We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Margaret River Hideaway & Farmstay

Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Margaret River Hideaway & Farmstay
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

265 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Margaret River Hideaway & Farmstay
See the most recent reviews
Showing 265: English reviews
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewed 11 May 2016

Beyond my expectation......wish the TV was gone so that my 4 year old wouldn't even had a chance of pressing the remote. Everything works here ! Even had my toilet bulb fixed by Vinnie first thing in the am when I emailed the night before. Too fast ! Had bread, jam, coffee, juice and tea ready when we arrived......that's thoughtful....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DustyHo
Brian S, Owner at Margaret River Hideaway & Farmstay, responded to this review

Many thanks for your critique. We do believe that we offer a unique experience for city dwellers, providing them with the opportunity to live comfortably whilst getting close to an eclectic array of birds and animals. We're experiential and our guests (particularly) the little ones seem to enjoy the proximity to nature. Thanks again and don't hesitate to tell your...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 8 May 2016 via mobile

Stayed 4 nights in May. We stayed in cottage 6 which had 3 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. Kids had a great time feeding the animals and interacting with the free roaming animals. My son especially miss Diego the farm dog. The cottage was clean and tidy and no signs of insects or centipedes that you will expect in a farm...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sgtraveller79
Brian S, Owner at Margaret River Hideaway & Farmstay, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments. I'm sorry to hear that the water temperature was a little erratic. As you're probably aware, all our water is collected on the property and is fed by pumps to the cottages. The gas heaters are well maintained so there should be no reason for any inconsistency.

Singapore
Reviewed 4 May 2016

This was our base in the Margaret River region, with the vineyards and caves we wanted to visit mostly within a 30min drive away (but in different directions). Essentially an estate comprising a number of spread out cottages, with free-roaming animals starring in their animal feeding sessions some mornings - young kids should try at least once. The cottage itself...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tansh
Brian S, Owner at Margaret River Hideaway & Farmstay, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your thoughts. It is important to understand, when contemplating a visit to Margaret River Hideaway & Farm Stay, that we're in the countryside and well away from the modern conveniences of city living. Our internet connection is via ADSL, however it's not broadband and the pipe is limited. All of our water is collected on the...

Reviewed 26 April 2016 via mobile

Stayed at the studio for 2 nights. Had a scared the first night as we had a power outage and we were also unable to unlock our main door to ask for help. Called but nobody answer and we left a voicemail. Very quickly help came. We realised as this is a very old building, we were not supposed to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Seraphina80
Brian S, Owner at Margaret River Hideaway & Farmstay, responded to this review

I'm sorry to hear of the power outage Seraphina. You will be aware that the Studio is being "retired" from service at the end of May when we introduce our 2 new Superior Studio units. I'm pleased that your overall experience was a happy one.

Devizes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 April 2016

We returned to MR Hideaway & Farmstay having been there last October. We stayed in the same cottage and it was a truly relaxing, enjoyable and memorable stay. The cottage was as immaculate as before. Lisa and Vinnie are super hosts and the children are still talking about all the animals. We will be back!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hp8927
Brian S, Owner at Margaret River Hideaway & Farmstay, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind comments. We do aim to provide a relaxing stay at our "funny farm" and it's pleasing that we're achieving our objectives. As you may have seen, the 2 new Superior Studios are almost completed, with handover likely to occur mid-May. From then, it will be a mad scramble to get them fitted out for occupancy...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 9 April 2016

Good quality accommodation, does what it says on the tin, but with Vinnies personal approach and way with the kids makes the experience real and leaves kids full of enthusiasm for the out door life. In short excellent! Thank you

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mangoago
Brian S, Owner at Margaret River Hideaway & Farmstay, responded to this review

Your kind comments are greatly appreciated.

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 8 April 2016

We stayed in the 3 bedroom cottage and it was very clean and everything we needed was provided. Vinnie and Lisa were the perfect farm hosts. Vinnie was great with the kids and the animals. This us our second time in the farm and since our last stay 2 cows have been added to the family which was very exciting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank outforthenight2016
Brian S, Owner at Margaret River Hideaway & Farmstay, responded to this review

It's extremely rewarding to hear that our returning guests are continuing to enjoy the farm stay experience; and that they notice our additions and improvements along the way. We'll soon be introducing 2 new (2 bedroom/1 bathroom) Studio units, at which time we will be retiring the existing Studio from service. Thank you for your comments and we look forward...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 15 March 2016 via mobile

On our recent trip to Margaret River with the kids we thought we would try the Margaret River Hideaway. We were not disappointed, from the moment we drove in the kids were excited about the animals. Great little cottage with living area and full kitchen. They even supplied some bread, Cereal, orange juice and butter for the first morning. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank whiteykr
Brian S, Owner at Margaret River Hideaway & Farmstay, responded to this review

Many thanks for your good advice. We know we're not going to satisfy everyone, however the sight of so many happy faces whilst they're strolling around our property is a great joy. And we're constantly doing what we can to further enhance the experience. Thanks again for your kind comments.

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 11 March 2016 via mobile

We spent 3 nights here in the studio apartment in Feb 2016. Greeting us on our arrival was a breakfast pack plus a bottle of wine, which was a nice touch. The property is about a 10 minute drive from Margaret River town centre. The accommodation units are scattered around the property. With ducks, chickens, peacocks and other animals roaming...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank DebzPerth
Brian S, Owner at Margaret River Hideaway & Farmstay, responded to this review

I'm sorry to hear of your disappointment Deb. We've been considering the Studio for some time and decided to withdraw it by the end of May, at which time we're introducing 2 new Superior Studio units (each of which has 2 bedrooms / 1 bathroom). Meanwhile, we've had guests express disappointment that they won't be able to occupy the Studio...

Mildura, Australia
Reviewed 27 February 2016

Travelled early January this year from Victoria & we wont be returning. We were all looking forward to a great time at MR Farmstay but so very very disappointed. I spent $300 per night to sleep on a couch when I was told on the phone from the proprietor that a fold up bed was organised for the 3rd person...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mandy B
Brian S, Owner at Margaret River Hideaway & Farmstay, responded to this review

Just to set the record straight, you paid $245.00 X 2 nights - for 3 adults in our Studio unit which has 1 X Queen size bed. Our manager noted the request for 2 X Double and sent e-mails to your travel agent on the 19th and 21st of December asking that you be forewarned that bedding was 1 X...

272 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (252)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (45)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Other (155)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (17)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Margaret River hotels
6.8 km away
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
#1 of 10 in Margaret River
682 reviews
7.7 km away
Sunflowers Farmstay
Sunflowers Farmstay
#11 of 51 in Margaret River
183 reviews
6.2 km away
Quality Inn Margaret River
Quality Inn Margaret River
#4 of 10 in Margaret River
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 km away
Bussells Bushland Cottages
Bussells Bushland Cottages
#1 of 51 in Margaret River
232 reviews
4.3 km away
Riverglen Chalets
Riverglen Chalets
#3 of 51 in Margaret River
193 reviews
5.0 km away
Vintages Accommodation
Vintages Accommodation
#2 of 10 in Margaret River
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We're a "funny" farm, with an eclectic array of animals roaming around the property. Our accommodation comprises of:- 2 X 2 bedroom (1 bathroom) cottages 1 X 3 bedroom (1 bathroom) cottage 2 X Superior 2 bedroom (1 bathroom) Studios 2 X Superior 2 bedroom (1 bathroom) cottages 2 X Superior 3 bedroom (2 bathroom) cottages For guests, we have free animal feeding every Saturday, Sunday, Tuesday & Thursday. Our objective is to make the kids happy, thereby ensuring that the adults are happy! And we can accommodate well-mannered dogs, without charge. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Margaret River Hideaway & Farmstay

Address: 225 Osmington Rd, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Price Range: $192 - $361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Margaret River Hideaway & Farmstay 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Margaret River Hideaway & Farmstay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Margaret River Hideaway & Farmstay Hotel Margaret River
Margaret River Hideaway And Farmstay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Margaret River Hideaway & Farmstay staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Margaret River Hideaway & Farmstay staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Dont have to even consider ! Just book with them ! You wont regret it !”
sabbieLOVE, 23 May 2017 | Read review
“best family time”
167cerens, 15 May 2017 | Read review
“The superior cottages are much more spacious than the standard ones”
G6512ZWcarolinec, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The cottages offer a bit more privacy since they are well spaced.”
filmein, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All cabins are great - no preference just depends on size of the group going”
michelina2017, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Agoda.com
* /night
View Deal
Hotwire.com
Cancelon
Hotels.com
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates