We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
See all B&B in Nelson

Ambleside Bed & Breakfast

191 reviews
Save
Traveller (30)
Room & Suite (13)
Dining (9)
Overview
  • Excellent95%
  • Very good5%
  • Average0%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible0%
Travellers talk about
“b b”(70 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Spa
Wheelchair Access
4.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (191)Write a Review
There are newer reviews for Ambleside Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
171 results
Traveller rating
162
9
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
162
9
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bblueberry pancakessuperb hospitalitylavender roomnew zealandguest loungeextensive listpaul janethoneymoon suitelinden leaves toiletriessouth islandabel tasmanhot tubfresh fruitother gueststhoughtful hostson arrival
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
11 - 15 of 171 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2017

Room was small, breakfast was marginal, owner was great but the price was $100 above what was normal on this long trip. It is a house converted to a B&B and very little space. I paid $240 for their best room it was worth more...More

1  Thank George k
Response from Janinewendy, Owner at Ambleside Bed & BreakfastResponded 8 April 2017

We are very sorry that you were disappointed with your rate. It is always our aim to provide an excellent service and value for money. Thank you for your rating which I assume was a reflection of the hospitality recieved. Just to clarify this is...More

Reviewed 26 March 2017

Again, after one year, we stayed at Amblesides B&B in Nelson, New Zealand. And although there were new owners, this place was still amongst the best accomodations we had during our trip. Janine and Pete are lovely people who made our stay unforgettable. Along with...More

Thank PaulJanet2006
Response from Janinewendy, Owner at Ambleside Bed & BreakfastResponded 31 March 2017

Thanks so much for your review. We are still laughing about your final comment, you were such fun and we absolutely loved having you stay. Even the pressure of having to live up to your previous stay was quickly forgotten in your excellent company. All...More

Reviewed 26 March 2017

My friend and I felt as if we were guests in a family home. Every comfort was provided and every wish anticipated in this friendly and very comfortable B&B. Dear little dog Billie, was an added bonus, as was the garden with a stream, ducks,...More

Thank adamsonjulie7
Response from Janinewendy, Owner at Ambleside Bed & BreakfastResponded 31 March 2017

That's so nice of you Julie. You and Elizabeth made a big impression. The breakfasts chats were really enlightening and we hope Nelson lived up to past experiences and to Elizabeth's expectations. Was a pleasure to host you and we would love to see you...More

Reviewed 17 March 2017

We arrived in Nelson on a gloomy day with much rain and cold weather. However, our mood changed shortly after getting to know Pete who runs the place. He offered excellent suggestions for restaurants and things to do in the area. He went out of...More

Thank sajidmaqsood268
Response from Janinewendy, Owner at Ambleside Bed & BreakfastResponded 18 March 2017

Thanks for your review. It is our pleaseure to provide a complimentary glass of wine or beer to our guests every night, perhaps it felt like a bottle in the jacuzzi:) We do try to ensure that all guests have an enjoyable stay. I am...More

Reviewed 15 March 2017

Ambleside was our first stop on a month-long visit to New Zealand. We arrived as strangers and four days later left as friends. Janine and Peter were warm, welcoming, informative hosts who never steered us wrong. And those breakfasts! Cooked to order eggs with fresh...More

Thank breilandroots
Response from Janinewendy, Owner at Ambleside Bed & BreakfastResponded 18 March 2017

Thank you for this fantastic review. You both made a big impression on us. Such positive and friendly people, a joy to be around. We hope that all goes well with the arm and that you both enjoy a well earned and fulfilling retirement. We...More

PreviousNext
12345635
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (30)
Room & Suite (13)
Dining (9)
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Breakfast included
Spa
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Things to do
Spa
Details
Price range
US$107 - US$159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$107 - US$159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
Map
Satellite