We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Quality Inn Nelson

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Quality Inn Nelson
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

47 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 46: English reviews
New Delhi, India
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed one night in a three bed room with a kitchenette. The room was excellent, clean and good sized. Do not understand though how can they have only two chairs in a room for three people. Although well loacted, the motel is a bit too far from the city centre to walk, you will need a car. We were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank utas2010
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Having travelled the rugged West coast of New Zealand on the route 6 from Fox Glacier to Greymouth and then on to Nelson the Quality Inn was just perfect to rest in our self catering apartment and get our laundry done in excellent facilities.I took the opportunity to have a swim in the outdoor pool which was very welcome. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 553meb
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Nothing wrong with this hotel on the surface. Ok, its a little out of town (10 min walk) but the price is very fair. The roadside rooms may be noisy but the rear ones are fine. The room was acceptable and parking is good. However they hire overseas backpackers as staff and they do not seem to care. Our welcome...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pablo266
QINelson, Manager at Quality Inn Nelson, responded to this review

Hello Pablo266, thank you for your review, and once again please accept our apology for not passing on the pack that your tour company had dropped of to us for delivery when you checked in. We are very happy to represent the Abel Tasman tour companies by greeting their guests and handing out paperwork they leave with us but unfortunately...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We were welcomed pleasantly and given bottles of water on arrival and departure. Our unit was modern and had an air conditioner which came in handy. The bedrooms were roomy and the beds were comfortable. The shower and bathroom were very modern. The shower was a bit of a challenge to get right and resulted in a few gasps of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank christinekw2017
QINelson, Manager at Quality Inn Nelson, responded to this review

Thank you your providing us with feedback on your stay with us. All areas you have raised above we have now addressed, our laundry team have been moved to another area, the kitchen vanity is now being priced for replacement, the bread board gone and a new one in its place. Thank you for your lovely feedback on our friendly...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Well spaced and laid out rooms with great facilities to enable you to cook if need be. Very clean too. The staff were very professional and friendly and it's a short walk into Nelson city centre. We didn't use any other facilities but there is a restaurant/ Bar along with swimming pool if required. Thank you so much for accommodating...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michelle D
QINelson, Manager at Quality Inn Nelson, responded to this review

Congratulations on your 10th Anniversary and thank you for selecting to stay with us to celebrate. We are very pleased to read you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to welcoming you back one day to try our other facilities. Kind regards Kim, Warren and the team at Quality Inn Nelson

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The free wifi has hijacked my home page. How can I fix this? I have a Samsung Galaxy 6. Kids liked the pool and rooms were very clean. Decent sized too. Otherwise the hotel was fine with helpful staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nerissa K
QINelson, Manager at Quality Inn Nelson, responded to this review

Hello Nerissa, Gosh sorry to hear you have a problem with your our wifi hijacking your phone - if you can contact me direct on enquiries@qualityinnnelson.co.nz we can rectify this. Otherwise we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. Kind regards Kim, Warren and the team at Quality Inn Nelson

Dunedin, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

Friendly and helpful staff at the Quality Inn was a great introduction to this Motel. The rooms were kept tidy and in general the rooms were of good quality. A pity about the renovations and the roadworks at the time of my stay but the disruption and noise was fairly minimal.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank OtagoKen
QINelson, Manager at Quality Inn Nelson, responded to this review

Thank you OtagoKen for your review, we are pleased to confirm the roadworks and renovations (installation of air conditioning units) are well and truly finished and it is all back to normal here - These were timed for winter being our quieter months. It was lovely to read our staff offered a great welcome to you too. Kind regards Manager...

Invercargill, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I stayed at this same hotel mid last year and to be honest it was decidedly average especially the restaurant. I was disappointed to find out I was booked to stay again. The first night I arrived I almost regrettably decided to dine in the restaurant. On my last stay the food and service was decidedly average. Wow what a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RodgerDawson
QINelson, Manager at Quality Inn Nelson, responded to this review

Thank you RodgerDawson for your lovely review and thank you for giving us a second chance. we are constantly striving to improve what we offer to our guests to ensure the have a great experience when they stay with us - and I agree we have a great team who deliver this. we look forward to welcoming you back one...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for two nights on separate occasions and both were great. This is a no frills motel and not a luxury stay which was perfect for us when transiting through Nelson to other places. The main thing is that the place was cleaned to a high standard. And that alone is worth every penny especially when you pay so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nothappy87
QINelson, Manager at Quality Inn Nelson, responded to this review

Hello Nothappy87, thank you for such a lovely review - we are pleased you had a good night sleep before continuing on your South Island Adventures Kind regards Manager Quality Inn Nelson

Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed here on Dec 23rd for a night on our way to Picton from Christchurch. It was a quick stopover and this property was ideal for our purposes. The room was small but well appointed. We didn't use the other services but they were plentiful. The location is really central for the City, an easy walk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rob H
QINelson, Manager at Quality Inn Nelson, responded to this review

Thank you Rob H for selecting us on your quick stop over between Picton and Christchurch. We were pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope one day you return to explore Nelson for longer instead of a stopover. Kind regards Manager Quality Inn Nelson

36 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
1.5 km away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#7 of 42 in Nelson
424 reviews
1.6 km away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
0.4 km away
Century Park Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Palazzo Motor Lodge
Palazzo Motor Lodge
#5 of 42 in Nelson
517 reviews
1.8 km away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 42 in Nelson
614 reviews
0.7 km away
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
#13 of 42 in Nelson
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Quality Inn Nelson is located a short stroll from the Nelson Saturday Market, business, shopping and entertainment precinct of central Nelson. We offer a selection of studio, superior units and fully self contained apartments - offering a variety of rooms to suit your needs whether travelling for business or leisure. To compliment our accommodation we also offer our on site restaurant - Flames on 40 - an ideal place to enjoy breakfast, dinner or a drink after a days work or exploring. Conference facilities and / or a private dining room are also on site for your business needs. UNDER NEW MANAGEMENT as from 14 September 2015 ... more   less 

Additional Information about Quality Inn Nelson

Address: 40 Waimea Road, Nelson 7010, New Zealand (Formerly Leisure Lodge)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Price Range: $110 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Inn Nelson 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Quality Inn Nelson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leisure Hotel Nelson
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Nelson
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Quality Inn Nelson staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Make sure you do not get a room facing east!”
 of 5 bubbles utas2010, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rear rooms are better”
 of 5 bubbles Pablo266, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask to be upstairs away from the main thoroughfare. Our room was very noisy and lacked some privacy.”
 of 5 bubbles christinekw2017, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Very quiet away from the road, not sure about the front units”
 of 5 bubbles granthackett, 23 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Choose a superior room on the first floor.”
 of 5 bubbles , 22 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay