We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre

Travellers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

465 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre
See the most recent reviews
Showing 454: English reviews
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Reviewed 14 March 2016

I stayed 4 weeks at the Anndion as part of a block course for work. I found Anne and Dion to be gracious and considerate hosts. They remembered me by name and were happy to make arrangements for me to keep my bike secure at the hotel over the weekends. The lodge is a great example of good Kiwi hospitality;...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kelly B
Anne_Dion, Owner at Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive feedback. It was our pleasure to host you, along with your co-workers, during your time in Wanganui. We are glad you enjoyed the unique features of the property and our hospitality.

Benneydale, New Zealand
Reviewed 12 March 2016

Friendly owners and cool facilities. I wish I have brought my swim suit but the en-suite bath was fabulous with complementary aromatic salt. Just a few small maintenance stuff that needs attention. Otherwise all is good.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Foodtrace
Anne_Dion, Owner at Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback - we are glad you enjoyed your time with us. Sometimes it can be guest feedback that draws attention to any small issues that need remedying - and we are pleased to confirm that this has occurred in your instance. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 9 March 2016

The Anndion Lodge was very comfortable, spotlessly clean and provided all the home comforts. It was nice being able to make a cup of tea and have breakfast in the cafe-styled dining area. The staff were very friendly and this made our stay very relaxed.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank joannat43
Anne_Dion, Owner at Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and our facitilites and hospitality.

Reno, Nevada
Reviewed 8 March 2016

Clean, well-maintained and the hosts did everything they could to make our stay pleasant. Nice river walk across the street from the motel. Botanic garden just out of town is a great half-day visit while you are there.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
Anne_Dion, Owner at Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and some of what Whanganui has to offer.

Chester
Reviewed 6 March 2016

Anndion Lodge was the perfect place for us to stay in Whanganui. It was complete with shared kitchen and laundry facilities, internet access, a pool; and the most helpful owners possible. We would definitely stay there again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank smplopper
Anne_Dion, Owner at Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Christchurch
Reviewed 4 March 2016 via mobile

My mother and I stayed for 1 night in a twin room at the lodge. The lodge was clean and tidy and had the facilities required for our stay. The hosts were exceptionally accommodating. Some of the towels and sheets could be upgraded, but can't complain as the price was great.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ames1005
Anne_Dion, Owner at Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback which allows us to monitor our guest perceptions and act on any areas of improvements that are raised.

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 March 2016

The best hosts we it love there. Our rooms were perfect and lovely décor. We were racing on the river so we always stay with you and love your service and hospitality. Hopefully we will be back again next year to stay with you. Thanks for a lovely stay River racers all the way from Christchurch

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank michelleandrichard1
Anne_Dion, Owner at Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre, responded to this review

Repeat business is the highest compliement we can receive - so thank you. We too look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again next year.

Central Otago, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 March 2016

Enjoyed our stay in the lodge, everything you need, clean, comfortable, just like home ,even a dishwasher in the kitchen, lovely setting & outlook, swimming pool a bonus, very friendly. If back in Whanganui would definately stay again

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank glenisb131
Anne_Dion, Owner at Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive feedback - we are glad you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 March 2016

Situated conveniently in terms of accessibility and distance from town centre. Very clean. Good room. Excellent shared facilities including bathroom and expansive kitchen, dining room and lounge. Friendly service.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jack Z
Anne_Dion, Owner at Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 28 February 2016 via mobile

This place is an enigma - it's both relaxing and frustrating at the same time. The management are very accomodating and go out of there way to look after their guests. I think that is the greatest strength of this business. The lodge is homely and comfy and they have no problem with children staying. However, as it is so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KJRajah
Anne_Dion, Owner at Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback which we value hightly as it allows us to continually monitor our guest experiences and perceptions and we take all your suggestions on board as opprotunities for impreovment. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and the atmosphere and hospitality that we offer. If you have the opporunity to join us again, you...

88 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (74)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whanganui hotels
1.8 km away
Siena Motor Lodge
Siena Motor Lodge
#1 of 27 in Whanganui
219 reviews
0.8 km away
Astral Motel & Apartments
Astral Motel & Apartments
#20 of 27 in Whanganui
49 reviews
2.1 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#9 of 27 in Whanganui
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Cooks Gardens Motor Lodge
Cooks Gardens Motor Lodge
#8 of 27 in Whanganui
43 reviews
2.2 km away
Rutland Arms Inn
Rutland Arms Inn
#10 of 27 in Whanganui
64 reviews
1.8 km away
Kings Court Motel
Kings Court Motel
#3 of 27 in Whanganui
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Experience the award winning unique hospitality the Anndion is renowned for with 21 accommodation rooms ranging from 1 and 2 bedroom apartments to boutique fully self-contained king suites and lodge rooms with guest share facilities, spread over three properties the Anndion complex is more like a travellers resort than just a bed for the night. Set in lovely kiwiana themed gardens with a fully licensed restaurant and bar, located on the banks of the Whanganui River, just 5 minutes from the city centre. Facilities including free Wi-Fi, off street parking and secure motorcycle and bicycle garaging, a salt-water swimming pool, outdoor spa, infrared sauna, covered BBQ courtyard and guest laundry facilities. Conference and function centre with full onsite catering ... more   less 

Additional Information about Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre

Address: 143 - 145 Anzac Parade, Whanganui 4500, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Whanganui
Price Range: $80 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Whanganui
#2 Spa Hotel in Whanganui
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Location was very handy to town while still being quiet and rather boutique.”
 of 5 bubbles rosiesview, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Located on Whanganui River arriving via Parapara Road from Ratahi, Close to city. Both downstairs and upstairs units, very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles 313michellep, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I am not sure what you mean by this, but I think management would be wise to spot check the cleaning and presentation of rooms. Also the communal dishwasher would have benefited from actually been cleaned, the filter and arms inside. and a dishwasher cleaner put through regularly. My sister and I did this and it worked beautifully.”
 of 5 bubbles kevino441, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Check under the bed. We discovered the shoes of a previous traveller.”
 of 5 bubbles RonnieNZ, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The rooms are a bit snug, so plan ahead when bringing in your luggage. No air conditioning either which is not normally a big deal, but there was a bit of unavoidable outside noise due to some local cats on the prowl. Otherwise, great spot.”
 of 5 bubbles michellelJ2596DM, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5