We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Lake Inn Ballarat

Show Prices
#12 of 33 Hotels in Ballarat
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Lake Inn Ballarat
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

106 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 104: English reviews
Start your review of Lake Inn Ballarat
 Click to rate
Halls Gap, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

We have stayed at The Lake Inn a number of times, every time the service has been exceptional and the rooms clean and inviting. When we stay in Ballarat we stay at The Lake Inn because we are happy there.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pkshrive1
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Close to lake and room was good. Unfortunately joined to hotel that has a smoking area which is on the edge of motel carpark (quadrant) .There was a large group of after( lunch) wedding guests using it. (staying at motel)Very very loud and drinking a lot . Went on for hours. Motel management claimed they cant do anything about it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jayne H
Phuket, Thailand
Reviewed 12 January 2017

The owners of the Lake Inn went above and beyond when we stayed here with our family. The rooms were large, spacious and comfortable and it was a great location. Will def book again when returning to Ballarat

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bel D
Reviewed 16 December 2016

We found this to be a very well appointed motel. It was a very large room and very clean and very well appointed. The bed was good with beautiful clean crisp linen and the bathroom was large, clean and modern. The staff were very approachable and friendly. Would definitely stay here again. The price for a 4.5 star room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen D
Trish W, Manager at Lake Inn Ballarat, responded to this review

Hi Helen Thank you for your review. Our team here at Lake Inn work hard to ensure our guests enjoy their stay with us and we are pleased you did. We look forward to seeing you again next time you are in Ballarat. Regards Toney & Trish Managers

Reviewed 5 December 2016

My partner and I stayed for one night as we were attending the Twilights Festival. Everything was perfect. The Inn is very close to the lake, within walking distance of the city and restaurants, and the room was very comfortable and spacious.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Denis B
Trish W, Manager at Lake Inn Ballarat, responded to this review

Hi Denis Thank you for your review. Lake Wendouree is lovely and we are privileged to be situated so close to it for events. We look forward to seeing you again next time you are in Ballarat. Regards Toney & Trish Managers

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

The moment you walk in the place you feel at home . The manager ( or lady at office ) was lovely , helpful , and as we left gave us some much need hydrating water ( big weekend ) . The rooms are very clean and very spacious, much bigger than normal . Shower was awesome , beds and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mdnsroxi
Trish W, Manager at Lake Inn Ballarat, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Our whole team here at the Lake Inn work hard on a daily basis to ensure our guests enjoy their stay with us and we are pleased you did. We look forward to seeing you again next time you are in Ballarat. Regards Toney & Trish Managers

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 27 November 2016

Stayed overnight to visit the Archibald exhibition. Handy location to walk to the lake and botanic gardens but drove into the city centre owing to inclement weather. Booked a two bedroom apartment to share with friends. Clean spacious rooms, comfortable beds, free wi fi and good shower. Kitchen had a four burner hob, microwave and fridge to make our own...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank M N
London
Reviewed 14 November 2016

I stayed for one night recently with friends to attend a local function. The rooms are big and very comfortable. Great shower but rubbish hair dryer. The TV was nice and big and they also have an iron and kettle in the room. This hotel is in a great location, right near the lake and walking distance to the hospitals....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JMacL0nd0n
Trish W, Manager at Lake Inn Ballarat, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Our rooms are larger than most motel rooms and our team keep them lovely and clean. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again. Regards Toney & Trish Managers

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 8 November 2016

This motel has quite large rooms and are all very clean. The beds are very comfortable and there is air conditioning in all rooms. We stayed in an executive double suite which was big and also the bathroom had plenty of space. There was plenty of free shampoo and other amenities available and plenty of tea and coffee. The owners...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank char5656
Trish W, Manager at Lake Inn Ballarat, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are proud of our large clean rooms and our team does a wonderful job each and every day. We look forward to seeing you again. Regards Toney & Trish Managers

Australia
Reviewed 3 November 2016

The hotel has been built around an original pub and architecturally blends in quite well. Some rooms offer lake glimpses. Rooms are larger than you usually find in motels and quite comfortably furnished. Large bathroom with nice washroom items available. Free wifi on offer. Parking is available on site. The hotel was nearly full when I was there but surprisingly...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank AussieHolidays
Trish W, Manager at Lake Inn Ballarat, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Our rooms are normally quiet even on busy nights. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again. Regards Toney & Trish Managers

22 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ballarat hotels
1.1 km away
Ballarat Premier Apartments
3.5 km away
Mercure Ballarat Hotel and Convention Centre
1.7 km away
The Provincial Ballarat
The Provincial Ballarat
#1 of 33 in Ballarat
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ballarat Suites
1.7 km away
Seymours on Lydiard
Seymours on Lydiard
#2 of 33 in Ballarat
306 reviews
1.6 km away
Craig's Royal Hotel
Craig's Royal Hotel
#11 of 33 in Ballarat
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Lake Inn Ballarat

Address: 1317 Mair Street, Ballarat, Victoria 3350, Australia (Formerly Best Western)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Ballarat
Price Range: $179 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lake Inn Ballarat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Lake Inn Ballarat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ballarat
Ballarat Best Western
Lake Inn Ballarat Victoria
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Ballarat
#9 Family Hotel in Ballarat
#11 Luxury Hotel in Ballarat
#13 Romantic Hotel in Ballarat
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Lake Inn Ballarat staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Lake Inn Ballarat staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“This is built behind other buildings so noise was not a issue”
 of 5 bubbles helendV3979NN, 15 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a lake view”
 of 5 bubbles JMacL0nd0n, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Choose a room away from the main road”
 of 5 bubbles char5656, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms closest to the pub on the western side have lake glimpses”
 of 5 bubbles AussieHolidays, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Very quiet, large spacious rooms with modern decor, free WIFI”
 of 5 bubbles Serendipity46, 2 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5