Island
Reviewed 18 August 2016 via mobile

Save your time and money. After hearing people rave about the Devonshire teas and high teas at this place we went to eungella to see the platypus and have morning tea at the Chalet. The place is a dump and our scones were like leather. Didn't finish them as they were so terrible. One to MISS!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John B
Mackay Eungella C, Manager at Eungella Chalet, responded to this review

Thank you for your feed back, sorry you didn't like us or our scones... We do have lots of customers that do like us however it is impossible to please everyone all the time. It could be more helpful to approach us while you are visiting so we can then find a solution. Enjoy your day. Thank you Management

Mollymook, Australia
Reviewed 28 July 2016

Lunch or morning tea with fabulous views down the Pioneer Valley. My calamari ceasar salad was excellent as was my hubbies hamburger. Service with a small, stay a while or a short time, terrific photo opportunities and wonderful historic photos too. Recharge before hitting some top walking trails

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lovista
Mackay Eungella C, Manager at Eungella Chalet, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive feedback, great to hear you enjoyed your lunch, the view, the bush walks at Eungella and our historical photos. Hope to see you again soon, enjoy your day. Cheers Managment

50 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (47)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mackay
2.0 km away
Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella
73.7 km away
Potters Oceanside Motel
72.9 km away
Comfort Resort Blue Pacific
Comfort Resort Blue Pacific
#1 of 1 in Blacks Beach
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
68.4 km away
Motel Northview
Motel Northview
#1 of 2 in North Mackay
21 reviews
68.5 km away
MyCow Accommodation Mackay
MyCow Accommodation Mackay
#1 of 2 in North Mackay
16 reviews
71.9 km away
Central Tourist Park
Central Tourist Park
#2 of 2 in North Mackay
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Eungella Chalet

Address: Dalrymple Heights, Mackay, Queensland 4740, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Mackay
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Eungella Chalet Hotel Mackay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Eungella Chalet staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay in Mackay, or else ask for the room they show on their in-house TV Ad.”
macpoet, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Cabins 1 2 3 4 one bedroom really great view. bit of a walk to carpark is worth it.”
VeronicaK557, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Cabins 1 & 2 have unhindered views of the valley but all cabins have lovely views”
972vickig, 31 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Make sure you have a room with views out the front.”
  • Dusk view from Eungella Chalet
brightonchris1, 9 Jun 2015 | Read review
“check it first”
Cybs60, 19 Nov 2014 | Read review
5 of 5