We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

212 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei
See the most recent reviews
Showing 205: English reviews
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 21 July 2016

Some of this hotel could probably have a little bit of an upgrade but makes up for it in other respects. Restaurant has nice food and not too badly priced. Generally quite comfortable. Air conditioning unit needs to be turned off at wall as remote won't do the trick but clean enough in the room. Bed comfy. A pleasant stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Raewyn D
DiscoverySettlers, General Manager at Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei, responded to this review

Hi Raewyn, We are glad to see you enjoyed the hotel. Please let the staff know which room you are in and that the heater remote needs new batteries and this can be fixed for you. We look forward to seeing you back next time you are in Whangarei. Rgds Chris

Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

We have stayed here a few times when visiting Whangarei. The hotel offers a great location and the rooms are comfortable. It's worth getting the breakfast, it's a great way to start the day and value for money. Will always book when staying in Whangarei

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scott H
DiscoverySettlers, General Manager at Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei, responded to this review

Hi Scott, Thanks for the comments and great to hear the breakfast gets your day started the right way. See you next time you are in Whangarei. Rgds Chris

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 5 July 2016

Stayed in one of the budget rooms and while, yes, it was a small room it made good use of available space and was sufficient for a single nights stay. Location, visibility of motel entrance from the road, parking and internet connection were all great. We had a good nights rest here, were well based to visit around Whangarei and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Claire R
DiscoverySettlers, General Manager at Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei, responded to this review

Hi Claire, We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Discovery Settlers hotel. Rgds Chris

Reviewed 30 May 2016

Location is good, place looks tired on the outside and is tight space on the inside, but clean. I wasn't told about my free breakfast which was a shame.Wifi speed ok, all in all fairly average decor with nothing to really complain much about.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Huni Y
DiscoverySettlers, General Manager at Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei, responded to this review

Hi, Sorry you did not have breakfast, but we do not have free breakfast. If you had booked a room with breakfast at the time, we would presume that you would know that you have breakfast included or not. Rgds Chris

Cambridge, New Zealand
Reviewed 30 May 2016

Was planning on staying 2 nights,ended up staying 1.no safety chains on doors,had someone using a key enter our room at about 10.30 at night.Keys must all fit.same doors.But then it happened again at 7.30am in the morning not impressed.Management offered a free Breakfast,,No Thanks .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandy4464
DiscoverySettlers, General Manager at Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei, responded to this review

Hi, Please contact management when anything like this happens, as I live on-site and I am available to all guests to contact with any issues, but I did not see you as you have mentioned. The keys to each room do not open other rooms. Rgds Chris

Whangarei, New Zealand
Reviewed 24 April 2016

Friendly staff, nice room, convenient to CBD, restaurants, marina and tourist spots. Pretty outlook over the Hatea River and delicious food in-house. I stayed here back in 1975/6, when it first opened and again, this year. It's still a quality hotel. Recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JimJim_2016
DiscoverySettlers, General Manager at Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for the comments and I hope it is not 40 years before you visit us again. Rgds Chris

Coromandel, New Zealand
Reviewed 23 April 2016 via mobile

Room and bathroom was very crammed - there was an armchair in front both of the door out to the balcony and infront of the fridge/wardrobe area nowhere to move it to and it just got in the way - get these outta there. Shower door opens onto the toilet, very tight area too. Bed was very nice, big and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Animal_Yarns
DiscoverySettlers, General Manager at Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei, responded to this review

Hi, The chairs are needed for guests that wish to sit on them, or you would only have the bed to sit on. We do have larger rooms available that would give you more room. Rgds Chris

Napier, New Zealand
Reviewed 5 April 2016

Had my sleep disturbed because every noisy patron and person rummaging in their room can be easily and clearly heard inside the room. I am not a particularly light sleeper. It is a pity because otherwise the place was nice.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
DiscoverySettlers, General Manager at Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei, responded to this review

Hi Michael, Sorry about the noisy guests, please contact reception and we can get this sorted at the time. If you require a quiet room, please let us know when making the booking and we can see if we can have this sorted for you before you check-in. Rgds Chris

Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewed 28 March 2016

Star rating is three and I think that fits. The room we stayed in was a larger executive studio furtherest from the road. There are two rows two floors each and outside patio access.We had expected air conditioning but there was none. Apart from that, they have done quite well on the renovations . The downside was that some other...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laurence F
DiscoverySettlers, General Manager at Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei, responded to this review

Hi Laurence, Please let the staff know if smokers are not being as polite as they could be, or we could see about relocating you to a different room next time if smokers are a problem. We do not advertise that there is A/C, but I know it would be great to have on humid nights. Rgds Chris

Reviewed 27 March 2016 via mobile

Standard/ modern accommodation. Fantastic location 10mins drive to the airport and 10mins walk to the city Centre. I found the bed too small and slightly hard- probably the only downfall.. Very kind and friendly staff! Restaurant and bar has a great selection and pool was open to 9pm

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jessica R
DiscoverySettlers, General Manager at Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei, responded to this review

Hi Jessica, Glad to see you enjoyed your stay and please note we do have rooms with superking beds should you need a larger bed on your next visit. Rgds Chris

42 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whangarei hotels
0.8 km away
Distinction Whangarei Hotel & Conference Centre
2.9 km away
Kingswood Manor Motel
Kingswood Manor Motel
#8 of 35 in Whangarei
47 reviews
1.3 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#24 of 35 in Whangarei
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 km away
Flames International Hotel
Flames International Hotel
#17 of 35 in Whangarei
85 reviews
0.3 km away
Pembrooke Motor Lodge
Pembrooke Motor Lodge
#3 of 35 in Whangarei
146 reviews
8.1 km away
Lupton Lodge
Lupton Lodge
#1 of 35 in Whangarei
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Discovery Settlers Hotel, perfectly positioned colonial style hotel with its in-house restaurant and bar, nestled in beautiful park like surrounds,a short stroll from the hotel will lead you along the riverside, down to the town basin; where the Whangarei marina bursts with international flavour. An assortment of colourful shops, and galleries can be found in this area. A short drive away lie the Whangarei Falls, a breathtaking waterfall and bushwalk in a beautiful native bush setting. Another 20 minutes on you will find yourself in the world-famous Tutukaka Harbour, gateway to the Poor Knights Islands. These Islands offer the most spectacular diving and snorkeling in New Zealand; with stunning underwater topography and a cornucopia colourful life. Dozens of white sand beaches, romantic paradise, or fun family getaway. These are just a few attractions Whangarei has to offer whether it's business, pleasure, domestic or international. Discovery Settlers is the place to stay in Whangarei. We look forward to hosting you. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei

Address: 61 Hatea Drive, Whangarei 0112, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Whangarei
Price Range: $111 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Swansea S.Wales
3 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“next time going for next level of accommodation ”
 of 5 bubbles F4946DSyvonnec, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay when the hockey finals are on”
 of 5 bubbles 277MarkM277, 17 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Front row may have river views .Rear row maybe quieter and some executive rooms are larger. Ask for A/C or the room could be stuffy.”
 of 5 bubbles 412laurencef, 27 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Get a room away from the road”
 of 5 bubbles opiopi, 14 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Maybe ask if there are larger rooms if sharing a room”
 of 5 bubbles triciad108, 15 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5