We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Grande Auckland Airport

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Grande Auckland Airport
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

118 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 114: English reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The rooms were clean but internet did not work, check in and out were slow. More expensive options near airport are better value for money. Is being renovated so may give a second chance if room rates don't increase after renovations are completed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sam R
Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

At $285 for a couple for the night for an "upgraded" 4 star room, it was the biggest ripoff EVER! Yes, renovations we're underway! Yes, staff was friendly... BUT NO breakfast included, NO "grande" room... even a budget hotel is better, NO quality mattress... felt every spring! NO mini bar, fridge had water & milk, And there was more! Very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew T
New Zealand
Reviewed 14 October 2016

Staff were great - happy to assist in all matters - a real credit to this hotel is their staff. Room was a little on the shabby side but clean and well presented. Good wifi. Look forward to staying again once renovations have been done. Was not of aware of renos when made booking as had plans to host local...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank expatkiwiwairoa
NaumiHospitality, Manager at Hotel Grande Auckland Airport, responded to this review

Dear expatkiwiwairoa Thanks for sharing the wonderful feedback after your recent stay at the hotel. I’m glad that our team provided you with great service during your visit. I was delighted to share your comments with them. Thanks once again for your feedback and we look forward to your next visit. Kind regards, Andy Lee Rooms Division Manager

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 12 October 2016

Hotel Grande is going through renovations and the location is not great if you want to go to the city and you do not have a car. But I am impressed by the warmth, friendliness and kindness from the staff, especially the reception staff. Tavita and Kevin were so nice and accommodating , and that makes you feel as if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Isela N
NaumiHospitality, Manager at Hotel Grande Auckland Airport, responded to this review

Dear Isela N Thanks for sharing the wonderful feedback after your recent stay at the hotel. I’m glad that our team provided you with great service during your visit. I was delighted to share your comments with them. Thanks once again for your feedback and we look forward to your next visit. Kind regards, Andy Lee Rooms Division Manager

Reviewed 29 September 2016 via mobile

The hotel looks like one big construction site. No proper enterance or even turned the sign on. No elevator and reception is in the dining room. Then you have to walk right around a maze of corridors and closed fire doors to find your room. The rooms remind me of uni dorm rooms with breeze block walls and dated furniture....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah T
NaumiHospitality, Manager at Hotel Grande Auckland Airport, responded to this review

Dear Sarah T Thanks for the feedback following your recent visit to the Hotel. We are sorry that we didn’t meet your expectations on this occasion, however we are pleased that you noted that our staff were friendly. We are currently carrying out a significant refurbishment of the hotel. We are very excited by the wonderful changes coming. I hope...

Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

The hotel is under renovation. The rooms need a make over they look old and smelly. The heating did not work.The reception staff was very good during check in and check out. The breakfast room service was very good.There is shuttle bus service to and from the airport. This is a good hotel for a short stay between flights.The television...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SE s
NaumiHospitality, Manager at Hotel Grande Auckland Airport, responded to this review

Dear SE s Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. We are sorry that not everything was quite perfect on this occasion especially with the heating and the television, so your comments have been passed on to the hotel maintenance team. However we are pleased that you noted that our staff at reception was good and the breakfast...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

This hotel has good access to the airport with the yellow bus starting here. Unfortunately it is very "worn out". The beds, sheeting, rooms all need to improve. It does seem that work has commenced with main entrance now closed and entry at the side through the car park. A problem with housekeeping in the room was quickly fixed, the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank netta105
NaumiHospitality, Manager at Hotel Grande Auckland Airport, responded to this review

Dear netta105 Thanks for your valuable feedback. We are sorry to hear that you did not like some of the aspects; however we are pleased that you enjoyed the location of the hotel. With current refurbishment, the hotel will significantly enhance the experience for our valued guests while maintaining the outstanding customer service and individual attention. The current stage of...

Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

Was on a business trip with three other colleagues and were told this was the hotel we were staying at. $5 for parking per day and $50 deposit for each room was what we first encounter. $7 for my side of "seasonal summer salad" which was with no word of a lie a bowl of lettuce with three mushy cubes...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Natasha W
Paihia, New Zealand
Reviewed 8 September 2016

We stayed there for a night before a flight out of New Zealand. The cost for the short shuttle to the airport was an extra $6 per person. Our ground floor room opened to a terrace that connected to an established garden. All rooms are arranged around this garden, and therefore there is no traffic noise. The 2 double beds...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TeHaumi
NaumiHospitality, Manager at Hotel Grande Auckland Airport, responded to this review

Dear TeHaumi, Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback following your recent stay. We have noted the points you raised and I have taken this up with our Maintenance and the renovation team so they will be resolving this. As you can see, we are currently carrying out a significant refurbishment of the hotel. We are very excited by...

Greater Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 September 2016

How photos can be deceptive. Got here to find it under renovations after taking a shuttle from the airport at a cost of $6 each person!! After what seemed like a 1 km walk we got to our room which smelt very musty, the bathroom stunk. The sheets are threadbare on both beds and found hair on our pillow from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scottym1966
NaumiHospitality, Manager at Hotel Grande Auckland Airport, responded to this review

Dear Scottym1966 Thanks for taking the time to write a review of our hotel after your recent stay. I was very sorry to hear about your experience during your stay with us. We regret the inconvenience and disappointment this may have caused you. We have noted and taken action to remedy the points you raised, most especially with the Housekeeping...

80 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (62)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mangere hotels
0.9 km away
Jet Park Hotel & Conference Centre
3.0 km away
Ibis Budget Auckland Airport
0.2 km away
Holiday Inn Auckland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport
1.5 km away
Sudima Auckland Airport Hotel
3.6 km away
Novotel Auckland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Grande Auckland Airport is conveniently located within a five minute drive from the international and domestic airports at Auckland, and yet only 17 kilometres from Auckland City. The hotel provides 193 well-appointed guest rooms as well as a gym and outdoor pool. Places Cafe is open for all-day dining from 6am to 10pm daily with full buffet breakfast and ala carte services throughout the day. Car parking is available at a cost of $5.00 per day. The hotel has an airport shuttle service which runs daily between the hotel and both airport terminals with $6.00 per adult per trip and complimentary for children under 12 years old. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Grande Auckland Airport

Address: Corner of Kirkbride & Ascot Roads | Auckland, Mangere 2150, New Zealand (Formerly Hotel Grand Chancellor Auckland Airport)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Mangere
Price Range: $158 - $385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Grande Auckland Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Grande Auckland Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Chancellor Auckland Airport Hotel
Hotel Grande Auckland Airport Mangere
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Grande Auckland Airport staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Whangarei, New Zealand

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Grande Auckland Airport staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms in the ground floor have direct garden access.”
 of 5 bubbles TeHaumi, 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Stay elsewhere”
 of 5 bubbles Scottym1966, 3 Sep 2016 | Read review
“If you have heavy luggage ask for the ground floor.”
 of 5 bubbles AngeDu, 9 Jul 2016 | Read review
“up stairs rooms on the western side are good and quiet”
 of 5 bubbles v12daimler, 30 May 2016 | Read review
“Get room away from road - avoid traffic noise”
 of 5 bubbles BrianNz, 10 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay