We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

223 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei
See the most recent reviews
Showing 216: English reviews
Rotorua, New Zealand
Reviewed 15 July 2015

Good location, Dinner was ok but nothing special better places to eat, room clean and tidy bed reasonable.Shower poor head kept falling down and temp wouldn't stay constant.Heat pump noisy.Overall ok but probably stay elsewhere next time.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rob1572015
DiscoverySettlers, General Manager at Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei, responded to this review

Hi Rob, Thanks for letting me know about the shower, as there are things in the rooms that we need to be reported by guests as we do not stay in the rooms and may not notice if things are not working as they should. If you report these at the time we can fix a lot of issue right...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 8 July 2015

Our room was small but adequately suited out needs. Everything was clean. Room had tea and coffee making, hair drier. No mini bar but glasses in room. Only thing lacking was a spare pillow. There was one spare in the cupboard but I did get it quickly enough :-) Free WIFI. We ate at the bar and food was good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 2012kim
DiscoverySettlers, General Manager at Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei, responded to this review

Hi 2012km, Thanks for taking the time to comment on your stay and please contact reception if you do need any extra bedding for your stay. We do not have minibars in the rooms but do offer room service should you require food or drinks. Rgds Chris

Reviewed 23 June 2015

The check in experience was OK, but I felt they could have mentioned the availability of all the services eg free wifi (which is great) so I didn't have to do the guess work. I was also on the second floor, and I thought they could have asked whether I needed help with my bags. I don't think there is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandarstar
DiscoverySettlers, General Manager at Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei, responded to this review

Hi Sandarstar, Thanks for your feedback and it is great to see you enjoy the rooms. The restaurant is a large hotel restaurant that does not fall into the intimacy catogory I agree. We are always trying to improve our food and offerings so please let us know what you would be looking for when you dine in the hotel....

Reviewed 11 June 2015 via mobile

We stayed here on a Friday as a stopover to head to Kerikeri. The rooms are pleasantly surprising but don't stay for breakfast there are better places to eat than buffet in a dead quiet hotel. Good takeaway coffee. Apparently this is a weekday business hotel rather than a leisure hotel. Great location and easy walk to city cafes shopping...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anita M
DiscoverySettlers, General Manager at Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei, responded to this review

Hi Anita, Thank you for your comments re the rooms at the hotel. We are very busy through the week and some weekend we can be quiet, however on the day you were here, we did have over 60% occupancy in the hotel, so it is nice to see that with high numbers you had some peace and quiet. Rgds...

Reviewed 4 June 2015 via mobile

We stayed here a few days ago and it was horrible! A young indian gentlemen was very rude and arrogant towards my family. What ever happend to hospitality? This was our first family trip in the north island and our last! Horrible disgusting service upon arrival. When I called for extra towels it took an hour for them to get...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jwell998
DiscoverySettlers, General Manager at Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei, responded to this review

Hi Jwell998, I have tied to ask you about your experience but you have not responded to any of my emails. I am very sorry if you did not receive the service that you, and I, expect the staff to extent to all guests at the hotel. Rgds Chris

auckland
Reviewed 2 June 2015

We stayed 3 nights here as a couple. We had a very comfortable room up stairs overlooking the river. The bed was a super king and so very comfortable. The linen and towels were immaculate. The housekeeping was daily. We were impressed by the friendliness and prompt service we received when booking in at reception. Everything was clean and the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank maddieauckland
DiscoverySettlers, General Manager at Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei, responded to this review

Hi MaddieAuckland, Great to see we meet your expectations and you enjoyed your time in Whangarei. Rgds Chris

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 20 May 2015 via mobile

This hotel is in a fantastic location close to the central city with walks along the river across the road. The room decor was calm and tasteful. Free wifi was very much appreciated do I could work at night. The staff were very helpful. The sheets were divinely crisp and the towels fluffy. The only things that spoiled it a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jayne S
DiscoverySettlers, General Manager at Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei, responded to this review

Hi Jayne, We are happy to see you enjoyed your stay. Rgds Chris

Reviewed 11 May 2015 via mobile

My first time at your hotel. Rooms not ready on check in time and still not ready hour later. Then given another room to small for three people. Then given another room. Given different prices for breakfast and charge more than what was told. Go out for day come back to window left open by your staff. Leaving room insecure....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 12chickie
DiscoverySettlers, General Manager at Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei, responded to this review

Hi Carolyn, I am very sorry your room was not ready at the time you arrived. This should have been sorted right there and then by giving you the correct room type you requested. As for housekeeping opening any windows in the room, they are instructed to leave windows as the guest has them, if closed they stay closed and...

Reviewed 1 May 2015

Stayed for three nights on business in Whangarei. It is an easy walk into town, was very quiet and the room was very clean and tidy. The onsite restaurant serves a great lamb shank but the squid was pretty average. No towel rail in room and towel was replaced every day which was not necessary. Had to move rooms as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Justin R
DiscoverySettlers, General Manager at Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei, responded to this review

Hi Justin, Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay in Whangarei. Glad to see you enjoyed the hotel and the location to town. I have mention the food issues to the restaurant to ensure they improve the quality of the food and keep the levels of consistency high. The housekeeping team do change all the used...

Los Angeles, CA
Reviewed 15 April 2015

We needed a place to stop over in from our way back from Ninety Mile Beach as we didn't want to travel all the way back to Auckland. The hotel did the job to serve these weary travelers. It's not luxury if that's what you are looking for but it was clean and comfy. There is a restaurant on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ladusky
DiscoverySettlers, General Manager at Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei, responded to this review

Hi Ladusky, We are glad we could be there for your short stop-over, and you enjoyed the location of the hotel. Rgds Chris

51 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whangarei hotels
0.8 km away
Distinction Whangarei Hotel & Conference Centre
5.6 km away
Comfort Hotel Flames Whangarei
2.9 km away
Kingswood Manor Motel
Kingswood Manor Motel
#11 of 34 in Whangarei
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 km away
Lupton Lodge
Lupton Lodge
#1 of 34 in Whangarei
281 reviews
0.3 km away
Pembrooke Motor Lodge
Pembrooke Motor Lodge
#4 of 34 in Whangarei
153 reviews
1.9 km away
Lodge Bordeaux
Lodge Bordeaux
#2 of 34 in Whangarei
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Discovery Settlers Hotel, perfectly positioned colonial style hotel with its in-house restaurant and bar, nestled in beautiful park like surrounds,a short stroll from the hotel will lead you along the riverside, down to the town basin; where the Whangarei marina bursts with international flavour. An assortment of colourful shops, and galleries can be found in this area. A short drive away lie the Whangarei Falls, a breathtaking waterfall and bushwalk in a beautiful native bush setting. Another 20 minutes on you will find yourself in the world-famous Tutukaka Harbour, gateway to the Poor Knights Islands. These Islands offer the most spectacular diving and snorkeling in New Zealand; with stunning underwater topography and a cornucopia colourful life. Dozens of white sand beaches, romantic paradise, or fun family getaway. These are just a few attractions Whangarei has to offer whether it's business, pleasure, domestic or international. Discovery Settlers is the place to stay in Whangarei. We look forward to hosting you. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei

Address: 61 Hatea Drive, Whangarei 0112, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Whangarei
Price Range: $105 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Swansea S.Wales
5 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Select one of the middle rooms as more space.”
alig6336, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Try to get a room further from the road to reduce the noise.”
shaunc829, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“ground floor rooms presently much tireder than upstairs”
Colorchap, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“next time going for next level of accommodation ”
F4946DSyvonnec, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay when the hockey finals are on”
277MarkM277, 17 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5