We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Batman Fawkner Inn

Hostelworld.comUS$30
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$47*
US$30*
Great Deal
US$47*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Batman Fawkner Inn
Panoramas (6)
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

537 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Batman Fawkner Inn
See the most recent reviews
Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Reviewed 11 January 2016

Good price for good value. Great locations. Spacious and clean kitchen. Good mannered and helpful staff, esp. the young lady. Nice room but not sound proofed. One of the 26 attractions stated in the heritage walk.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ltran_164800
BatmanFawknerInn, Front Office at Batman Fawkner Inn, responded to this review

Dear ltran_164800, Thank you for staying with the Batman Fawkner Inn, and for taking the time to acknowledge our wonderful staff. We're pleased you could make the most of our great location and facilities, and hope to welcome you again in the future.

Launceston, Australia
Reviewed 8 January 2016

Clean, nice staff, good location, on hot days, some dorm room on the street facing the air conditioners from the other rooms are very very loud, even if windows closed, like a hair dryer blowing in your ears the whole night.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank janeR7242BE
BatmanFawknerInn, Front Office at Batman Fawkner Inn, responded to this review

Dear JaneR7242BE, Thank you for your recent stay, and for taking the time to acknowledge our staff. We're pleased that, though your stay was dampened by the noise from air conditioners on some days, we could accommodate moving you as requested to ensure a more comfortable stay. We hope to welcome you again, the next time you visit Launceston.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 7 January 2016

Cosy and clean room, parking and central location. I only spent one night and it was perfect. Big kitchen with stuff and appliances. Friendly and helpful staff. Definitely a good place if you want to visit Launceston.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank davidW3222YO
BatmanFawknerInn, Front Office at Batman Fawkner Inn, responded to this review

Dear DavidW3222YO, Thank you for staying with the Batman Fawkner Inn, and for taking the time to acknowledge our friendly and helpful staff. We're pleased we could provide you with a perfect stay, and hope to see you again in the future.

Reviewed 7 January 2016 via mobile

After leaving a terrible hostel and desperate for somewhere to stay, we contacted the batman fawkner inn who were most accomoding, especially given that it was 10pm at night!! We were in a shared dorm with all linen and towels provided, a rare luxury in hostels! Only downside was that the shower temperature was irregular, other than that it was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TanyaDuffy
BatmanFawknerInn, Front Office at Batman Fawkner Inn, responded to this review

Dear TanyaDuffy, Thank you for your stay at the Batman Fawkner Inn, and for taking the time to leave feedback of your stay. We're pleased we could accommodate you during your time in Launceston. With all linen provided, 400mb of free WiFi, en suite bathrooms and extensive communal facilities we aim to provide a great hostel experience. We hope we...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 6 January 2016

I checked-in late on the date of my arrival but the receptionist was kind enough to call make sure I was safe and on my way. I paid $80AUD for a private double room to myself which was clean and had a comfortable bed. The bathroom is basic but had everything I required, a good shower with shower gel and...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ahood_593935
BatmanFawknerInn, Front Office at Batman Fawkner Inn, responded to this review

Dear Ahood_593935, Thank you for your recent stay with the Batman Fawkner Inn, and for taking the time to acknowledge our reception team. We want to ensure all of our guests are able to check in safely without confusion, and therefore always call if perhaps someone is running late or isn't aware of our check in time. We're pleased you...

Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Reviewed 4 January 2016

We were assigned room on the block A and the bar were right below our room. It was Wednesday night and it was very noisy. The front desk gave us ear plugs and promised that the noise will end by midnight but it did not. We parked our rented car by the roadside right in front of the hotel as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Syafinaz Z
BatmanFawknerInn, Front Office at Batman Fawkner Inn, responded to this review

Dear Syafinaz Z, We are able to offer budget prices all year long within our accommodation, without compromising on safety, cleanliness or amenities. As you parked on the roadside in front of the hotel, reception would gladly have checked the security cameras for you in regards to the incident involving your rental car. However, no mention of any incident was...

Melbourne
Reviewed 4 January 2016

Quite centrally located with the history of being the signing of Batman and Fawkner for the foundation of Melbourne. Room rate reasonable and rather clean but parking is a premium. Room for four not to big but sufficient.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank plim2016
BatmanFawknerInn, Front Office at Batman Fawkner Inn, responded to this review

Dear Plim2016, Thank you for staying with the Batman Fawkner Inn,a nd for taking the time to leave feedback of your stay. We're always pleased when guests are interested in our expansive history including, as you said, the signing for the foundation of Melbourne. Parking is indeed not available to all guests during our busy periods as we unfortunately can...

Bendigo, Australia
Reviewed 4 January 2016

Fantastic staff and amenities. Very accommodating for our family. Nothing was a problem, even with a medical emergency. The staff organised another night, fresh linen and were so wonderful with our children. Can not thank them enough.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank sherrellem2016
BatmanFawknerInn, Front Office at Batman Fawkner Inn, responded to this review

Dear Sherrellem2016, Thank you for your stay with the Batman Fawkner Inn, and for taking the time to acknowledge our fantastic staff. It was a pleasure to accommodate yourself and your family, and we hope to welcome you all back in the future.

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 3 January 2016

I had no problems at all during my stay. Our room was better than expected. For $50 ($25 each) we had a private room complete with our own bathroom. Our room was a bit stuffy, but in summer this is sometimes hard to avoid. The friendly staff gave us directions to the gorge and also booked a taxi for us....

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank sdinha_222781
BatmanFawknerInn, Front Office at Batman Fawkner Inn, responded to this review

Dear Sdinha_222781, Thank you for your recent stay in our dormitory accommodation, and for taking the time to acknowledge our friendly staff. We're pleased your stay was problem free, and that you considered your room to be of value for money. There is no extra cost in reserving a room with en suite, as there are en suites in all...

melbourne
Reviewed 30 December 2015

With the nightclub (54) close to the hostel, it's not possible to sleep before 2:00AM (Wed to Sat). The shared kitchen is closed between 9:00AM and 10:00AM (cleaning), it's not cool ! But the location and the building are nice.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank xaviert299
BatmanFawknerInn, Front Office at Batman Fawkner Inn, responded to this review

Dear Xaviert299, Thank you for your stay at the Batman Fawkner Inn. In regards to the nightclub at the rear of the building, it is incorrect that this runs on four nights per week. We are concerned that you found it impossible to sleep four nights per week during your stay without any mention to reception, as the nightclub has...

276 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (60)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
0:22
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (28)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (197)
Viewed
Amenities (6)
Viewed
Corporate King Room (27)
Viewed
Corporate Queen Room (26)
Viewed
Four Person Family Room (20)
Viewed
Queen Room (19)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
The Hotel (36)
Viewed
Three Person Dorm (9)
Viewed
Three Person Family Room (19)
Viewed
Twin Room (21)
Viewed
Two Person Dorm (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.6 km away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.3 km away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#6 of 30 in Launceston
489 reviews
0.3 km away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Best Western Plus Launceston
1.3 km away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#4 of 30 in Launceston
1,330 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Batman Fawkner Inn is a place full of history. This lovely historical building was built back in 1824 and was where a meeting was held which resulted in the settlement of Melbourne. The Batman Fawkner Inn boasts a range of 40 rooms including Family, King, Queen, Double, Twin, and Backpacker all with private in-room bathrooms. All rooms (excluding backpacker) have in-room Reverse cycle Air Conditioners, Digital TV, Tea/Coffee Making Facilities & Fridges. Backpacker rooms have in-room heating, ensuites bathrooms and are bunk style accommodation. Situated in the centre of Launceston's CBD, we are only 5 minutes from City Park, 10 minutes to Cataract Gorge/Tamar River and close to shopping centre's and malls. We are also only 10 minutes walk from Aurora Stadium, Tasmania's home of AFL Football. The hotel has undergone extensive renovations in 2014 with some major upgrades and we are proud to announce that we are under new management as of November 2014. We offer free Wi-Fi internet (limits apply and additional can be purchase) in all areas of the hotel which includes in all rooms. On-Site Laundry Facilities are also available. We have a large Common Room/Lounge which has a kitchen (Oven, Stove, Microwave, Fridge & Preparation Area), lounge & wide-screen TV, 8-Ball table, large dining table and vending machines. Management and Staff look forward to having you stay next time you visit Launceston. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Batman Fawkner Inn

Address: 35-39 Cameron Street, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Price Range: $39 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Batman Fawkner Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Batman Fawkner Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Batman Fawkner Inn Launceston, Tasmania
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Launceston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Batman Fawkner Inn staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Sarawak, Malaysia
Whyalla, Australia
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Batman Fawkner Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid 5A if you need to sleep.”
jessicaaB3855JP, 10 May 2017 | Read review
“The noise of the nightclub below did not disturb us unduly.”
804bethi, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Twin, Double or Queen room with ensuite”
melaniekM5565NS, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms away from nightclub area are fine, escept for lack of hot water.”
MaryK250, 8 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Disco noise Friday & Saturday nights”
jillnorris, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hostelworld.com
US$30* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$47
Booking.com
Orbitz.comUS$47
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates