We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Dusky Lodge & Backpackers

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Dusky Lodge & Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

175 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 153: English reviews
Start your review of Dusky Lodge & Backpackers
 Click to rate
Zeewolde, The Netherlands
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

If you look at what they over its great. Free and fast Wi-Fi, check Pool, check (murky water) Spa, check (out of order) Huge kitchens. Yes, but some of the guests didn’t clean there mess up after cooking and or eating. Staff did their best… Sunchairs, check (when we were there we lacked sun. Rooms are small Rooms are clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank erikdefotograaf
Bournemouth
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Sadly the earthquake last year has had a huge impact on Kaikoura with only one way in and out due to the road from Picton being shut the entire village is so quiet. This place is probably running at quarter capacity which is such a shame, the staff are friendly and helpful, the kitchens are huge and the rooms with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FunkyMarshmallow
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

Free and fast wifi, pool, spa, huge kitchens, BBQ, sun chairs and super staff! Dusky Lodge is a stellar example of what a backpackers should be! Plus it is clean and well maintained by caring staff, and that my friend, makes all the difference! Awesome stay! Thanks again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robin_Laura
HildeTBG, Manager at Dusky Lodge & Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your awesome review Robin and Laura, much appreciated! All the best for your trip!

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Good sleep, ok location (i.e. Short Walk into town). Basic but comfortable rooms with your own bathroom, nice pool & jacuzzi. Staff were lovely and very helpful. Do the costal walk if you can, stunning views. Whale watching was booked up very far in advance due to the earthquake (and road north is closed) but the walk itself made everything...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
HildeTBG, Manager at Dusky Lodge & Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review! Glad you enjoyed your stay and beautiful Kaikoura. Hope you come back sometime to experience the Whale Watching. Safe travels and thanks again!

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good cleanish en suite room. Communal kitchen facilities .good views. The pool looks good but was full of screaming, dive bombing local kids so we didn't use it. Wifi good but TVs unwatchable as reception is so poor. No air con. You have to draw the curtains to get privacy in the rooms so no natural light. No servicing.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jancrow4
HildeTBG, Manager at Dusky Lodge & Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your review about our Budget Double Ensuite. Great to hear you have enjoyed our facilities and stunning views. Since the earthquake last November the council pool in Kaikoura has been closed and that's why we have opened our pool for the Kaikoura locals so the children had a place to swim during their school holidays. This is...

Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewed 14 January 2017 via mobile

Its a nice good value for money hostel. Easy Check in. Pool, hot Tube, big kitchen. Hot Tube could be a little bit cleaner. Showers are simple but will do the Job. The kitchen ist big and there is a bbq outside

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PhisW
HildeTBG, Manager at Dusky Lodge & Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. Glad you enjoyed all the facilities. We do monitor our pool and hot spa daily, I will double check the cleanliness. Thanks again and safe travels!

Reviewed 3 January 2017

Excellent value for money. Friendly staff, great facilities and good location. Most impressed. Unlimited free wifi, heated pool and spa. Cafe on site (great home made pies), and everything you need for an inexpensive stay. Highly recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trimflat
HildeTBG, Manager at Dusky Lodge & Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We have been working hard to re-open after the earthquake last November. Glad you got to enjoy all our free facilities. Thank you for visiting Kaikoura and thanks again for reviewing us.

Darlington
Reviewed 13 November 2016

We stayed for one night at the Dusky Lodge in a private twin room (bunk beds) but shared loos. The reception staff were very helpful (provided an extra pillow and even put the heater on for us in our bedroom as it was a cold night). We used the main kitchen (near to the reception area) which was a bit...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mikeedeedee
HildeTBG, Manager at Dusky Lodge & Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We do have our regular kitchen checks and tidy it up through out the day, on top of our cleaning hours in the morning. Some days we are unlucky to have too many guests not cleaning up after themselves, sorry to hear this was the case during your stay. Luckily we...

Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

My daughter stayed here previously and gave it a good rating. Alas this was not to be our experience at all as standards have dropped considerably... Dirty bathroom in need of up grading, the kitchen was a mess, cobwebs on the inside of our bedroom window, spa pool lukewarm at best! Will not be returning and certainly don't recommend!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lisatF8418GT
Belinda H, Owner at Dusky Lodge & Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us and let us know your thoughts. I am sorry to hear the accommodation was not up to your standard compared to the previous visit which you did rate us so highly. We will be reviewing all that you have mentioned.

Reviewed 6 October 2016 via mobile

Currently staying at the backpackers and having a blast, really chill out the staff and other backpackers are great, a great stay for kaikoura! Close to the town and the hot tub is sweet. If I come back here on my travels I will stay here again, plus the wifi is really good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martin W
Belinda H, Owner at Dusky Lodge & Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for your great review.

34 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
1.7 km away
The White Morph Heritage Boutique Collection
0.1 km away
Alpine-Pacific Holiday Park
0.1 km away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Bad Jelly Backpackers
Bad Jelly Backpackers
#12 of 36 in Kaikoura
45 reviews
1.4 km away
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura
2.1 km away
Kaikoura Cottage Motels
Kaikoura Cottage Motels
#2 of 36 in Kaikoura
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Dusky Lodge & Backpackers is situated on Beach road, Kaikoura. We are the largest hostel in Kaikoura catering for groups and budget travellers. We offer a clean homely environment with bunk rooms, doubles, twins, ensuite rooms and heating in all rooms. All bed linen and pillows are provided. There are 3 large kitchen's fully equipped as well as BBQ's on the decks free to use. We have a large heated salt water pool, spa and sauna to enjoy while staying with us. Guest computers are available and the wifi can be used throughout the building. The hostel is only 5 minute walk to the town centre, and across the road from Whale Watchers. The best bakery in town is situated right beside us and grocery stores only minutes away. The intercity bus can drop you off outside the hostel, ask the driver when you start your journey. We have plenty of parking space and it's free to use. Luggage storage short term is available, if needed ask at reception. Dusky Lodge & Backpackers is a great place to relax, unwind and take in the great views and spectacular sunsets from our extensive decks. Our friendly team can help book tours or give you advice on what to do while you are with us. We hope to see you soon. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Dusky Lodge & Backpackers

Address: 67 Beach Road, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Price Range: $51 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Dusky Lodge & Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Dusky Lodge & Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Dusky Lodge & Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“No groundfloor room in the back!”
 of 5 bubbles erikdefotograaf, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“do not get the indoor facing rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles chchchr15, 29 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from the road”
 of 5 bubbles VascoItaly, 14 Feb 2016 | Read review
“go to the lodge across the street”
 of 5 bubbles sailawade, 26 Dec 2015 | Read review
“There are loads of cheap backpackers here try somewhere else.”
 of 5 bubbles 76jaynew, 16 Mar 2015 | Read review
5 of 5