We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Mercure Geelong

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mercure Geelong
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,225 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,212: English reviews
Start your review of Mercure Geelong
 Click to rate
Wodonga
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The front desk staff were very helpful. The motel looked very tired,and this carried through to the rooms. The scrim curtain was dirty with areas of standing. The service in the dining room was excellent and food very tasty. I thought the breakfast menu was very expensive, so ate elsewhere.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cathie B
Hobart, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Attended a wedding in Geelong and pre booked another hotel but when we arrived their were no lifts. I am unable to use stairs with any degree of comfort so looked for somewhere else, we lucked onto the Mercure and snapped up one of the two remaining rooms. The staff were very helpful and friendly, the room was a little...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patricia A
Maroochydore
Reviewed 1 week ago

On arrival, we were advised that at the end of the month this hotel is changing from a Mercure to another hotel chain. We didn't realize how this would impact on our stay. It appeared that the hotel Management had cut down on staff, as this affected service at the bar, breakfast and dinner in the restaurant. The restaurant staff...

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Graeme A
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

A couple of years ago I wrote that my experience of the Geelong Mercure Restaurant was poor. The Manager responded online at the time - with the 'standard apology' . I decided to give it another try last night.(a Saturday night). First I checked the menu to see it had sufficient options in Food and Beveridge. As the website menu...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 33Chanel33
Geelong-Mercure, General Manager at Mercure Geelong, responded to this review

Dear 33Chanel33. Thank you for your recent visit to Zenith Restaurant and for being a member of our loyalty program. I sincerely apologise that we let you down again. It was very disappointing to read of your experience as this was certainly not our normal service standard. Rest assured I will address the concerns you noted with the team in...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

A very tired and dated property.Staff do their best and were excellent but they are struggling with poor amenities.We were very disappointed with what was supposed to be a sea view.You could see the sea but it was a distant view and could only be seen if you stood at one corner of the window.

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
Geelong-Mercure, General Manager at Mercure Geelong, responded to this review

Dear Peter. Thank you for your recent visit and your review. It was pleasing to read that you enjoyed the service from the team however I sincerely apologise that we let you down in some other areas. We value you feedback, and will strive to address the issues you noted. Thank you again and please contact me directly should you...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at the Mercure for the Cadel Evans Bike Ride and were actually in the company of all the professional riders and teams (which we didn't know until we arrived). Despite the hotel being focused on the professional riders, the staff were attentive and helpful at all times, and provided us with a permit to park on the street...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen B
griffith
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We enjoyed our getaway and Geelong was nice. I noted some poor feedback from other guests prior to booking. Im always quite balanced I think and understand some people can be over critical. I called and asked a few questions and was satisfied. Yes its a little dated....but hardly. It was all clean and tidy and that's what's important. If...

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cheekyken
Geelong-Mercure, General Manager at Mercure Geelong, responded to this review

Dear cheekyken. Thank you for your recent visit to the Mercure, and sharing your comprehensive feedback on Tripadvisor. We very much appreciate both the positive and constructive comments as this assists us greatly. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Mercure in the near future. Yours sincerely, Phil O’Brien General Manager

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Was pretty dissapointed in my stay at the mecure, definately expected better. Room was tired, carpets stained and in need of a renovation. The bathroom was recently redone but the standard of workmanship not great with new paint straight over the old chipped and flaked doorframes. Internet is not free and pretty slow. Breakfast was passable however if you want...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marty D
Geelong-Mercure, General Manager at Mercure Geelong, responded to this review

Dear Marty. Thank you for your recent stay at the Mercure Geelong. Please accept my sincere apologies that your stay was not a positive one. It was disappointing to read that a number of issues you experienced tarnished you stay. Wherever possible I will address the concerns you noted as we strive to ensure all guests have a great stay....

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Very disappointed with breakfast at the hotel, not appropriate if u have a medical restriction, I can't have normal coffee or fat milk, I the waitress if There any decaf coffee n hot skim milk, if there was any I would make my coffee myself, as not a big fuss about expresso or instant, it's no hassle for me, as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pravin E
Geelong-Mercure, General Manager at Mercure Geelong, responded to this review

Dear Pravin, Thank you for your recent visit to the Mercure Geelong and sharing your experience. I sincerely apologise that we let you down at breakfast. It was very disappointing to read as this was certainly not our normal service standard. Rest assured I will address your concerns with the team in order to prevent similar occurrences in the future....

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This hotel is nice and clean and in a very convenient location to the shopping and waterfront of Geelong. The buffet breakfast is very good, with the kitchen happy to cook your eggs any way you like them. We stayed in a family room, one queen and two single beds for the kids. My only disappointment is that the pool...

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank marlene g
Geelong-Mercure, General Manager at Mercure Geelong, responded to this review

Dear Marlene. Thank you for your recent visit to the Mercure Geelong and your review. We aim to ensure all guests have a great stay and value your feedback. Wherever possible I will address the concerns you noted. Thank you again and hope to see you back in the not too distant future. Kind regards Phil O'Brien General Manager Mercure...

145 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (94)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (51)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geelong hotels
0.9 km away
Novotel Geelong
Novotel Geelong
#2 of 24 in Geelong
671 reviews
1.8 km away
Quality Hotel Bayside Geelong
1.7 km away
BEST WESTERN Geelong Motor Inn And Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
BEST WESTERN Admiralty Motor Inn
2.2 km away
Barwon Valley Lodge
Barwon Valley Lodge
#1 of 24 in Geelong
115 reviews
1.5 km away
Quest Geelong
Quest Geelong
#7 of 24 in Geelong
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Mercure Geelong is in the city centre, near Eastern Beach Waterfront, only a short distance to the Great Ocean Road and Avalon Airport, operated by Jetstar. The hotel features 137 rooms with bay or city views, a restaurant, bar, outdoor swimming pool, spa, sauna, gymnasium and conference facilities for up to 350 guests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Geelong

Address: Corner Gheringhap & Myers Streets, Geelong, Victoria 3220, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Geelong
Price Range: $140 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Geelong 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Mercure Geelong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Geelong Hotel Geelong
Accor Geelong
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Geelong staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Melbourne, Australia
Perth, Australia

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Geelong staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Our room had a view out of the front of the hotel so not bad.”
 of 5 bubbles 953PatriciaA, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms to the front have views of the bay”
 of 5 bubbles suzy2017, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Pay the extra for sea view.”
 of 5 bubbles LissyL0u, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Check the Air-Conditioning”
 of 5 bubbles WW_Traveller023, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The rooms weren't the problem it was the dining experience or lack of.”
 of 5 bubbles _erniemck, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5