We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Rose City Motel

Show Prices
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Rose City Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

69 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 69: English reviews
Start your review of Rose City Motel
 Click to rate
Waikanae, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Nice and clean but would not go again with teenagers.as internet was shut down. They were not happy would have been better staying at home with internet than spending $400 to have kids not happy. Also other family's children were contently told off by owners.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank deby510
Reviewed 22 March 2017 via mobile

This place is very comfortable. The staff are friendly and very helpful. The roomsare spacious and modern. Great sky TV and good WiFi. There is a gym very close by only a minutes walk. Eateries are in abundance and again very close by.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Itchy B
RoseCityMo, Owner at Rose City Motel, responded to this review

Hi Itchy. Thanks very much for your kind review. We are very fortunate with our location being just a short walk to most things. We are very pleased to hear that you were comfortable and enjoyed your stay with us, and really do appreciate your feedback. Kind Regards, Glenn & Jodie, Rose City Motel.

Reviewed 13 March 2017

Beds extremely comfortable, linen crisp white, enough room to spread out. Staff very friendly and a tasty breakfast delivered every morning, on time. A short walk to the city centre along a lovely road.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carlo En Charli... C
RoseCityMo, Owner at Rose City Motel, responded to this review

Hi Carlo, Thanks very much for your review and for taking the time to make it. The spaciousness of our rooms and our location are a bonus. We are very pleased to hear that you were comfortable and enjoyed your stay with us, and that you didn't leave hungry in the morning!. Kind Regards, Glenn & Jodie, Rose City Motel.

Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewed 7 March 2017

Stopped here for one night on our way south. We booked late and for the money frankly weren't expecting much. I guess we're used to northern main centre prices! So we were delighted to get very friendly service and a nice large, clean room with a fairly comfortable bed on a well looked-after property. It's in a great location, where...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dragonzflame
RoseCityMo, Owner at Rose City Motel, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you very much for taking the time to review our motel. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We do work hard to ensure that the property is kept in top shape, and it is so nice to get the feedback that we are doing a good job. Thanks again. Kind Regards, Glenn...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 13 February 2017

Just a very quick one night stay but they all count really don't they. Good location amongst all the Motels and Hotels within the street and handy walking distance back into the main area of Palmerston North. Good room and quiet and the staff were helpful and friendly and as I was only there for the night no dramas at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David T
Cork
Reviewed 8 February 2017

Stayed here on business for ten days. Received a pleasant surprise in Rose City. As I had arrived on a early flight, an early check in had been requested well after booking. This was not an issue and myself and a colleague were checked into our respective rooms by the very friendly and cheerful manager, Glen. The room was perfect-...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dazl
RoseCityMo, Owner at Rose City Motel, responded to this review

Hi Dara, Thank you very much for your kind review and for taking the time to make it. We are so pleased to hear that you were comfortable and enjoyed your stay with us. We trust that you have recovered from your 36 hour journey home, and are enjoying your nice crisp mornings. We hope to see you again one...

Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 4 February 2017

This was my first visit to Palmerston North and our customer had made the booking so I didn't quite know what to expect. On arrival, we checked in and Glenn, the proprietor, showed us to our rooms, provided us with milk and offered advice on things to do and places to go. The room itself had a comfortable double bed,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PHegarty
RoseCityMo, Owner at Rose City Motel, responded to this review

Hi Paraic. Thank you very much for your generous review and for taking the time to make it. We are so pleased to hear that you were comfortable and enjoyed your stay with us. Sorry that we couldn't offer you more of a summer, but we suppose it was a little warmer than your part of the world at this...

La Massana, Andorra
Reviewed 2 February 2017

Good location within 10 mins walk of the city centre. Very pleasant & helpful staff/owner. Good sized rooms with all facilities. Clean & tidy. Plenty of parking. Only downside for us was the double bed which was rather small & not too comfortable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
RoseCityMo, Owner at Rose City Motel, responded to this review

Hi Chris. Thanks very much for your review and for taking the time to make it. We are just in the final stages of finishing a complete renovation of the motel, with new kitchens and bathrooms, and once completed we will be purchasing king sized beds for our studio units. At the moment all of our larger beds are queen...

NZ
Reviewed 13 December 2016

Clean and centrally located motel with 2 bedroom units, walking distance to town, very comfortable beds and a beautiful, reconditioned bathroom. Request a top floor unit if absolute quiet is important to you as you can hear people moving around above you. We had a very quiet night's sleep though.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tropicalsundae
Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewed 12 December 2016

Within a 5 minute stroll to the square this motel is centrally located. Check in was prompt and friendly and I had to cancel a 2nd night due to business reasons and no problem with this. The rooms are quite modern or reasonably recently updated and the one I was in was a studio with a large spa bath. Value...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shayne M
RoseCityMo, Owner at Rose City Motel, responded to this review

Hi Shane. Thanks very much for your review and for taking the time to make it. As you say being centrally located sometimes has its pitfalls with traffic noise, but we are not such a big city that it is a constant problem. Your unit was near the road, so if you do choose to stay with us again, we...

21 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palmerston North hotels
0.1 km away
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
#10 of 25 in Palmerston North
333 reviews
0.9 km away
Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre
Distinction Palmerston North Hot...
#5 of 25 in Palmerston North
321 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Coachman
Hotel Coachman
#8 of 25 in Palmerston North
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Destiny on Fitzherbert
Destiny on Fitzherbert
#2 of 25 in Palmerston North
46 reviews
0.1 km away
Cornwall Motor Lodge
Cornwall Motor Lodge
#1 of 25 in Palmerston North
149 reviews
1.0 km away
BKs Motor Lodge Palmerston North
BKs Motor Lodge Palmerston North
#4 of 25 in Palmerston North
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Rose City Motel, quality accommodation in the centre of Palmerston North. With newly renovated studio, spa studio, one bedroom and executive units, we have perfect motel suite for that special occasion, business trip or family holiday. Conveniently situated just a 3 minute walk from The Square with shops, theatres, cafes, restaurants at your doorstep. All units with free Ultra fast internet access, and Sky Guest Select 50+ Channels for your viewing pleasure. The airport, universities, golf & other sporting amenities are nearby. On-site facilities include spa pool, squash court, guest laundry, and peaceful garden area. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rose City Motel

Address: 120-122 Fitzherbert Avenue, Palmerston North 4410, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Palmerston North
Price Range: $122 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rose City Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Rose City Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose City Motel Palmerston North, North Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Rose City Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Been around for a long time and represents good value for the location. Maybe go away from the street for a quiet room.”
G3452WGdavidt, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Upstairs if quiet is important to you.”
tropicalsundae, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The split level rooms are great if you have several people staying”
Duffers-United, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Spa bath units are great”
H7287WKroberts, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask to be away from road”
CMDow, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5