We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Commodore Regent

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Commodore Regent
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

190 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 183: English reviews
Start your review of Commodore Regent
 Click to rate
Geelong, Australia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed here for two nights recently and found it to be acceptable without being stunning. It was close to the center of the city and allowed easy access to wherever we wanted to go. We were able to walk to both local eateries and also down to Boags Brewery for a tour we had organised in advance - it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian J
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked the accommodation through Lastminute.com (secret hotel deal). It staff and manager was really friendly. We reached there early in the morning. They let us park our car there and also use their fridge to put the stuff we bought from the farmers market. The manager also upgraded our room and also recommended us places to visit. We would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tarun1G
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Friendly staff with nice renovated room which was quite comfortable.The location was central with many eateries and an easy walk into the central area.The drive up to the top rooms is very steep and walking it may be a challenge for sum. The bathroom was spacious with very good pressure for the shower. The room was very clean even though...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lillypilly72
Commodore R, Manager at Commodore Regent, responded to this review

Thanks Lillipilly72 for your review I'm glad your stay was comfortable and convenient and we certainly look forward to seeing you again. Safe travels Simon Peavey Hotel Manager

Launceston, Australia
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

What a pleasure it was to stay here. Staff extremely friendly, had a beautiful view looking over the park and the room was very clean. Room had a mini style kitchenette with lots of utensils to use, parking can be a little tight but there is plenty of parking.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tassiejane2016
Commodore R, Manager at Commodore Regent, responded to this review

Hi Tassiejane and thanks for your kind review, It's great to know that late in February, after a busy summer season, that we are still delivering a high level of friendly service to our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back and hope that you had a great time here in Launceston. Simon Peavey Manager

Wangaratta, Australia
Reviewed 17 February 2017 via mobile

Can't recommend this place enough! Great location, excellent and extremely helpful staff. Rooms are spacious and clean. Location is very central and easy to get to. I'll be back! I recommend you book a table at the restaurant, fantastic food but it can get busy.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ozgirl82
Commodore R, Manager at Commodore Regent, responded to this review

Good morning Ozgirl82 and thanks for your review. We love what we do and are so glad that you've had a great time staying with us. Safe travels and we hope to see you again soon Simon Peavey Hotel Manager

hobart
Reviewed 12 February 2017

I only give this a 4 rating because of the steep site and stairs which was not an issue for me but could be for others - just ask for a ground floor on booking, however the pluses far outweigh this minus. This was a very surprising find in walking distance to all Launceston has to offer. Did book a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alikat19
Commodore R, Manager at Commodore Regent, responded to this review

Hi alikat19 We are really lucky with our location opposite a GREAT park and so close to town and am especially glad you've had a good stay. Safe travels and hope you can stay with us again soon! Simon Peavey Hotel Manager

Rotherham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 February 2017

We booked a superior twin and were quite pleased as the room we were allocated was a nice large room with a double and a single bed in.The rooms are well equipped with a toaster and kettle and tea and coffee making facilities,the bathroom was also nice with a very large shower cubicle.As we stayed for two nights the room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank scubacol11
Commodore R, Manager at Commodore Regent, responded to this review

Hi scubacol11 and thanks for the feedback, We do explain in our room compendiums that on a Sunday we have everything you need available from reception during the morning and are happy to provide a service upon request. I'm sorry your stay seems to have been let down by a series of small matters however look forward to being able...

Aubusson
Reviewed 7 February 2017

Clean room, although the toilet was a little smelly. Decent size of room and big, comfortable bed, But.......the desk light didn't work, because there was no bulb in it! The curtains didn't draw properly as there weren't enough hooks for them to hang correctly so someone, not a guest, had fastened the two top corners of one of the curtains...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LynnMHutch
Commodore R, Manager at Commodore Regent, responded to this review

Hi Lynn and thanks for your review The room you booked is one of our less expensive standard rooms and is due for a full renovation next year. We do upgrade our guests where-ever possible into the Premium Rooms however our occupancy may have prevented us doing that for you. If you are coming back to Launceston, give me a...

Lincoln UK
Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

This hotel is very close to the centre of Launceston and overlooks the city park. It is built up in tiers above the main road, Brisbane Street and the drive is quite steep. We got checked in very quickly on arrival, the receptionist was very friendly and helpful. Our room right at the back of the property was on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gallivanter
Commodore R, Manager at Commodore Regent, responded to this review

Hello Gallivanter and thanks for your review, We are glad that you had a comfortable stay with us. It sounds as it you have booked one of our standard rooms - we will be completing the balance of our refurbishment this year and these last 9 rooms will be updated to match the great standard of our Premium rooms. Our...

Doha, Qatar
Reviewed 31 January 2017

Sadly we were only there for 2 nights. Nice rooms, neat and tidy. You have to try out the restaurant. Outstanding quality, 5 star cooking. Friendly and helpful staff and a good location. We will be back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
Commodore R, Manager at Commodore Regent, responded to this review

Hi Tom and thanks for your review We are so lucky with our team to be able to showcase a great view, great Tasmanian food and wine and our course, our friendly staff. Look forward to your next stay! Simon Peavey Manager

64 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (60)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.4 km away
Batman Fawkner Inn
Batman Fawkner Inn
#20 of 30 in Launceston
524 reviews
0.4 km away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#6 of 30 in Launceston
473 reviews
0.7 km away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.3 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston
1.0 km away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Commodore Regent is perfectly located with fantastic views overlooking the City Park, and only a 3 minute walk to the CBD with great cafes, boutiques and shops. We are also within walking distance to many great Launceston attractions. Free internet access, off street car parking and daily newspaper. The motel also features Restaurant 13 which has sweeping views of the City Park and is open for Breakfast and Dinner 7 days. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Commodore Regent

Address: 13 Brisbane St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia (Formerly Comfort Inn )
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Price Range: $89 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Commodore Regent 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Commodore Regent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Launceston
Regent Launceston
Launceston Regent
Launceston Comfort Inn
Commodore Regent Launceston, Tasmania
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Commodore Regent staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Our room, which was at the rear of the complex, was quiet and had a view of sorts over some of the city. Depends what you are looking for”
 of 5 bubbles ianj569, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Recommended ground room”
 of 5 bubbles lillypilly72, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms in front row have lovely sky and park views but do have more traffic noise”
 of 5 bubbles alikat19, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The motel has room on 2 levels. Nice views on 2nd level but a bit of hike up the stairs.”
 of 5 bubbles 220tomm220, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Check the room first for cleanliness before you agree to take the room.”
 of 5 bubbles 531fayew, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5