We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Clement House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Kilda
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Clement House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

8 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 7: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I spent nearly 2 weeks at Clement house in April/May as I was visting Melbourne for business purposes. Chung and Colin were great hosts, they provided me with maps, a Myki card and helpful tips. Colin even kindly arranged to take me to the airport at awful times in the morning which I very much appreciated. Clement House was lovely... More 

Helpful?
Thank K8Hud
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

My partner and I stayed here for four nights in November 2013. Colin came to collect us from the airport and gave us a great introduction to Melbourne and all the places we might like to see, with very helpful maps and guides on hand. The room was lovely, with a comfy bed and plenty of space. The guest house... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sarah K
ColinJ48, Owner at Clement House, responded to this review

Thanks Sarah for the review, it was a pleasure to have you stay, hopefully see you again in St Kilda. More 

The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 30 April 2013

With a group of 5 friends (2 couples, 1 single) we rented out Clement house for 4 nights and had a marveloud time. We were in town for a wedding and Colin and Chung were helpfull hosts supplying us with travel tips and sightseeing options. The rooms were clean and spacious and the fresh coffee was always availanle even when... More 

Helpful?
Thank M S
BELLINGHAM
Level Contributor
71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Clement House, and would have stayed longer but they were pre-booked. Lovely rooms, wonderful neighborhood, great cafes in the area, and within an easy tram ride to the city center. Loved it!

Helpful?
1 Thank phebess
ColinJ48, Owner at Clement House, responded to this review

Thanks, glad you had a good stay. More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 December 2012 via mobile

Good price and friendley and genuine helpfull staff. Good neighbourhood and walking distance to communications and restaurants. The room was fine. It is not possible to look the door to the room which is a bit odd. Clean shared bathroom. In general a good stay but nothing fancy.

Helpful?
1 Thank Svennebananen
ColinJ48, Owner at Clement House, responded to this review

Glad you had a good stay, you were using our second room which has a shared bathroom with the owner, our first room has a private bathroom. More 

Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 1 December 2012

I stayed at Clement House again in Sep after my 1st visit to Melbourne in April Clement House is very clean, comfortable & ideally located, near the Tram stop & train station- Balaclava, shopping areas, restaurants esp Chapel Street. It is a pleasant walk to St Kilda's beach, & a few stops to Brighton Beach. The country side was so... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sheila D
ColinJ48, Owner at Clement House, responded to this review

Very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and the day trip we went on to Gippsland even though it was rainy and misty. We look forward to hosting you again next year. More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

I stayed at Clement House for 8 nights in October and had a great experience. Clement House is comfortable, quiet and very welcoming. The room and your own private bathroom are clean and spacious. Colin and Chung (hosts) are very friendly and helpful. The location is great – 2 min walk to the tram stop (located on Chapel St) and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jennyhjk

10 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Kilda hotels
0.4 km away
Apartments Ink
Apartments Ink
#8 of 19 in St Kilda
247 reviews
1.0 km away
Kimberley Gardens Hotel & Serviced Apartments
1.1 km away
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Abode St Kilda
Abode St Kilda
#4 of 19 in St Kilda
199 reviews
1.5 km away
Quest St Kilda Bayside
Quest St Kilda Bayside
#1 of 19 in St Kilda
366 reviews
1.3 km away
Adina Apartment Hotel St Kilda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Clement House in St Kilda (Clementhouse) is a grand old Victorian house built in Melbourne's gold rush days in 1888 and located near Chapel and Carlisle Streets. We offer large rooms with private bathroom. We are walking distance to the beach and St Kilda Tourist Areas, a short tram ride to the city centre, MCG, Tennis Centre and F1 Racing Circuit, Train, Tram and Bus Services are all close. We established our gay friendly B&B in 2009 to accommodate guests seeking to explore Melbourne and surrounds. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Clement House

Address: 188 Inkerman St, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3183, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Port Phillip > St Kilda
Price Range: $53 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Clement House St Kilda, Greater Melbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Clement House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had the middle room, which has a queen sized bed. Also quieter than the front room which is above the street.”
 of 5 bubbles phebess, 18 Feb 2013 | Read review
1 of 1