We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments

Show Prices
#8 of 42 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

842 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Showing 782: English reviews
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 22 November 2014

Very agreeable accommodation. Spacious rooms. We liked the Cotswold village like complex. Pleasant friendly staff. Location is not handy to town but very nice when tide is in. Dining was very acceptable

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kevin O
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, Front Office Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Kevin O Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay with us at The Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and I am pleased to read that you liked the old world charm that we have created. We are located en route to the beautiful Abel Tasman...

Reviewed 15 November 2014

We are visiting Nelson for a long weekend (a couple), on our first night we decided to dine in the Honest Lawyer which is opposite the Monaco resort. An ok pub good atmosphere BUT no craft beer, the food was ok but well above Auckland prices so we found it expensive for what we got. On our 2nd night we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank russell o
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, Front Office Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this review

Dear russell o Thank you very much for sharing your lovely review of the Monaco Kitchen with your fellow travellers. We are delighted to read that you had such a fantastic dining experience with us, two nights in a row. Although the Monaco Kitchen is situated at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Hotel, we have definitely tried to move away...

San Diego, California
Reviewed 14 November 2014

When you first arrive at the Monaco Apartments, you could easily be fooled into thinking you are in an English neighborhood. The architecture and layout are completely reminiscent of a small English village complete with ivy growing off the terraces. Reception is in a low ceiling, fireplace warmed building that feels like it has been there for centuries. The staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 2W3
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, Front Office Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this review

Dear 2W3 Thank you very much for taking the time share, in such detail, your stay with us at The Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco. I am so pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay and that you found your accommodation, in one of our One Bedroom Cottages with spa, to be worth the price, they certainly are lovely...

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 12 November 2014

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank preedheep
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this review

Bulli, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 10 November 2014

Gorgeous surroundings, quaint cosy rooms, beautiful gardens - in fact an English guest staying said "the English roses were better than back in England." All amenities were good . Had a beautiful view to distant snow capped mountains.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Viviennejean
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Viviennejean, Thank you very much for the amazing score. The whole team was truly thankful to achieve such a great reveiw and our groundskeeper, Kay, certainly agrees her roses are better! Thank you again, and we hope to welcome you back soon to the hotel. Dan McKeown Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 10 November 2014

We booked on the phone but the restaurant was hard to find as the ad in the tourist brochure didn't say it was part of the Grand Mercure hotel. The photo also shows the restaurant surrounded by water and we (wrongly) assumed it was beach front. Actually it has a moat around the restaurant and is very pretty. The beach...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lesley E
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Lesley E, Thank you to take the time to write a review. We have launched a new restaurant in June, The Monaco Kitchen, which now replaces the Orangerie Restaurant. We certainly had some amazing reviews about the style and the quality of food. The restaurant team was happy to read that the service that you received was friendly and...

Geelong, Australia
Reviewed 6 November 2014

We arrived late from Sydney due to flight delays and missing luggage. The staff couldn't have been more helpful, even to the point of arranging a food and drinks platter for our group from the closed restaurant; it was after 9 so the nightlife had closed down in Nelson. The hotel rooms were small (watch your head) but cosy with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David W
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this review

Dear David W, We are delighted that you found the staff very helpful after your flight delays and missing luggage. We really hope that your trip back to Australia was a little less demanding. We were privileged to host you in Nelson, and we really hope that we can welcome you back to the region and the hotel soon. Dan...

Southbridge Town District, null, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 November 2014

Booked for our anniversary weekend, lovely cottage style rooms with a spa bath. Warm and toasty, great staff and a really great value restaurant. Loved it and will be back again, keeping an eye out for special deals!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carmen W
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Carmen W, Thank you for chossing us for your anniversay weekend and thank you again for such an amazing review. We are really happy that you loved the restuarnat and found it value for money. Keep that eye open for those deals as we would love to welcome you back! Dan McKeown Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 24 October 2014

We stayed in a hotel room for the first 2 nights and then swapped to a 1 bedroom unit for the next 3 nights. The hotel room is TINY! you can hardly fit your luggage in the room and shut the door. There is coffee and tea with a kettle, but nowhere to make it! Check in was terrible. First...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Krista S
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Krista S, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apts and we are very sorry that you did not love your stay. We have reviewed your comments regarding the check in, and have retrained the reception team to ensure this experience is consistent for all our valued guests....

Nelson, New Zealand
Reviewed 22 October 2014

We used the Hotel room to get ready for my wedding and on our wedding night. Wanted to book one bedroom but due to other weddings where all booked. The room was very tidy and clean with a comfy bed but was very small. The bathroom was almost half the size of the room. Also did not like the set...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank owlesey
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this review

Dear owlesey, Thank you very much for your review. It is true that our one and two bedroom cottages fill up very quickly, due their large size and facilities. The whole team was delighted to read your comments and we hope that you enjoyed your wedding day. Thank you again, and we hope to welcome you back soon to the...

252 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (239)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (62)
Viewed
Room/Suite (50)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (21)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (80)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
6.9 km away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 42 in Nelson
623 reviews
6.8 km away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
5.9 km away
Century Park Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 km away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#7 of 42 in Nelson
437 reviews
6.0 km away
Palazzo Motor Lodge
Palazzo Motor Lodge
#5 of 42 in Nelson
520 reviews
6.1 km away
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
#13 of 42 in Nelson
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Spa
  • Golf Course
  • Tennis Court
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco offers luxury boutique accommodation by the water in Nelson, New Zealand. Located only about five minutes' drive from Nelson Airport and 15 minutes drive to the city centre. Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco offers well-appointed accommodation for up to 215 guests in boutique hotel rooms, along with a range of self-contained apartment accommodation including one-bedroom studios, one-bedroom spa cottages and two-bedroom cottages. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments

Address: 6 Point Road | Monaco, Nelson 7011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Price Range: $102 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda and ACCOR so you can book your Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments Hotel Richmond
Grand Accor Nelson Monaco
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Nelson
#3 Family Hotel in Nelson
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nelson
#6 Business Hotel in Nelson
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nelson
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
2 months ago
Auckland, New Zealand

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I think all the rooms are the same.”
 of 5 bubbles avenue12016, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from the main driveway, and away from the motorway noise.”
 of 5 bubbles Carolg67, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“the chalet accommodation provides kitchens for the more independent minded”
 of 5 bubbles D6394PDjohng, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Very near the Nelson airport”
 of 5 bubbles KY28, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Larger room than i had?”
 of 5 bubbles stephenaH5280RQ, 14 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5