We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Batman Fawkner Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Batman Fawkner Inn
Batman Fawkner Inn
Panoramas (6)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

511 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Batman Fawkner Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 491: English reviews
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Reviewed 4 January 2016

We were assigned room on the block A and the bar were right below our room. It was Wednesday night and it was very noisy. The front desk gave us ear plugs and promised that the noise will end by midnight but it did not. We parked our rented car by the roadside right in front of the hotel as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Syafinaz Z
BatmanFawknerInn, Front Office at Batman Fawkner Inn, responded to this review

Dear Syafinaz Z, We are able to offer budget prices all year long within our accommodation, without compromising on safety, cleanliness or amenities. As you parked on the roadside in front of the hotel, reception would gladly have checked the security cameras for you in regards to the incident involving your rental car. However, no mention of any incident was...

Melbourne
Reviewed 4 January 2016

Quite centrally located with the history of being the signing of Batman and Fawkner for the foundation of Melbourne. Room rate reasonable and rather clean but parking is a premium. Room for four not to big but sufficient.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank plim2016
BatmanFawknerInn, Front Office at Batman Fawkner Inn, responded to this review

Dear Plim2016, Thank you for staying with the Batman Fawkner Inn,a nd for taking the time to leave feedback of your stay. We're always pleased when guests are interested in our expansive history including, as you said, the signing for the foundation of Melbourne. Parking is indeed not available to all guests during our busy periods as we unfortunately can...

Bendigo, Australia
Reviewed 4 January 2016

Fantastic staff and amenities. Very accommodating for our family. Nothing was a problem, even with a medical emergency. The staff organised another night, fresh linen and were so wonderful with our children. Can not thank them enough.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank sherrellem2016
BatmanFawknerInn, Front Office at Batman Fawkner Inn, responded to this review

Dear Sherrellem2016, Thank you for your stay with the Batman Fawkner Inn, and for taking the time to acknowledge our fantastic staff. It was a pleasure to accommodate yourself and your family, and we hope to welcome you all back in the future.

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 3 January 2016

I had no problems at all during my stay. Our room was better than expected. For $50 ($25 each) we had a private room complete with our own bathroom. Our room was a bit stuffy, but in summer this is sometimes hard to avoid. The friendly staff gave us directions to the gorge and also booked a taxi for us....

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank sdinha_222781
BatmanFawknerInn, Front Office at Batman Fawkner Inn, responded to this review

Dear Sdinha_222781, Thank you for your recent stay in our dormitory accommodation, and for taking the time to acknowledge our friendly staff. We're pleased your stay was problem free, and that you considered your room to be of value for money. There is no extra cost in reserving a room with en suite, as there are en suites in all...

melbourne
Reviewed 30 December 2015

With the nightclub (54) close to the hostel, it's not possible to sleep before 2:00AM (Wed to Sat). The shared kitchen is closed between 9:00AM and 10:00AM (cleaning), it's not cool ! But the location and the building are nice.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank xaviert299
BatmanFawknerInn, Front Office at Batman Fawkner Inn, responded to this review

Dear Xaviert299, Thank you for your stay at the Batman Fawkner Inn. In regards to the nightclub at the rear of the building, it is incorrect that this runs on four nights per week. We are concerned that you found it impossible to sleep four nights per week during your stay without any mention to reception, as the nightclub has...

Reviewed 29 December 2015 via mobile

Over the average to be a hostel, the rooms are not too bad (the floor in the toilet looked pretty new), with the option of booking a bed in a double room for a very cheap price. There's a big common space with kitchen and all the amenities, and they give you a fob to have easy access to anywhere...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carlo P
BatmanFawknerInn, Front Office at Batman Fawkner Inn, responded to this review

Dear Carlo P, Thank you for your recent stay in our dormitory accommodation, and for the recommendation. Our aim is to provide more than a standard hostel experience when staying with the Batman Fawkner Inn. This includes providing guests with access to the communal areas 24/7, so that they may cook, watch TV or do laundry any time of the...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 28 December 2015

Inn in a historical building, has an air conditioner in the room, cheap accommodation. Apart from that nothing too impressive, toilets were small, doors were thin, somehow made me feel slightly unsafe.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank silent0ts
BatmanFawknerInn, Front Office at Batman Fawkner Inn, responded to this review

Dear Silents0ts, Thank you for choosing the Batman Fawkner Inn. If anyone has any concerns for their safety during their stay, we would encourage them to call or see reception immediately. We hold high regard for the safety of all guests, and do not want for any of our guests to feel even slightly unsafe. With amenities including but not...

Reviewed 24 December 2015

Simple, clean and in a great location. The room are huge and very well priced. We were lucky to get a room facing the street while the nearby hotel received their graduation guest arriving in classic cars. Great way to end the day. Just note, there is a luggage elevator (as there is no person one) and even though parking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravellingAussieBec
BatmanFawknerInn, Front Office at Batman Fawkner Inn, responded to this review

Dear TravellingAussieBec, Thank you for your recent stay at the Batman Fawkner Inn, and for taking the time to leave this review, including tips for future guests. We're pleased we could provide you with clean budget accommodation in the centre of Launceston, and hope to welcome you again.

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 21 December 2015

Value for money. The two person room comes with attached bath and you are staying the price of staying in dormitory. Other hostels in Launceston are charging more but you have to share the room with more people.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank BoonCheong
BatmanFawknerInn, Front Office at Batman Fawkner Inn, responded to this review

Dear BoonCheong, Thank you for choosing the Batman Fawkner Inn, and for taking the time to write this review. We're pleased could provide you with an affordable, comfortable room with ensuite. We hope to see you again in the future.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 21 December 2015

Room was far too noisy. We were not informed about the nightclub next door until we arrived. Clearly that level of noise will be an issue for some people. While it is apparently mentioned on the booking sight, I did not see it and think it needs to be a lot clearer. One would not assume a nightclub is right...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank mflemi_475390
BatmanFawknerInn, Front Office at Batman Fawkner Inn, responded to this review

Dear mflemi_475390, All guests are informed of the nightclub prior to arrival as it is on all of the booking agencies that we use, as well as our website. For example, on Booking.com this is included in the important information underneath payment options and room facilities. It is the responsibility of those booking their accommodation to ensure they have read...

276 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (60)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
0:22
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (28)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (197)
Viewed
Amenities (6)
Viewed
Corporate King Room (27)
Viewed
Corporate Queen Room (26)
Viewed
Four Person Family Room (20)
Viewed
Queen Room (19)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
The Hotel (36)
Viewed
Three Person Dorm (9)
Viewed
Three Person Family Room (19)
Viewed
Twin Room (21)
Viewed
Two Person Dorm (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.3 km away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.5 km away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.3 km away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#6 of 30 in Launceston
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston
0.5 km away
Hotel Launceston
Hotel Launceston
#15 of 30 in Launceston
435 reviews
1.3 km away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#5 of 30 in Launceston
1,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Batman Fawkner Inn is a place full of history. This lovely historical building was built back in 1824 and was where a meeting was held which resulted in the settlement of Melbourne. The Batman Fawkner Inn boasts a range of 40 rooms including Family, King, Queen, Double, Twin, and Backpacker all with private in-room bathrooms. All rooms (excluding backpacker) have in-room Reverse cycle Air Conditioners, Digital TV, Tea/Coffee Making Facilities & Fridges. Backpacker rooms have in-room heating, ensuites bathrooms and are bunk style accommodation. Situated in the centre of Launceston's CBD, we are only 5 minutes from City Park, 10 minutes to Cataract Gorge/Tamar River and close to shopping centre's and malls. We are also only 10 minutes walk from Aurora Stadium, Tasmania's home of AFL Football. The hotel has undergone extensive renovations in 2014 with some major upgrades and we are proud to announce that we are under new management as of November 2014. We offer free Wi-Fi internet (limits apply and additional can be purchase) in all areas of the hotel which includes in all rooms. On-Site Laundry Facilities are also available. We have a large Common Room/Lounge which has a kitchen (Oven, Stove, Microwave, Fridge & Preparation Area), lounge & wide-screen TV, 8-Ball table, large dining table and vending machines. Management and Staff look forward to having you stay next time you visit Launceston. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Batman Fawkner Inn

Address: 35-39 Cameron Street, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Price Range: $41 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Batman Fawkner Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and HostelWorld so you can book your Batman Fawkner Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Batman Fawkner Inn Launceston, Tasmania
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Launceston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Batman Fawkner Inn staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Sarawak, Malaysia
Whyalla, Australia
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Batman Fawkner Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for rooms away from the night club”
 of 5 bubbles , 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Be sure to ask for a room away from the night club when staying on a Wednesday or Saturday night”
 of 5 bubbles DavidinToronto, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
“King room at the front has nice views over the church grounds”
 of 5 bubbles dalemcd0nald, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Two storeys - no rooms (as far as I'm aware) on the ground floor”
 of 5 bubbles 519judyh, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We had a room near us where they were having a party with loud music. Not much you can do.”
  • the shared 4 bed bunk room
  • View from window.
  • 4 bed Bunkroom with separate bathroom ensuite
 of 5 bubbles SarinaT_12, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5