We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Launceston Backpackers

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Launceston Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

170 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Launceston Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Showing 146: English reviews
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Reviewed 8 February 2016

I stayed here for a total of 6 nights on 2 separate occassions in a twin room on the first floor. The rooms are nice and big with 2 single beds and 4 powerpoints which is always a bonus when travelling. The kitchen is nice and big - although only 1 toaster and kettle - but it's very annoying that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Natalie M
derek l, Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Natalie M, we are glad you enjoyed our facilities. Thanks for mentioning the toaster and kettle. We have had electricians look at this and because it is a one hundred year old building it is quite difficult to get extra power points from our switchboard down to the kitchen. Thanks for mentioning the dishes situation,...

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 5 February 2016

We stayed one night in a dorm. It was clean and comfortable. The kitchen is big with everything inside for cooking. The location is good for walking around city. The price is cheap but then you have to pay extra everything.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alice W
derek l, Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Alice W. thank you for your review. We are glad you liked our kitchen and clean comfortable dorms. Yes we do charge extra for the additional things people want because our bed prices are kept low. We charge a one off fee of $3.50 for people who want 2 fresh sheets and a blanket. We charge $1 per hour...

Tasmania, Australia
Reviewed 31 January 2016 via mobile

We stayed for one night , it was clean and it's just your typical backpackers ... Location is very central . We stayed on the bottom floor and you could hear everything , people walking around , yelling eg ... Rooms are basic , mattress with a pillow .. Blankets are available for hire . We didn't have a power...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anniebeeton
derek l, Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for your review Anniebeeton, yes we did have some rowdy guests the other night. Our night manager eventually heard them and told them to quieten down so apologizes for that. There are power points located in every room, please ask at the office next time and we can help show you where they are. Safe travelling.

Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Reviewed 30 January 2016

This place is laid back and quiet. Check in was easy although extra charge for credit card is always annoying. The place was quiet. First time staying here, I was placed in a 6 bed room on the first floor. There was only one other person in the room. It was a little smelly but clean. Very basic. The bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Coloradical13
derek l, Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello NEColorado13, thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. One of our rooms was a bit musty because we had a heavy rain and one of our rooms sprung a leak. All the best.

Reviewed 30 January 2016

We weren't informed when reserving our dorm bed about paying extra 3,5$ for linnen, wi-fi, luggage storage and we were put into an 8 instead of 6 bed dorm, a 10$ key deposit (still ok) and an extra fee for credit/debit card payments. Even contacting the manager after hours is charged for... Better management (know when to prioritise customers instead...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Elien V
derek l, Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Elien V. thank you for taking time to review Launceston Backpackers. We agree with you that the credit card charges imposed by the banks are annoying. The credit card companies take anywhere from 1.9% to 2.6% of each credit card transaction which Launceston Backpackers processes. For ten years Launceston Backpackers did not charge extra for credit card transactions. Our...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 23 January 2016 via mobile

This really big, barn style backpackers is clean and cosy. One of the cleanest and well kept hostels I have stayed in. The triple room was big with lots of space and the mattresses are comfortable. The staff are friendly and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elle L
derek l, Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Elle L we are glad you enjoyed your stay at Launceston Backpackers. Thanks for mentioning the cleanliness of the Backpackers, we do put a lot of work into keeping the place as clean and tidy as we can. Happy traveling.

vienna
Reviewed 18 January 2016 via mobile

Very simple but nice rooms. We stayed in a double and for a hostel that was super spacious including 2 closets. Bathrooms were clean but wet (put your stuff in a plastic bag and hang it!). Towel AUD1 extra but defo worth it, WiFi AUD1 per hour but cheaper the longer you ask for (I paid AUD for 2hrs), worked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank psymaggs
derek l, Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Psymaggs, we are glad you enjoyed the facilities at Launceston Backpackers. Thank you for taking time to post your review. Enjoy your Tasmanian tour.

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 15 January 2016 via mobile

Our primary requirement was low price, and this backpackers certainly delivered. We stayed in a room with two beds, and it was almost the same price as a larger, shared room. There was absolutely nothing to complain about the location or facilities. The beds and shower were fine. There was a large shared kitchen which we didn't use, instead finding...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter A
derek l, Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Peter, thanks for your review. We are glad you liked our low prices. Peter you were in a twin room. There is actually two power points just at the end of each bed. We hope you enjoy the rest of your trip. All the best.

HKG
Reviewed 6 November 2015

I just stayed in Launceston Backpackers for one night, but I was impressed. The reception staff was indeed very nice to offer me 2 blankets due to afraid of cold during the night. I was staying in a female dorm for 4, but I found that the room was quite spacious and clean, furthermore, the kitchen, washroom and sitting area...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kendy M
derek l, Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Kendy, thank you for taking time to post your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We have kept bringing down the cost of WiFi as Telstra offer us better packages. Recently Telstra gave us an additional monthly access to the internet so we were again able to bring the price down to $1 per hour.

Tasmania
Reviewed 22 September 2015

This is the second time that we have hired out the entire Launceston Backpackers for the overnight accommodation for our youth conference attendees. Both times we have been really pleased with the service provided. The location is great, room layout is good (separating ages/gender etc) and the kitchen and other communal spaces are really good. We have also been able...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joannaclare1001
derek l, Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello joannaclare, we really appreciate your review. Thank you for posting your kind words about the way we work to help our group bookings have an enjoyable stay.

35 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
1.1 km away
Batman Fawkner Inn
Batman Fawkner Inn
#18 of 30 in Launceston
522 reviews
0.7 km away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.6 km away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#3 of 30 in Launceston
1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.3 km away
Auldington
Auldington
#9 of 30 in Launceston
340 reviews
1.0 km away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#6 of 30 in Launceston
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Launceston Backpackers is a one hundred year old Victorian building. It has 30 rooms, including double ensuite, doubles, singles, triples and dormitory rooms. It has a large commercial kitchen, large TV room and separate dining room. There is a free car park. Launceston Backpackers has a modern fire protection system. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Launceston Backpackers

Address: 103 Canning St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Price Range: $26 - $53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Launceston Backpackers 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Launceston Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Launceston Backpackers Tasmania
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Launceston Backpackers staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Launceston Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“En-suite room”
 of 5 bubbles Steph618, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Downstairs rooms are cooler in summer.”
 of 5 bubbles GeoffAH, 11 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Make sure they put you in a room you paid for :)”
 of 5 bubbles 652elienv, 29 Jan 2016 | Read review
“For privacey and a peaceful nights sleep, reserve a private room which comes with a queen size bed. Some of the private rooms even have en-suites. These rooms are a bit more expensive, but worth the price. They book up fast, so reseve early.”
 of 5 bubbles nmleo, 24 May 2015 | Read review
“Stay elsewhere for a double.”
 of 5 bubbles 542bretta, 8 Mar 2015 | Read review
5 of 5