We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Launceston Backpackers

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Launceston Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

158 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 136: English reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Plus: Central location. Clean enough. Minus: Hidden costs. Pay for your bed sheets and blankets. Pay to use the internet. Feel like you're a dollar sign, not a visitor. Would be better if hostel just charged a price that includes all instead of surprising guests with costs that are regularly included in other backpacker accommodation.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark N
England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed in a en-suite room. Room was clean and comfortable with lots of space. Shower was fine. The room walls are really thin unfortunately. Kitchen was okay. Location is about 10/15 minutes walk from centre. 2 big supermarkets within walking distance, Coles 5 minute walk and Woolworths 10 minutes nearer the centre. The staff were friendly and helpful. The nearest...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Steph618
derek l, Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Steph618, thank you for your detailed review. There is a lot of information in your review that other travelers may find helpful. Safe travels.

Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 11 September 2016

You get what you pay for here - a cheap, more-or-less clean, and comfortable hostel for a quick stop in Launceston. My husband and I were hosteling/camping through NZ, having to be very budget conscious, and this place was bare bones in getting the job done for what you want a hostel to be. The girls bathroom was reasonably clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank spiffyonion
derek l, Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello spiffyonion, thank you for taking time to review Launceston Backpackers. Maybe we will see you here again sometime in the future. All the best.

York
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

The hostel was very clean, including the showers and kitchen facilities. The lady on reception who checked us in was very polite and helpful and recommended us some nice places to eat, I was very tired after driving all day so may have seemed abit rude when I checked in,I apologise for this! I felt bad afterwards.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jwilbo92
derek l, Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Jwilbo92, thank you for taking time to review Launceston Backpackers. We are glad you enjoyed our facilities and that you appreciated the cleanliness of the building. Our cleaner does a great job. All the best.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 2 August 2016

I stayed at the Launceston Backpackers while visiting Launceston to watch an AFL game. Overall it was a very pleasant experience. I booked an Ensuite Double room (room 19) which was basic, but clean, warm, cosy, filled with natural light, and perfect for a casual stay. The hostel is centrally located and has probably the best equipped kitchen of any...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alexinmelbourne
derek l, Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Alexfrommelbourne, thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope your team won the footy. All the best.

Western Australia, Australia
Reviewed 6 July 2016

We stayed here with a large group of 65, and found the facilities to be very neat and clean. The large kitchen worked well for meal preparations, and the staff were very helpful and friendly. The location worked well for us, although the park across the road was a bit muddy (but there's not much the staff can do about...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mmmmt1
derek l, Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello mmmmt1 thank you very much for your review. We are glad your group had an enjoyable stay at Launceston Backpackers.

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 15 March 2016

Friendly, attentive staff who answered the telephone, large kitchen, spacious eating area with a variety of dorm, twin and single rooms. It was quiet, centrally located just on the edge of the CBD with a supermarket nearby and a lovely green park just opposite. I just wish the rest of Tasmania had accommodation like this.....I found it difficult to find...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MaritaB709
derek l, Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello MartinaB709, thank you for your review. We do work hard at providing great facilities and our staff are very dedicated to making your stay comfortable and enjoyable. Thank you for taking time to post your positive feedback. Safe travelling.

Castlemaine, Australia
Reviewed 12 March 2016

Shared toilet and shower (water pressure is variable) are kept clean and were well ventilated and lit. Upstairs room was not well ventilated due to the window position, try for a downstairs room if possible. Comfortable shared lounge with large flat screen TV and couches and a large shared kitchen plus an eating room with tables and chairs allow for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GeoffAH
derek l, Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Geoff AH, thanks for taking time to review Launceston Backpackers. We appreciate your comments. We do keep the water pressure low in bathroom hand basins as this avoids the shower water becoming too hot. All the best.

Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewed 26 February 2016

I stayed here for just a night at the end of a three-day tour of Tasmania. The front-desk staff were exceptionally kind and professional. The location is good, too -- right across from a nice park, and a 15-minute walk to the cool gorge. Launceston is a nice town with appealing 19th and early 20th century architecture.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Keith22jukjuk
derek l, Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Keith22jukjuk, we are glad you enjoyed your stay at Launceston Backpackers. We hope you enjoy the rest of your trip.

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 19 February 2016 via mobile

A very typical backpacker hostel. Location is great, in the middle of the town within walking distance to restaurants n supermarkets. And yes you have to pay $3.50 extra for linen n cover. The first night we didn't purchase them thinking it would be alright if we cover ourselves up with jackets n long pants but we are so wrong....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank liting2015
derek l, Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Liting, thank you for reviewing Launceston Backpackers. We do recommend people hire blankets and there is a big sign in our office recommending this. We also hire sheets for people who want to do this. Our kitchen is cleaned by our staff 3/4 times each day. We apologize for it being dirty when you wanted to use it but...

33 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
1.1 km away
Batman Fawkner Inn
Batman Fawkner Inn
#16 of 30 in Launceston
497 reviews
1.4 km away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
1.0 km away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#7 of 30 in Launceston
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
The Old Bakery Inn
The Old Bakery Inn
#15 of 30 in Launceston
192 reviews
1.2 km away
The Sebel Launceston
The Sebel Launceston
#2 of 30 in Launceston
787 reviews
0.7 km away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Launceston Backpackers is a one hundred year old Victorian building. It has 30 rooms, including double ensuite, doubles, singles, triples and dormitory rooms. It has a large commercial kitchen, large TV room and separate dining room. There is a free car park. Launceston Backpackers has a modern fire protection system. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Launceston Backpackers

Address: 103 Canning St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Price Range: $48 - $62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Launceston Backpackers 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Launceston Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Launceston Backpackers Tasmania
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Launceston Backpackers staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Launceston Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“En-suite room”
 of 5 bubbles Steph618, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Downstairs rooms are cooler in summer.”
 of 5 bubbles GeoffAH, 11 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Make sure they put you in a room you paid for :)”
 of 5 bubbles 652elienv, 29 Jan 2016 | Read review
“For privacey and a peaceful nights sleep, reserve a private room which comes with a queen size bed. Some of the private rooms even have en-suites. These rooms are a bit more expensive, but worth the price. They book up fast, so reseve early.”
 of 5 bubbles nmleo, 24 May 2015 | Read review
“Stay elsewhere for a double.”
 of 5 bubbles 542bretta, 8 Mar 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay