We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Palms Nelson

Show Prices
#13 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Palms Nelson
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

164 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Palms Nelson
See the most recent reviews
Showing 158: English reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2016

Very clean and tidy unit with plenty of space, very comfortable. Staff were very helpful, we arrived late and 9pm and it wasn't a bother. Motel is very handy to central Nelson and has a supermarket across the road, close to the river side running / walking track for that all important exercise. Will def stay there again. Motel has...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sandmaitken
Palmsmotel5, Manager at Palms Nelson, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your review Sandmaitken. So pleased that you found everything to your satisfaction, hope to see you again in the near future.

Havelock, New Zealand
Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

We had a great stay, clean well appointed rooms. 3 GB of wifi data each meaning no chance of running out. Central to town , only a short walk to restaurants, right across from supermarket .would recommend . I'm lefty of room for 2 adults and 2 kids. Good value for room size and quality.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank schultzs
Palmsmotel5, Manager at Palms Nelson, responded to this review

Thanks for your lovely review schultzs. Pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and were happy with the amount of wifi you received. Look forward to seeing you again.

Timaru, New Zealand
Reviewed 23 July 2016

This accommodation was ok but there are better in Nelson. The room was freezing cold - just a small fan heater and an oil heater to heat the rooms. It would be nice to see a heat pump. Only one bathroom but the room could sleep six. We were a party of 5 but luckily 1 didn't come because we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nemo1123
Palmsmotel5, Owner at Palms Nelson, responded to this review

Thanks for your review nemo1123, sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We dont have fan heaters in our rooms, but on the wall in your lounge would have been a convection heater, which heats the room up to around 28-30 degrees constantly if left on and it doesn't emit any noise. Each of our units...

Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewed 20 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed two nights at the Palms motel. As it is showed on its website, it is a 4-starred motel. This is: great prices and great rooms!!! There is plenty of space on the room to be comfortable. Also, location is great as it is located in front of the supermarket and just two blocks from the main road. Inside...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dru_Bell
Palmsmotel5, Manager at Palms Nelson, responded to this review

Thanks for your lovely review Dru_Bell. Its always great to hear when someone has enjoyed their stay with us.

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 23 June 2016

I spent two nights there last May, and I was really satisfy of their services. The room was clean and quite comfortable. The furniture of the room was clean, and almost new style. I recommend this place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nariman V
Palmsmotel5, Manager at Palms Nelson, responded to this review

Thanks for your review Nariman V. So pleased you were satisfied with our rooms and services. Look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 12 June 2016

Excellent place to stay in Nelson.Close to Supermarket and main shopping streets.Selection of rooms to suit visitor's needs.Rooms are up to date with latest appliances.Facilities are always cleaned to a high standard.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bwright808
Palmsmotel5, Manager at Palms Nelson, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We love you staying with us every year and are looking forward to seeing you again in January, and you wont even need to bring your coat. Regards Cheryl and Robyn

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 6 June 2016

The motel unit was excellent in presentation, cleanliness and closeness to the city and had many additional personal touches that made for a pleasant stay. Easy free parking inside the complex and no need to take your car to the city as easy walk to everything Well done Cheryl!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fussei
Palmsmotel5, Manager at Palms Nelson, responded to this review

Thanks Fussei for your lovely review. Glad you found our motel to your liking, look forward to seeing you again soon.

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 23 May 2016

Four of us, two couples, stayed here two nights. The two bedroom unit was very roomy and beautifully appointed with leather seating, dining table for four, and super comfortable beds (equipped with electric blankets) with lovely crisp linen. The carpet looked brand new, as did the curtains and blinds. There was a wee heater which warmed the room and a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank karinording
Palmsmotel5, Manager at Palms Nelson, responded to this review

Wow thanks so much for your fab review karinording. We are so glad you found everything to your satisfaction and look forward to seeing yous here again in the future. Will do our best to sharpen the knives before your arrival :)

Reviewed 1 May 2016 via mobile

Lovely looking Motel. Close to major intersection so traffic noise quite loud if you are on road side. My room "20" small but tidy, sunny with lovely sun. Beware the walls to neighbouring room are thin, to the point where I could hear clear conversations and unfortunately neighbours toilet "habits". Not pleasant at all and kept me awake for the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sonia H
Palmsmotel5, Front Office Manager at Palms Nelson, responded to this review

We are sorry you had a noise problem during your stay. All the walls are concrete so maybe the people in the next room had their balcony door or windows open and as we all know at night noise travels .

Rangiora, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 May 2016 via mobile

As 90's band Bush sang, "it's all the little things that kill." And I think that is relevant for this motel. We stayed for 6 nights. On arrival we were given a plunger coffee and 300ml milk plus 1gb Internet card. The coffee was not replaced at all the whole stay. If we had changed rooms every night we would've...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Triple B
Palmsmotel5, Manager at Palms Nelson, responded to this review

Thanks for your review Triple B. On arrival you receive a complimentary plunger coffee and biscuits. Our tea, coffee, sugar and hot chocolates are replenished daily. More milk can be obtained by asking at the office. The reason that we recommend looking in our compendium is because people have many different needs ie, vegan/gluten free etc and our compendium restaurants...

47 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.2 km away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#9 of 41 in Nelson
459 reviews
0.4 km away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
0.5 km away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 km away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
0.9 km away
Century Park Motor Lodge
0.7 km away
Palazzo Motor Lodge
Palazzo Motor Lodge
#6 of 41 in Nelson
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled in the heart of Nelson, New Zealand.The Palms Motel offers you modern, luxury apartments, with a choice of studio, executive or family suite accommodation.Set in landscaped grounds and located close to all local amenities, the Palms Motel gives the holidaymaker or business person the ideal home away from home. 28 Luxury Units/Apartments22 x Studio units: Floor area - 29 sq. metres each4 x 1 Bedroom luxury suites: Floor area - 36 sq. metres each2 x 2 Bedroom family units: Floor area - 73 sq. metres each Room Amenities:• Spa Baths (in 1 bdrm & 2 bdrm suites) • Sky TV • Kitchens in all Units • King & Queen size beds • Electric Blankets • Iron/ironing boards in all units • Satin-jet showers with massage • Hair dryers • Double glazed windows • Direct dial phones with modem access. Wireless internet available throughout complex • Recliner chairs and large flat screen LCD TVs in all units (in the lounge and for your convenience a smaller flat screen TV is located the bedroom)The fully fenced salt-swimming-pool is solar heated in summer and features a safe toddler’s pool. Also in the pool area is a large electric barbecue and dining area to use at your leisure. There is a guest laundry, plenty of off road parking and we are adjacent to many recreational facilities, for example there is a Supermarket directly across the street, along with Nelson Public Library and the famous Nelson Saturday Market is just 2 minutes walking distance. We are located just 100m from Nelson’s central shopping area with an abundance of choice for cafes restaurants and shopping. Tahuna Beach is just 5 minutes’ drive away.Your Host Cheryl has more than 20 years’ experience in the hospitality industry and understands travel and holiday needs intimately. Her aim is to make your stay comfortable and memorable for all the right reasons. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Palms Nelson

Address: 5 Paru Paru Road | Cnr Halifax and Rutherford Sts., Nelson, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Price Range: $127 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Palms Nelson 4.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palms Nelson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palms Hotel Nelson
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Nelson
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Palms Nelson staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“poss 1st floor is best but all are very nice.”
davebR5117YU, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We were there in the Winter so if you want sun into your room ask for a room facing the sun.”
Fussei, 6 Jun 2016 | Read review
“We had No. 28 - upstairs and next to the heated pool !!!”
karinording, 22 May 2016 | Read review
“They all seem like good rooms”
cherylb1956, 26 Apr 2016 | Read review
“A room on the 1st floor is nice since you have a private balcony”
AucklandTravellers09, 25 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5