We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Batman Fawkner Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Batman Fawkner Inn
Batman Fawkner Inn
Panoramas (6)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

497 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Batman Fawkner Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 477: English reviews
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Whilst in Hobart, I decided to make an overnight visit to Launceston. I booked my coach ticket and a double room with en suite at the Batman Fawkner Inn through the Hobart Tourist Information Office, who confirmed the details with the BFI by telephone. I turned up to check in and was asked for photo ID. I was surprised and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nannypatch
BatmanFawknerInn, Front Office at Batman Fawkner Inn, responded to this review

Dear Nannypatch, It is unfortunate that you were not advised by the information center that photo ID is a requirement to check in to our hotel. Upon realizing that you did not bring your ID with you, reception suggested calling other hotels we'd had lesser experience with, however advised that all hotels we have dealt with do require photo ID....

Bribie Island, Australia
Reviewed 4 November 2016

We stayed here for 3 nights, we were told our room would be st the front of the hotel away from the nightclub. Our room window opened where the nightclub was which was noisy. The toilet was leaking and kept flushing every 2 minutes day and night which we reported to the front desk. The water in the shower waste...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank northalaskachris
BatmanFawknerInn, Front Office at Batman Fawkner Inn, responded to this review

Dear Northalaskachris, Thank you for your reservation with us and for taking the time to leave feedback. We are disappointed that you did not have an enjoyable stay. It is correct that your room was not above the nightclub and was above a cafe which closes before 8:00pm. It is unfortunate that you experienced some noise from the lane way...

Bendigo, Australia
Reviewed 28 October 2016

This is a back packers hotel. All have ensuites,tv's and are very clean and welcoming. We had a front room with a large circular window- bottom cut off - and we had a view of an old church up close. A block to the inner city, tourist attractions, etc. So good. We are in our 70's.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank frances_fallon
BatmanFawknerInn, Front Office at Batman Fawkner Inn, responded to this review

Dear Frances, Thank you for your stay in our deluxe queen room and for taking the time to leave this review. It was a pleasure to welcome you to our hotel, and we hope to do so again in the future. Please request a deluxe queen room to ensure you receive one similar to the one you received this trip.

Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

I booked my family into a room at BF through booking.com, no where does it state on there that there is a nightclub on premises. I emailed BF about the room and received a booking confirmation with a note of there is a nightclub in operation and there may be some noise disturbance. Knowing full well i had a 9...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Emma M
BatmanFawknerInn, Front Office at Batman Fawkner Inn, responded to this review

Dear Emma, You did not book via Booking dot com and in fact booked directly with our hotel. We personally wrote you an email to disclose the nightclub's operation prior to confirming your reservation. It was then included in all confirmation emails, and staff also ensured that you were aware of this upon arrival. You then proceeded with your booking....

Victoria, Australia
Reviewed 17 October 2016

Room was comfortable and clean, suitable for the price we paid. Parking was off the street due to limited spots available - important to be aware of parking limits and fees on weekdays and Saturdays. We did hear nightclub noise on a Saturday night (we were in a room over top of nightclub) however both were able to sleep through...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank emily01133
BatmanFawknerInn, Front Office at Batman Fawkner Inn, responded to this review

Dear Emily, Thank you for choosing the Batman Fawkner Inn and for taking the time to leave this review. We are pleased we could provide you with clean and comfortable accommodation within central Launceston, and that overall you enjoyed a positive experience with us. We hope to welcome you in the future. To ensure your time in Launceston is even...

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 14 October 2016 via mobile

The staff were friendly and helpful but there were a few issues (keep in mind I shared a room with my mate and only paid $25 for the night). First night I could hear the night club music late into the night. The mattress was very uncomfortable, could feel every spring. The shower had no soap holder. Big kitchen and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PaddyAus
BatmanFawknerInn, Front Office at Batman Fawkner Inn, responded to this review

Dear Paddy, Thank you for your stay in our dormitory accommodation and for taking the time to acknowledge our friendly and helpful team of staff. We are pleased you enjoyed our great communal facilities and location. The nightclub operates typically of a Wednesday, Friday and Saturday. Quieter rooms may be arranged if requested prior to making a booking, or prior...

Huonville, Tasmania, Australia
Reviewed 14 October 2016 via mobile

We picked this hotel based on its low cost and reasonable reviews. My daughter and I booked a twin room. The receptionist was very friendly however she didn't tell us how to get to our room....we worked it out! The room itself was exactly as expected...neat, clean but nothing fancy. Unfortunately there were no coat hangers nor a hair dryer,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharon C
BatmanFawknerInn, Front Office at Batman Fawkner Inn, responded to this review

Dear Sharon, Thank you for your stay and for taking the time to leave feedback. The girl who checked you in was in training and is doing a great job so far. We will remind her to advise guests how to get to their room, though are pleased you found your way with the signage further directing guests to their...

