We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

222 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei
See the most recent reviews
Showing 215: English reviews
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 17 March 2015

We stayed only 1 night and while there was no air conditioning, and cigarette smoke drifted in from the balcony, it was clean, the bed was comfortable, it was quiet. Good location for those passing through or business travellers.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Raelene S
DiscoverySettlers, General Manager at Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei, responded to this review

Hi Raelene, Sorry about the smokers, please inform reception as the balcony is a non-smoking area. Glad you enjoyed the comfortable bed and location of the hotel. Rgds Chris

Reviewed 9 February 2015

Friendly and very accomodating staff. Close to all the shops and town. Very clean. Peaceful location. No complaints. Only thing I didnt try was the restaurant. (no time) Would definitely return with the family.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lily L
DiscoverySettlers, General Manager at Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei, responded to this review

Hi Lily, Thank you for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again. Rgds Chris

Dargaville, New Zealand
Reviewed 29 January 2015

Well worth the money. 2 people for 2 nights in room including dinner & breakfast + late check out on Summer Package deal for $300-upgraded to premium room for another $20. Breakfast was anything from the menu (awesome variety) & dinner was 3selection of burgers(huge), fries & beverage- anything different just pay the difference between prices. Room was lovely &...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kiri W
DiscoverySettlers, General Manager at Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei, responded to this review

Hi Kiri, Thank you for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again. Rgds Chris

Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
Reviewed 22 January 2015

Like reviewer Linda9696 I had #51 & was a little surprised by it's size. The room & bathroom were spotless on arrival. The bed very comfortable. As hook for my toilet kit would be a welcome addition to the bathroom. Don't know how the ladies would manage with the lack of counter space in the bathroom. Not all Sky channels...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
DiscoverySettlers, General Manager at Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei, responded to this review

Hi Chris, Thank you for your comments, we are glad you enjoyed your stay. The standard rooms are our smallest rooms, but we do have larger rooms available to book on our website. Please contact reception if any of the TV channels are not working, as we do not know this unless we are told. Fans are also available at...

Phuket, Thailand
Reviewed 13 January 2015

Our room was really clean and nicely decorated. There were a few things that weren't so good. The night we stayed was hot and stuffy and the air con was totally useless. The service wasn't the best, at 10pm I rang reception to ask for an extra towel as they only give one per person so there are no extra...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank caw83
DiscoverySettlers, General Manager at Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei, responded to this review

Hi caw83, We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We do not have air con and the rooms do get hot sometimes but we do have fans available if needed. Reception does close at 10pm and after that after that it goes to a night service. Rgds Chris

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 January 2015

We walked into room 51 and thought, oh my gosh, what a small room and small bed (only a double size). I didn't think hotels had beds this small anymore!!! Had we have been staying for more than one night, we would have asked for a room with a larger bed. The bathroom basin is set into a recess with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Linda9696
DiscoverySettlers, General Manager at Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei, responded to this review

Hi Linda, We do have rooms with queen or king beds available, so please do ask next time you are here. The sheer curtains are a great idea for these rooms. Rgds Chris

Gisborne, New Zealand
Reviewed 27 December 2014

This was really only a one night stop over for us on our journey to Paihia. The room was really fresh and tidy and great value. The hotel has a restaurant and bar and overall a great place to stop for the night.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dusty256
DiscoverySettlers, General Manager at Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei, responded to this review

Hi Dusty256, Thank you for your comments about your visit to Whangarei and we are glad you enjoyed your stay at Discovery Settlers Hotel. Rgds Chris

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 20 December 2014

This is a good base in Whangarei with comfortable rooms and friendly service. My check in was smooth and the team were extremely capable. Breakfast is very good and the town is close although probably not walking distance if you aren't too mobile. The room was clean and well serviced each day, there is a pool and other standard amenities....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah E
DiscoverySettlers, General Manager at Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei, responded to this review

Hi Sarah E, I am happy too see you enjoyed your stay at Discovery Settlers Whangarei, and we had all the amenities that hotels have to offer. Rgds Chris

Medan
Reviewed 18 December 2014

I was stayed early of this year for 2 nights. Worthy money value. The hotel a bit far from city but its nice place. I love n enjoy walk along the street from city to hotel. Many people sell fresh fruit, strawberry, plum n etc. Try the breakfast from the cafe, so great taste. Will love to comeback again with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 134evatan
DiscoverySettlers, General Manager at Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei, responded to this review

Hi 134evatan, Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at Discovery Settlers in Whangarei. We are happy you had a good breakfast with us to start your day. We look forward to seeing you again if you ever come back to Whangarei. Rgds Chris

Auckland
Reviewed 7 December 2014

We stayed 1 night in the comfort room on a Saturday night, and paid $129. This was excellent value as it included a buffet breakfast. The hotel has a lovely setting and is about 10 minutes walk to the town basin. We received a warm welcome, the receptionist on duty (Nov 29) was helpful with advice. Our room was at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NZTourists
DiscoverySettlers, General Manager at Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei, responded to this review

Hi NZTourist, It will be great to welcome you back to Discovery Settlers Hotel next time you are in Whangarei. It is always good to hear that guests enjoyed their stay and we were able to offer you a good breakfast to get your day underway. We are always looking to improve where we can, so thank you for your...

51 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Discovery Settlers Hotel, perfectly positioned colonial style hotel with its in-house restaurant and bar, nestled in beautiful park like surrounds,a short stroll from the hotel will lead you along the riverside, down to the town basin; where the Whangarei marina bursts with international flavour. An assortment of colourful shops, and galleries can be found in this area. A short drive away lie the Whangarei Falls, a breathtaking waterfall and bushwalk in a beautiful native bush setting. Another 20 minutes on you will find yourself in the world-famous Tutukaka Harbour, gateway to the Poor Knights Islands. These Islands offer the most spectacular diving and snorkeling in New Zealand; with stunning underwater topography and a cornucopia colourful life. Dozens of white sand beaches, romantic paradise, or fun family getaway. These are just a few attractions Whangarei has to offer whether it's business, pleasure, domestic or international. Discovery Settlers is the place to stay in Whangarei. We look forward to hosting you. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei

Address: 61 Hatea Drive, Whangarei 0112, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Whangarei
Price Range: $103 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Swansea S.Wales
5 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Select one of the middle rooms as more space.”
alig6336, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Try to get a room further from the road to reduce the noise.”
shaunc829, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“ground floor rooms presently much tireder than upstairs”
Colorchap, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“next time going for next level of accommodation ”
F4946DSyvonnec, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay when the hockey finals are on”
277MarkM277, 17 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5