We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Quality Inn Heritage on Lydiard

Show Prices
#15 of 32 Hotels in Ballarat
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Quality Inn Heritage on Lydiard
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

94 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 93: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed overnight in a standard queen room. I was warmly welcomed at check in. The small foyer was elegantly appointed with heritage staircase and crystal chandelier. My room was in a modern wing attached to the original former bank. Being in the modern wing at the back, it lacked some of the historic charm of the original building, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cityhotelsightseeing
TheGe0rgeH0tel, Marketing Consultant at Quality Inn Heritage on Lydiard, responded to this review

Thank you cityhotelseeing for your 5 STAR review. We really enjoyed reading your review as much as you enjoyed your stay at our historic property.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It had been a few years since my last visit but the staff knew I had been there before and greeted me warmly. The rooms are large and comfortable and the large leather couch very inviting. There are plenty of great restaurants just around the corner and a lot of history in the buildings in the street. All in all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Samark21
TheGeorge H, Business Consultant at Quality Inn Heritage on Lydiard, responded to this review

Thank you Samark21. We love recognising familiar faces at check-in. It is quite a compliment to welcome back guests who have stayed previously.

Ballarat
Reviewed 26 October 2016

My three friends had adjoining apartments which had showers and spa. Incredible drawer space. Tastefully decorated. Off street parking/secure and a doorman on duty. Well appointed kitchen. A real home away from home, albeit luxurious. Free internet computer

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KennethFarnsworth
caravanaddict, Business Development Consultant at Quality Inn Heritage on Lydiard, responded to this review

Thank you for your 5 STAR review KennethFarnsworth. We appreciate your comment regarding the safety and security of our property - particularly for women travelling to stay with us. Our on-site Managers are certainly very welcoming and ensure that our guests are well looked after during their stay.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 26 September 2016

Staff were extremely friendly. Big clean modern room. Small but adequate bathroom. You have to check in first to be given key to access car parking.... behind the premises via the next street. The best thing about the Heritage is its location. Walking distance to everything...restaurants plentiful...shops...train station. We will definitely stay here again. It did not bother us as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JMartin270
caravanaddict, Business Development Consultant at Quality Inn Heritage on Lydiard, responded to this review

Our property is located in the very heart of town just 300m from the Ballarat Train Station on Ballarat's most historic streetscape. Our building was first opened in 1862 as the Bank of New South Wales. As with many old buildings, our secure, undercover parking is accessible from the street behind. Those that have stayed with us before and return...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 30 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights on a weekend break. We chose an Executive room on the second floor which did not disappoint. Tastefully decorated, very spacious, kitchenette area and pretty much everything you would need. Had dinner both nights downstairs in the restaurant and food was excellent. Located right in the heart of Ballarat, so didn't need the car as...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Marla Q
caravanaddict, Business Management Consultant at Quality Inn Heritage on Lydiard, responded to this review

Thank you Maria Q. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. By the description you have given of the room, I believe that you have stayed at our sister property - the George Hotel Ballarat. The One Bedroom Executive Rooms are located on the second floor and feature a washer/dryer combo which is very convenient for...

Reviewed 13 July 2016

Have stayed in Ballarat many times, but never here. We will definitely stay again though. The staff could not be more friendly or welcoming. Our room was lovely - I was surprised at how spacious it was - and the bath was fantastic! (I miss having baths while on holidays - in a lot of accommodation you can only have...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank YTT G
caravanaddict, Public Relations Manager at Quality Inn Heritage on Lydiard, responded to this review

Thank you very much for reviewing your recent stay at Quality Inn Heritage on Lydiard, YTT G. We were so pleased to read how much you enjoyed the bath, the quietness, the bed and the proximity to public transport, along with the helpful service. We do hope you will come back to stay with us again soon!

Reviewed 28 June 2016

I stayed in this hotel for a weekend and found it very comfortable, clean and the staff very helpful. Certainly not grand but the fittings are modern and well kept with a good selection in the mini-bar. Given the price, I'm not sure what could be improved. I particularly liked the minimal kitchen idea of kettle, toaster, microwave. Meant you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aaron C
caravanaddict, Public Relations Manager at Quality Inn Heritage on Lydiard, responded to this review

Thank you very much, Aaron C, for taking the time to review your stay at Quality Inn Heritage on Lydiard. We appreciate your feedback, with particular mention of the convenience of the kitchen amenities, and hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.