Reviewed 13 October 2016 via mobile

We've stayed here twice now and won't do so again. The rooms are neat & clean, staff are friendly, and it's in a great location. However, both times we have struggled to sleep as the rooms we've stayed in are right on top of a nightclub. Which means not only loud music the and yelling voices of party goers (we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jessie B
BatmanFawknerInn, Front Office at Batman Fawkner Inn, responded to this review

Dear Jessie B, Thank you for your return stay with the Batman Fawkner Inn. We are pleased we could provide you with a neat and clean room within central Launceston. Wednesday is Uni Night in Launceston, and as such the city does get quite loud with all of the nightclubs, including the one within the premises, in operation. We advertise...

Reviewed 7 October 2016

Upon booking this place to stay for the long weekend. I was initially impressed with the price of the place and with the traveller photos shown. Our flight was delayed and my partner and I managed to arrive right before check in finished which was 8pm. After a long day stuck at the airport due to delays and arriving to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christopher Y
BatmanFawknerInn, Front Office at Batman Fawkner Inn, responded to this review

Dear Christopher, We wish to thank you for your stay with us. We are disappointed that you received an unclean room upon check in, and are pleased that we could rectify the issue quickly. Whilst missing a room during cleaning is a human error, it is not usual of our accommodation and is unacceptable for any hotel. We believe that...

Singapore
Reviewed 23 September 2016

If you're looking for a clean, comfy room in the city of Launceston, this is it. You will read in reviews and their policy, that there's a live band at night so it WILL BE NOISY - the noise vibrates through the windows. No worries, if you're a deep sleeper. I slept through the night. The reception is not 24hours,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rachellow
BatmanFawknerInn, Front Office at Batman Fawkner Inn, responded to this review

Dear Rachel, Thank you for your stay and for taking the time to leave this review. We are pleased we could provide you with clean and comfortable budget accommodation within central Launceston. Just to further clarify a few things. The live music within the premises does not play on every night however is typical of a Wednesday, Friday and Saturday....

275 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (59)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
0:22
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (28)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (197)
Viewed
Amenities (6)
Viewed
Corporate King Room (27)
Viewed
Corporate Queen Room (26)
Viewed
Four Person Family Room (20)
Viewed
Queen Room (19)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
The Hotel (36)
Viewed
Three Person Dorm (9)
Viewed
Three Person Family Room (19)
Viewed
Twin Room (21)
Viewed
Two Person Dorm (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.3 km away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.5 km away
Hotel Launceston
Hotel Launceston
#14 of 30 in Launceston
417 reviews
0.3 km away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#7 of 30 in Launceston
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.9 km away
The Old Bakery Inn
The Old Bakery Inn
#15 of 30 in Launceston
192 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Batman Fawkner Inn is a place full of history. This lovely historical building was built back in 1824 and was where a meeting was held which resulted in the settlement of Melbourne. The Batman Fawkner Inn boasts a range of 40 rooms including Family, King, Queen, Double, Twin, and Backpacker all with private in-room bathrooms. All rooms (excluding backpacker) have in-room Reverse cycle Air Conditioners, Digital TV, Tea/Coffee Making Facilities & Fridges. Backpacker rooms have in-room heating, ensuites bathrooms and are bunk style accommodation. Situated in the centre of Launceston's CBD, we are only 5 minutes from City Park, 10 minutes to Cataract Gorge/Tamar River and close to shopping centre's and malls. We are also only 10 minutes walk from Aurora Stadium, Tasmania's home of AFL Football. The hotel has undergone extensive renovations in 2014 with some major upgrades and we are proud to announce that we are under new management as of November 2014. We offer free Wi-Fi internet (limits apply and additional can be purchase) in all areas of the hotel which includes in all rooms. On-Site Laundry Facilities are also available. We have a large Common Room/Lounge which has a kitchen (Oven, Stove, Microwave, Fridge & Preparation Area), lounge & wide-screen TV, 8-Ball table, large dining table and vending machines. Management and Staff look forward to having you stay next time you visit Launceston. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Batman Fawkner Inn

Address: 35-39 Cameron St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Price Range: $47 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Batman Fawkner Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Batman Fawkner Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Batman Fawkner Inn Launceston, Tasmania
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Launceston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Batman Fawkner Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Whyalla, Australia
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Batman Fawkner Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“King room at the front has nice views over the church grounds”
 of 5 bubbles dalemcd0nald, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Two storeys - no rooms (as far as I'm aware) on the ground floor”
 of 5 bubbles 519judyh, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We had a room near us where they were having a party with loud music. Not much you can do.”
  • View from window.
  • the shared 4 bed bunk room
  • 4 bed Bunkroom with separate bathroom ensuite
 of 5 bubbles SarinaT_12, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room at the front would be quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles northalaskachris, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Street rooms on a Friday and Saturday night are away from the nightclub so a bit quieter”
 of 5 bubbles happydays36516, 20 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay