We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Lanai Riverside Apartments

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Lanai Riverside Apartments
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

66 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Lanai Riverside Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Showing 65: English reviews
Airlie Beach, Australia
Reviewed 3 May 2015

Very disappointed in the 3 bedroom apartment. The airconditioner did not work and we sweltered all night as the windows did not allow a breeze. The main room set out was fine but the bathroom for the other 2 rooms is minute. The noise from the plumbing and pipes kept the other 2 couples awake in bedroom 2 & 3....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Harlegirl
Karen N, Owner at Lanai Riverside Apartments, responded to this review

Thanks so much for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay and we can only apologise that you were not happy with the experience. Unfortunately we were not aware that the a/c did not work during your stay as we have checked our Maintenance Register to see whether there were any reported problems. We did have two units...

Sunshine Coast, Australia
Reviewed 1 May 2015

We were in Mackay for a wedding & stayed in a 3 bedroom apartment for 2 nights. The second bathroom was a little small but the rest of the apartment was so spacious! Excellent value for money - we will definitely stay there again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TTM3979
Karen N, Owner at Lanai Riverside Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you so much, and we're delighted that the apartment suited your needs while in town for the wedding. We have so many guests stay with us and on occasions such as this we strive to keep our guests as close as possible on the floors provided the beddings configurations suit. At the wedding expo we attended yesterday we were...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 6 April 2015

We booked in for a two night stay over the Easter weekend and can honestly say the layout and size of the apartment that we were given was absolutely perfect for our needs. The apartment was more than spacious for our requirements, clean, tidy and very well presented, but some minor issues do need to be addressed: nails/studs that can...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul V
Karen N, Owner at Lanai Riverside Apartments, responded to this review

Hi Paul We're so glad you chose to spend your Easter break in Mackay and trust you had the opportunity to participate in some of the activities held over the weekend. Thank you also for providing feedback on your stay with us, as this is invaluable in ensuring that each guests' stay is both comfortable and enjoyable, but more importantly...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 3 January 2015

I have stayed at the Lanai Apartments twice, first time was in a one bedroom apartment and the second time was in a three bedroom apartment. Both had plenty of room. The apartments are in a convenient location, close to shops and restaurants.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amanda W
Karen N, Owner at Lanai Riverside Apartments, responded to this review

Welcome back! We are delighted that you have chosen to experience another of our apartments here at Lanai. No doubt you would have found the décor and styling different to the last that you stayed in as each of our apartments are individually owned. Our larger three bedroom, loft and penthouse apartments have been extremely popular over Christmas due to...

Gunnedah, Australia
Reviewed 5 November 2014 via mobile

Great spot, close to the main shopping centre in Mackay, a few blocks to the city heart and right next door to the blue water lagoons. We stayed for 5 nights and while that wasn't long enough to have the unit serviced we didn't mind too much. A few minor maintenance issues but they could be overlooked. The balcony was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank schnitzel_24
Karen N, General Manager at Lanai Riverside Apartments, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate all feedback and pass all comments onto our staff. The coal dust in Mackay is an everyday problem, however we will re-look at our balcony cleaning procedures to see where we can make improvements for our guests. We have also had our...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 7 October 2014

We tarvelled to Mackay for work and stayed at the Lanai Apartments for 4 nights. They were clean, tidy and well presented, although the apartments are only "serviced" if you stay for at least 8 nights so they are not really serviced at all. There were only 2 pillows on the bed with none in the wardrobe or cupboards and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PTNK2014
Karen N, General Manager at Lanai Riverside Apartments, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor for us. We really appreciated all comments and pass all feedback onto our employees so that the Lanai experience can be improved all the time. As we do have such a central location, we are in a great position for any type of stay that you...

Reviewed 22 September 2014 via mobile

Having lived in the Bowen Basin for several years and having regular trips to Mackay for both work and Leisure it was pleasant to finally find a nice fresh place to stay and conduct business. The room is spacious and very clean (although the office chair is fairly worn), staff friendly and the pool looks great. The conference room, although...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ajwatty79
Karen N, General Manager at Lanai Riverside Apartments, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your kind review on Trip Advisor. We are always appreciative of people who take the time to place a review (good or bad) as this helps all our staff maintain the high standards we expect here at Lanai. Delivering great service to all guests is what we strive to achieve, together with lovely, large spacious apartments,...

Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
Reviewed 9 September 2014

Passed through Mackay to sort out some unfinished business after living there a few years previous. Could have opted for something cheaper but the large rooms and nice location on the river were pluses when not tying up loose ends. Would recommend to others traveling for business or pleasure, as it was quite spacious and the location is good to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mongol_Bear
Karen N, Owner at Lanai Riverside Apartments, responded to this review

We couldn't let this opportunity go by without thanking you for taking the time to record your impressions of Lanai. Feedback like this is so important to potential guests when planning a holiday so we really appreciate your assistance in providing this information for the benefit of others. As you indicated, our apartments are quite spacious so you can be...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Hi - I would have reviewed as excellent if it had not been for the rules re removal of trash from apartment. The wording made it sound like you would be charged a minimum of $50 if you so much as left a crumb in the wasted bins. As such we did not use the waste bins at all and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sue W
Karen N, Owner at Lanai Riverside Apartments, responded to this review

Hi Sue Oops - it looks as though the old signage in the apartment you stayed in wasn't replaced earlier this year at Easter when we undertook a complete review of all signage throughout the complex. However I can assure you that this has been changed to the following: In the interests of Health and Hygiene Regulations, we kindly ask...

Rockhampton, Australia
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We were blown away by the size of the room and most of the creature comforts - just a few small things missing from the kitchen but nothing major. The view was a little bit of a let down - but that's only because across the road is a construction site - but in saying that we didnt hear any...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ShinyPascal
Karen N, Owner at Lanai Riverside Apartments, responded to this review

Thanks so much for taking the time to reflect on your recent stay at Lanai Riverside Apartments as this provides important feedback for guests when planning their accommodation requirements. For your interest our smallest apartment is 116 square metres (which includes the outdoor balcony) whereas our larger loft and top room apartments are over 350 square metres in size, so...

36 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (23)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackay hotels
0.1 km away
Riviera Mackay
Riviera Mackay
#2 of 34 in Mackay
91 reviews
0.1 km away
Oaks Rivermarque
Oaks Rivermarque
#7 of 34 in Mackay
196 reviews
0.5 km away
Mackay Grande Suites
Mackay Grande Suites
#19 of 34 in Mackay
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
Ibis Mackay
Ibis Mackay
#3 of 34 in Mackay
172 reviews
1.2 km away
Oaks Carlyle
Oaks Carlyle
#10 of 34 in Mackay
89 reviews
5.2 km away
Clarion Hotel Mackay Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Relax, unwind and explore! Discover for yourself Mackay's best kept secret. Located alongside the Bluewater Lagoon and Canelands Shopping Centre, with picturesque views over the Pioneer River and ocean, Lanai has a selection of large self contained one, two and three bedroom apartments to suit all budgets. Features include resort style heated swimming pool, equipped gymnasium, meeting room, room service from nearby Metro and Phoenix restaurants, and free Wi-Fi. Ask about our range of packages from romantic getaways, family escapes and adrenaline-action packed holidays, we're here to organise your unforgettable stay with us. Lanai guarantee your stay with personalised attention to detail, welcoming friendly service and ensuring your stay gives you every reason to return. You're always welcome at Lanai! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Lanai Riverside Apartments

Address: 20 River St, Mackay, Queensland 4740, Australia (Formerly Lanai Luxury Apartments)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Mackay
Price Range: $157 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lanai Riverside Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your Lanai Riverside Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Lanai Riverside Apartments staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I believe 2 bedroom & 3 bedroom suites have river views but be wise to ask if you want that.”
 of 5 bubbles GJA54, 14 May 2016 | Read review
“Ask for higher rooms”
 of 5 bubbles 51neridam, 29 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a high floor room near the River side of the building for nice views, less road noise, and less western Qld sun in summer.”
  • View from Balcony
 of 5 bubbles ahmadmO2508VE, 14 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Request a room with river views”
 of 5 bubbles RichTandemmaP, 22 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a view of the river”
 of 5 bubbles mp675, 16 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5