We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Sphinx

Save
Share
2 Thompson Rd, Geelong, City of Greater Geelong, Victoria 3215 Australia
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
ZenHotels.com
StayForLong
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (32)
Dining (10)
Pool & Beach (1)

About

#13 of 20 hotels in Geelong
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

The Sphinx is an excellent choice for travellers visiting Geelong, offering a family-friendly environment alongside many helpful amenities designed to enhance your stay.

As your “home away from home,” the hotel rooms offer air conditioning.

Guests have access to room service while staying at The Sphinx. In addition, The Sphinx offers an on-site restaurant, which will help make your Geelong trip additionally gratifying. And, as an added convenience, there is free parking available to guests.

Given the close proximity of popular landmarks, such as Geelong Arena (0.5 mi) and St. Peter and Paul's (1.2 mi), guests of The Sphinx can easily experience some of Geelong's most well known attractions.

If you’re looking for a Mediterranean restaurant, consider a visit to Azzurra Trattoria, Sailors' Rest, or La Vista Authentic Italian Restaurant & Cafe, which are all conveniently located a short distance from The Sphinx.

Plus, during your trip, don’t forget to check out some of the popular history museums, such as Old Geelong Gaol and Geelong Museum Association.

Enjoy your stay in Geelong!

Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Air conditioning
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Mid-range

Location

Full view
40Car recommended
Grade: 40 out of 100
11Restaurantswithin 1 km
2Attractionswithin 1 km
104Reviews2Q+A9Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 23
  • 34
  • 18
  • 9
  • 20
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Patricia D wrote a review 18 Jan
1 contribution
We were quite satisfied with our room however the shower head was damaged and we had water shooting everywhere. our biggest concern was with other occupants who were enjoying an all night party. outside our room. After reporting this problem to the cleaner the following morning, followed up with an email to the Hotel Manager on my return home. I have had no response from Management. I find their lack of care very unsatisfactory. we had no way of contacting anyone overnight, My companion & myself had to work the next day after a night with no sleep. very disappointed with their lack of response.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Kerry H wrote a review Apr 2021
Largs, Australia37 contributions13 helpful votes
We called in for dinner and the found the food great and the staff friendly. The Egyptian inspired decor made for a unique dining experience. There was something for everyone on the menu and the meals were a good size and well priced.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Service
Helpful
Share
Rose wrote a review Apr 2021
Albury, Australia16 contributions3 helpful votes
Visited in my birthday..was dead quiet yet we waited 10 minutes at the sign in table to be seated...once seated we went and ordered drinks and were told they would be brought to our table..:nope they sat in the bar while staff chatted. Food was eh...won’t be back
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
another-reviewer27 wrote a review Dec 2020
Geelong, Australia50 contributions19 helpful votes
Although it's been hard times, I feel the Sphynx may have fallen into the trap of cutting back on serving sizes and upping the price on the back of Covid. The salmon dish did not even fill our 50kg Nana and the steak should have been twice the size for the price. Staff were friendly and did the best they could. Definitely go and help your local pub out, but management need to address this because it wasn't just our table who recognised the value proposition has gotten worse here... at a time when other venues are ramping up their game. 3 stars, 2 plus 1 for the kids playground and mock Egyptian artifacts.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Pasta Master wrote a review Nov 2020
Geelong, Australia10 contributions1 helpful vote
Come on down to The Sphinx Geelong, if your looking for friendly service you won’t find it here, instead a taste of rude sub level service and overpriced disappointing food. This is by far the worst bistro in Geelong. The staff are slow, often understaffed and service with a smile does not exist here you are met instead with snide remarks and bistro staff openly bad mouth customers and the gaming room staff are definitely less than accommodating to wins and service is lacking in every department.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$66 - US$112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaVictoriaCity of Greater GeelongGeelong
NUMBER OF ROOMS
16
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Sphinx
Which popular attractions are close to The Sphinx?
Nearby attractions include Next Level Skirmish (0.8 km), Geelong Arena (0.9 km), and Focal Point Darkroom & Gallery (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Sphinx?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at The Sphinx?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Sphinx?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Sphinx?
Conveniently located restaurants include Eddy and Wills, Telegraph Hotel Restaurant, and Tandoori Cuisine & Bar Indian Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Sphinx?
Yes, guests have access to an outdoor pool during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to The Sphinx?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Heights Heritage House (2.8 km), Barwon Grange (4.1 km), and The Old Paper Mills (4.0 km).
Is The Sphinx accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.