We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Sebel Launceston

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Sebel Launceston
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

823 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Sebel Launceston
See the most recent reviews
Showing 815: English reviews
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 27 January 2016

This hotel could be so much better. It is in a great location and our room was very nice and large. The building has obviously been built cheaply as you can here noises from the rooms next to you. The staff were very nice but the restaurant didn't seem able to cope. Beware of the post office clock nearby, which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PerthJulie
TheSebelLaunceston, Owner at The Sebel Launceston, responded to this review

Dear Julie, Thanks for your review and I'm sorry you experienced issues with noise from the next door room. We do have two x 1 bedroom apartments that have interconnecting doors so they can be configured as a 2 bedroom apartment but we are in the process of reinstating the wall as a result of feedback from recent guests. It's...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 26 January 2016

Hotel is in a quiet part of the CBD but still very central to all facilities and an easy walk to all the restaurants and landmarks. Room was very modern, clean and quite spacious with parking conveniently underneath. We didn't really notice the clock tower bell. Staff were friendly and helpful. In spite of the hotel being a little overpriced,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ronbron
TheSebelLaunceston, Owner at The Sebel Launceston, responded to this review

Dear Ron, Thanks for choosing to stay with us and I'm glad that our location, parking and access to restaurants and attractions suited you well. Hope to see you next time you visit Launceston. Best regards, Craig Richman Owner The Sebel Launceston craig.richman@thesebellaunceston.com.au

Reviewed 24 January 2016

Helpful staff and decent enough room but nothing close to good enough for the price, no breakfast included, I've stayed in similar hotels for half the price across Australia, also do not stay in a room at the front of the hotel, the clock tower ringing keeps you up all night, always ask for a rear room whatever you do!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sportyboy79
TheSebelLaunceston, Owner at The Sebel Launceston, responded to this review

This summer has been an extremely busy season for us so I'm sorry we weren't able to meet your expectations on pricing, hope you manage to find an option that suits you better next time you are in Launceston. Best regards, Craig Richman Owner The Sebel Launceston craig.richman@thesebellaunceston.com.au

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 23 January 2016

The Sebel in Launceston is an excellent hotel, and is suitable for business or family visits. Good location near the city centre with an excellent restaurant and 24 hour staffed reception. The hotel is well maintained, the staff is friendly and helpful. We were in a two bedroom apartment as part of a family visit. The bedrooms were a little...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank paul888856
TheSebelLaunceston, Owner at The Sebel Launceston, responded to this review

Dear Paul, I'm glad our 2 bedroom apartment suited you and your family well and particularly pleased you enjoyed dining in our restaurant. We have been doing a lot of work on our menu and wine list to try and inject as much Tasmanian flavour as possible. Thanks for your recommendation and hope to see you next time you are...

Tyabb, Australia
Reviewed 23 January 2016

last minute booking landed us a 2 bedroom apartment which was clean with comfortable beds. After a week in Tassie my family said they were the best bed and showers for the entire trip. Highly recommend again as staff could not be more helpful. No doubt the reasons they get all the awards.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Smiddy1721
TheSebelLaunceston, Owner at The Sebel Launceston, responded to this review

I'm glad our beds and showers got the vote from your family and helped cap off your week in Tassie. I also hope our team has the chance to look after you again the next time you visit Tasmania. Best regards, Susan Richman Owner The Sebel Launceston susan.richman@thesebellaunceston.com.au

Tasmania, Australia
Reviewed 22 January 2016

Another stay at The Sebel in Launceston. This is our home away from home. Service here is really great. Dinner splendid, room spacious and bed comfy. What more could you ask for. Definitely stay here next trip to Lonnie.

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharhar
TheSebelLaunceston, Owner at The Sebel Launceston, responded to this review

Dear Sharhar, Really appreciate the vote of confidence and thanks for reviewing us. We love being thought of as a home away from home. Look forward to your next visit. Kind regards, Craig Richman Owner The Sebel Launceston craig.richman@thesebellaunceston.com.au

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 21 January 2016

I stayed here in January 2015 and was a little disappointed with the hotel.I was expecting something slightly more upmarket. The room was good in size for the price and had a kitchen and internal laundry and seperate bedroom from the living area. Small balcony overlooking cars. The service was good from the staff, breakfast was ok, coffee - average....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Miss-Maple-27
TheSebelLaunceston, Owner at The Sebel Launceston, responded to this review

I'm sorry we didn't quite meet your expectations but thanks for staying with us and glad you found the room size, separate bedroom, kitchen and laundry facilities positives. We do have rooms on all sides of the property which have different views. All aircons are inspected and serviced quarterly so please let us know if you have issues as this...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 20 January 2016

It was a pleasant experience for just one night. Had a very large room, clean, modern and facing the road, so plenty of natural light. Not too much noise and an excellent breakfast the next morning. I suggest to go for the cooked breakfast option as the continental selection with cereal and the lot is not truly worth the value....

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roberta Z
TheSebelLaunceston, Owner at The Sebel Launceston, responded to this review

Dear Roberta, Thanks for submitting a review and glad you enjoyed your room, breakfast and the Ritual coffee. We hope to welcome you again next time you're in Launceston. Best regards, Craig Richman Owner The Sebel Launceston craig.richman@thesebellaunceston.com.au

Coffs Harbour, Australia
Reviewed 19 January 2016

This 2 bedroom apartment was such a nice refreshing change. It was exactly what we booked and had great facilities, everything you need when you're out and about. Close enough to the Cataract Gorge that you can enjoy a day there and walk home.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sarsi w
TheSebelLaunceston, Owner at The Sebel Launceston, responded to this review

I'm pleased our 2 bedroom apartments fitted so well with your needs. The extra space with kitchen and laundry facilities are particularly popular with groups and families. We hope to see you next time you are in Launceston. Kind regards, Susan Richman Owner The Sebel Launceston susan.richman@thesebellaunceston.com.au

Brisbane
Reviewed 18 January 2016 via mobile

We booked a Deluxe Room 6 months in advance for our 40th wedding anniversary requesting a room with a view and provided this information on the online booking form. As an Accor member we are eligible for an upgrade if available but when we arrived the receptionist was unaware of the online booking request so we were given a deluxe...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brisvegas1954
TheSebelLaunceston, Owner at The Sebel Launceston, responded to this review

I'm glad overall you found the rooms comfortable and the location convenient but my apologies some areas of the reservation did not meet your expectations. We have had high occupancy levels this summer which can make it a challenge to provide upgrades but I have reinforced with our front office to try and meet special requests wherever possible. I've also...

158 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (113)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (45)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.4 km away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.3 km away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
771 reviews
1.5 km away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#3 of 30 in Launceston
1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.7 km away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#6 of 30 in Launceston
471 reviews
0.5 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Sebel Launceston hotel is an elegant, boutique style hotel set in a central CBD location, within walking distance to the Seaport precinct and major attractions such as Cataract Gorge. Combining style and convenience, the hotel comprises 51 self-contained guest rooms boasting a private balcony, separate bedroom with luxurious king size bed and spacious en-suite. Many also feature spa baths and kitchen and laundry facilities.Showcasing natural Tasmanian stone and timbers throughout the interior and locally commissioned art, The Sebel Launceston offers charming, contemporary accommodation and unrivaled service in one of Australia’s oldest and most picturesque cities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Sebel Launceston

Address: Cnr St John & William Streets, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Price Range: $186 - $423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sebel Launceston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your The Sebel Launceston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Launceston Hotel Launceston
The Sebel Hotel Launceston
Sebel Hotel Launceston
The Sebel Launceston Tasmania
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Launceston
#4 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
#7 Business Hotel in Launceston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Sebel Launceston staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question
Newcastle, Australia
Pleasanton, California
5 months ago
Melbourne, Australia
over a year ago

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from The Sebel Launceston staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room at the back to avoid the clock tower bell during the night.”
 of 5 bubbles moe45, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms facing West get great sunset views, even if they look over the rooftops.”
 of 5 bubbles GeoffreyMcGiraffe, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“See Review”
 of 5 bubbles 5-star-traveller77, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Try for the second floor.”
 of 5 bubbles mickr2, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“2 bedroom is very nice.”
 of 5 bubbles F6394FWmarkt, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5