Australia
Reviewed 16 June 2016 via mobile

Our recent stay here was just an overnighter, but we found the room warm and comfortably furnished, the staff pleasant and helpful. Everything was lovely and clean and well maintained. The undercover parking was very welcome in the rain, if a little tricky to access to find as it wasn't clear at first that we should follow the map directions...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SueMAustralia
caravanaddict, Public Relations Manager at Quality Inn Heritage on Lydiard, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review, SueMAustralia. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and have noted your comments about the information on the website. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again in the near future.

Ouyen, Australia
Reviewed 9 April 2016 via mobile

A split level family retreat - compared to many country motels I would describe this room as sumptuous. Great four person accommodation, good spa, secure parking and very accommodating staff. I love the location - ten feet from theatre, art gallery, cafes & bars. You are in the heart of the action but once in your room - all is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CTorpey
caravanaddict, Public Relations Manager at Quality Inn Heritage on Lydiard, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your wonderful review, CTorpey. It is always lovely to hear when our guests expectations are exceeded. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to Quality Inn Heritage on Lydiard soon.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 26 March 2016

I have stayed at the hotel twice , both for business . The first time I got couldn't locate the hotel ( it was dark and Im from the city !) and Trevor talked me through step by step to find the hotel . When I finally turned up he was waiting for me on the corner of the street...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank laura l
caravanaddict, Public Relations Manager at Quality Inn Heritage on Lydiard, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review, laura l. We were so delighted to hear how much Trevor was able to assist you and that you're planning to return again soon. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Until then, please travel safely.

34 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ballarat hotels
0.3 km away
The Provincial Ballarat
The Provincial Ballarat
#1 of 32 in Ballarat
176 reviews
0.2 km away
Craig's Royal Hotel
Craig's Royal Hotel
#7 of 32 in Ballarat
209 reviews
0.1 km away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#14 of 32 in Ballarat
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Ballarat Premier Apartments
0.7 km away
Seymours on Lydiard
Seymours on Lydiard
#3 of 32 in Ballarat
281 reviews
0.7 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites City Views
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Breakfast Available
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Quality Inn Heritage on Lydiard is a boutique hotel nestled on Ballarat's beautiful historic Lydiard Street in the city centre. Surrounded by some of Ballarat's grandest buildings the hotel was formerly the bank of NSW and dates back to 1862, the height of the gold rush period. It has now been transformed into an architecturally designed masterpiece combining stylish modern accommodation with a distinct heritage flavor. Room levels include standard, executive and superior with 40" LCD screens, complimentary cable tv, in-house movies and wireless internet. Some rooms feature spas, gas log fires, chandeliers and views of Lydiard Street.Hotel amenities include gymnasium, heated plunge pool and spa, sun deck, conference and function facilities. The Hotel offers a unique overall experience in a sophisticated environment. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Quality Inn Heritage on Lydiard

Address: 15 Lydiard St N, Ballarat, Victoria 3350, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Ballarat
Price Range: $168 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quality Inn Heritage on Lydiard 4.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Quality Inn Heritage on Lydiard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Heritage On Lydiard Ballarat, Victoria
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Ballarat
#11 Business Hotel in Ballarat
#14 Luxury Hotel in Ballarat
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Quality Inn Heritage on Lydiard staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“A room on the upper floor opens up to the gym and pool”
 of 5 bubbles yttg2016, 13 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Room 12/14 are at the back, no view but certainly no noise”
 of 5 bubbles 739aaronc, 27 Jun 2016 | Read review
“We've stayed in 3 different rooms so far - all excellent.”
 of 5 bubbles 507mandya, 9 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Larger rooms are on level 2. These may give you less of a chance of hearing hotel room neighbors.”
 of 5 bubbles LouieBlue88, 2 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Not rooms 12 or 14 (level 1)”
 of 5 bubbles jb_on_the_move, 12 Mar 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay