We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Dusky Lodge & Backpackers

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Dusky Lodge & Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

170 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 148: English reviews
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Its a nice good value for money hostel. Easy Check in. Pool, hot Tube, big kitchen. Hot Tube could be a little bit cleaner. Showers are simple but will do the Job. The kitchen ist big and there is a bbq outside

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PhisW
HildeTBG, Manager at Dusky Lodge & Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. Glad you enjoyed all the facilities. We do monitor our pool and hot spa daily, I will double check the cleanliness. Thanks again and safe travels!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Excellent value for money. Friendly staff, great facilities and good location. Most impressed. Unlimited free wifi, heated pool and spa. Cafe on site (great home made pies), and everything you need for an inexpensive stay. Highly recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trimflat
HildeTBG, Manager at Dusky Lodge & Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We have been working hard to re-open after the earthquake last November. Glad you got to enjoy all our free facilities. Thank you for visiting Kaikoura and thanks again for reviewing us.

Darlington
Reviewed 13 November 2016

We stayed for one night at the Dusky Lodge in a private twin room (bunk beds) but shared loos. The reception staff were very helpful (provided an extra pillow and even put the heater on for us in our bedroom as it was a cold night). We used the main kitchen (near to the reception area) which was a bit...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mikeedeedee
HildeTBG, Manager at Dusky Lodge & Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We do have our regular kitchen checks and tidy it up through out the day, on top of our cleaning hours in the morning. Some days we are unlucky to have too many guests not cleaning up after themselves, sorry to hear this was the case during your stay. Luckily we...

Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

My daughter stayed here previously and gave it a good rating. Alas this was not to be our experience at all as standards have dropped considerably... Dirty bathroom in need of up grading, the kitchen was a mess, cobwebs on the inside of our bedroom window, spa pool lukewarm at best! Will not be returning and certainly don't recommend!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lisatF8418GT
Belinda H, Owner at Dusky Lodge & Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us and let us know your thoughts. I am sorry to hear the accommodation was not up to your standard compared to the previous visit which you did rate us so highly. We will be reviewing all that you have mentioned.

Reviewed 6 October 2016 via mobile

Currently staying at the backpackers and having a blast, really chill out the staff and other backpackers are great, a great stay for kaikoura! Close to the town and the hot tub is sweet. If I come back here on my travels I will stay here again, plus the wifi is really good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martin W
Belinda H, Owner at Dusky Lodge & Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for your great review.

Helsinki, Finland
Reviewed 28 September 2016

Stayed couple of nights in Dusky Lodge in a private double room. The rooms were ok, but Wifi didn't work. There was a sauna and spa pool, but neither was in use and we were really hoping to use them. Staff was helpfull and people in the common areas very nice.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mindei
Belinda H, Owner at Dusky Lodge & Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. So sorry about the spa it was broken but now up and running again. We do not have the sauna anymore and is not being advertised. Our wifi has been a bit patchy but we have now solved that issue with extra big routers. If you are ever back in Kaikoura I would like to offer...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 September 2016

clean comfortable hostel in a good location with great views. Kaikoura is the sort of place where you want to stay longer and this is a good value hostel with plenty of extra features (fires, pool, hot tub, spacious communal areas) to allow you to do that....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bpsophie2016
Belinda H, Owner at Dusky Lodge & Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for your great review, all the best with your trip.

Reviewed 19 September 2016

We booked a private double room, and the room was clean enough. Bed was terrible, very uncomfortable and squeaky and left us both with back aches. The shower head was terrible, with one direct stream of water and no temperature control. The common rooms were well furnished, but the staff were obnoxiously loud and rude, dominating the space and making...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jasmin P
Belinda H, Owner at Dusky Lodge & Backpackers, responded to this review

Your review is very important to us, we do appreciate your thoughts, I am sorry you did you not enjoy your stay, plumber booked to fix the shower and we will look at the bed. All the best with the rest of your trip.

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

We only stayed one night in this hostel, and didn't spend too much time there as we were out a lot, but it was a reasonable hostel. The double room was quite small and the window looked out onto a main road, but it was warm and the wifi was good. Bathrooms were standard hostel fare, nothing spectacular but not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank efhap31
Belinda H, Owner at Dusky Lodge & Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for the review.

Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night. Lots of WFAs and workers in this hostel but they are all very friendly and happy to chill out and chat with you. Hot tub is a nice addition Which I made use of. They are free tea and coffee and free wifi. My only concern is that is was rather far from town at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vicky_212013
Belinda H, Owner at Dusky Lodge & Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for your great review, we will get some umbrellas for anyone that wants to walk into town in the rain.

34 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
2.0 km away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#3 of 20 in Kaikoura
336 reviews
1.9 km away
Mediterranean Motel Kaikoura
1.6 km away
Kaikoura Apartments
Kaikoura Apartments
#5 of 20 in Kaikoura
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Alpine-Pacific Holiday Park
0.1 km away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
1.0 km away
Quality Suites Kaikoura
Quality Suites Kaikoura
#1 of 20 in Kaikoura
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Dusky Lodge & Backpackers is situated on Beach road, Kaikoura. We are the largest hostel in Kaikoura catering for groups and budget travellers. We offer a clean homely environment with bunk rooms, doubles, twins, ensuite rooms and heating in all rooms. All bed linen and pillows are provided. There are 3 large kitchen's fully equipped as well as BBQ's on the decks free to use. We have a large heated salt water pool, spa and sauna to enjoy while staying with us. Guest computers are available and the wifi can be used throughout the building. The hostel is only 5 minute walk to the town centre, and across the road from Whale Watchers. The best bakery in town is situated right beside us and grocery stores only minutes away. The intercity bus can drop you off outside the hostel, ask the driver when you start your journey. We have plenty of parking space and it's free to use. Luggage storage short term is available, if needed ask at reception. Dusky Lodge & Backpackers is a great place to relax, unwind and take in the great views and spectacular sunsets from our extensive decks. Our friendly team can help book tours or give you advice on what to do while you are with us. We hope to see you soon. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Dusky Lodge & Backpackers

Address: 67 Beach Road, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Price Range: $50 - $63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Dusky Lodge & Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and HostelWorld so you can book your Dusky Lodge & Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Dusky Lodge & Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“do not get the indoor facing rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles chchchr15, 29 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from the road”
 of 5 bubbles VascoItaly, 14 Feb 2016 | Read review
“go to the lodge across the street”
 of 5 bubbles sailawade, 26 Dec 2015 | Read review
“There are loads of cheap backpackers here try somewhere else.”
 of 5 bubbles 76jaynew, 16 Mar 2015 | Read review
“Stay in the front rooms on the first floor away from the common areas, it is better.”
 of 5 bubbles fab992014, 5 Mar 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay