We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Areca Boutique Hotel

Traveller (31)
Room & Suite (18)
Dining (5)
Certificate of Excellence
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
See why so many travellers make Areca Boutique Hotel their small hotel of choice when visiting Launceston. Providing an ideal mix of value, comfort and convenience, it offers a charming setting with an array of amenities designed for travellers like you. Nearby landmarks such as Aurora Stadium (1.8 km) and Alexandra Suspension Bridge (2.7 km) make Areca Boutique Hotel a great place to stay when visiting Launceston. Guest rooms include air conditioning and a refrigerator. In addition, guests can enjoy free breakfast during their visit. As an added convenience, there is free parking available to guests, and Areca Boutique Hotel makes getting online easy, with free wifi. While in Launceston, you may want to check out some of the restaurants that are a short walk away from Areca Boutique Hotel, including Me Wah Restaurant Launceston (0.8 km), Stillwater (1.6 km), and Black Cow Bistro (0.6 km). During your visit, be sure to check out popular attractions like The Tamar Valley (0.7 km), Penny Royal Adventures (1.7 km), and Tamar Valley Wine Tours (1.1 km), which are all within walking distance of the small hotel. At Areca Boutique Hotel, your comfort and satisfaction come first, and they look forward to welcoming you to Launceston.
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Public Wifi
Room features
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Rooms
Refrigerator in room
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Boutique
Great View
HOTEL CLASS
83Reviews
46Photos
0Q+A
17Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 38
  • 32
  • 8
  • 3
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Stayed at Areca hotel for 1 night on December 27th. From outside, the hotel looks quite new and well maintained. We got the room on first floor. The room looks a bit tired. Think the hotel does not have a lift because I saw guests have to carry their bags down to check out.
Read more
Response from ClareF727, Receptionist at Areca Boutique Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hello! Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. We are glad to hear you found the staff at the breakfast room friendly and helpful but sorry to hear you were not quite pleased with your stay. The building is built in 2012, so it is fairly new, there is no lift, as it has just two floors and only nine rooms. The new management started here just some months ago and we are updating the rooms and facilities step by step. The breakfast we offer is continental style and it is lighter compared to hot breakfast. We serve also fresh pancakes, which are very popular amongst our guests. We are sorry to hear the WiFi connection was not good while your stay. We had some issues there for some days but it is all fixed now. WiFI is an essential nowadays and we really focus on the good reception and connection. Apologies, that it did not work properly for you. We are very glad you like Launceston, definitely come back and enjoy what this beautiful town has to offer. Thank you for staying with us and we wish you all the best. Kind regards, Piia
Read more
I was checking in on a Sunday evening and clear instructions via email and message were provided to me for self-checkin. Had a room upstairs and nice view of the city. Simple but sufficient breakfast to start the day and the staff at the breakfast counter was always cheerful and
Read more
Response from ClareF727, Receptionist at Areca Boutique Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hello! Thank you so much for taking your time to review our property. We are very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, the view and the service. The feedback regarding smooth self-check-in is also very much appreciated, as to meet is person is always more pleasant and efficient but we are glad to hear the alternative works well too. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to accommodate you again in the future. Kind regards, Piia
Read more
The bathroom was fully setup for a disabled person. It felt like we were staying in a hospital room. Black carpet in the bedroom and black tiles in the bathroom - the ambience was awful. The shower curtain finished about 30-40 cm above the floor and covered two sides. It was
Read more
Response from ClareF727, Owner at Areca Boutique Hotel
Responded 13 Dec 2018
Hi Arthur, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a detailed review has it helps to ensure we can provide the best experience for our guests. I have checked your booking and you were placed in Room 12 which, as you have correctly stated is our all access room. The only differences in your room aside from our other beautiful rooms is the bathroom and wider entry to allow for wheelchairs. There is a stand alone sink in the bathroom but there is no vanity/bench space. In lieu of this, we have provided a small stand where you can keep and store your toiletries. I am so sorry that you had issues with the light in your room due to the curtains. We unfortunately were not aware of the problem at the time so we could not alleviate the issue for you. We have also since amended our shower curtain, which once again we were not aware was an issue. Thank you again for taking the time to leave us a review, as your feedback has made us aware of the above issues which have now been fixed. I do sincerely hope that you enjoyed our breakfast and your overall stay in Launceston. Yours kindly, Renee.
Read more
Very comfy beds and nice views over Launceston. Tucked away off the traffic from the main road so quieter than many of the hotels on the main roads. Stayed twice in 10 days. First night was in normal size hotel room - not tiny but not huge. The second was on the ground floor
Read more
Response from ClareF727, Owner at Areca Boutique Hotel
Responded 13 Dec 2018
Dear ShellyR, Thank you so much for such a great review! We are thankful you took some time to write it and very pleased you really enjoyed your stay. We do wish our customers have some relaxing time with us, have a good night sleep and start a day with a fresh and good breakfast. We wish you all the best and hope to accommodate you again in the future. Kind regards, Piia
Read more
Love staying here. Rooms are clean and tidy with plenty of room. The views are sensational from your room. The place is modern and has all the creature comforts. Beds are comfy, shower is awesome. The breakfast is fantastic and was unexpected the first time. This place is always
Read more
Response from ClareF727, Owner at Areca Boutique Hotel
Responded 14 Nov 2018
Hi Louise, Thank you so much for your detailed stellar review. Our staff do love to ensure each guest has a personalised, positive experience and we are so glad you enjoyed your time with us! We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Ebony
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining
view from room
PreviousNext
1234
"Check the bathroom setup before booking."
"Ask for a room with a view of the city"
"Comfortable beds, continental breakfast was lovely. Renae was the receptionist and couldn't be more helpful during our stay there."
"All of the rooms are quiet and luxurious"
"room with view"
PreviousNext
1234
PRICE RANGE
US$98 - US$143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaTasmaniaLaunceston
NUMBER OF ROOMS
9
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing