We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

989 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 823: English reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The hotel has obviously aged a little since it was built, but all the same is very clean and comfortable. The staff were excellent and very attentive providing knowledge about the local area and providing recommendations. The restaurant was lovely with nice meals. We enjoyed our stay. Don't expect the same standard as you may expect in the city but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Management_The_Croc, General Manager at Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our hotel on Trip Advisor. It is very pleasing that you have enjoyed your stay, in particular that the room was very clean & comfortable, the standard of meals was high, and that the team stood out as being very helpful and knowledgeable. We all hope to see you again. Warm regards, Richard McArthur General Manager

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very disappointed with the place very dirty and run down. Bathroom had stains in the bath, floor needed a good scrub. Carpet in dinning room filthy and very stained. Food in dinning room was very nice if a bit overpriced. Not a good look for overseas visitors. Lift your game. Outside area could be very nice but pool needs an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lindakE7934AU
Management_The_Croc, General Manager at Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel, responded to this review

Dear lindakE7934AU, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. It is most disappointing to hear that all aspects of your stay did not meet expectations. Our remote location and challenging environment does provide us with our fair share of challenges however we are always working towards improving the product and experience for our guests....

Reading, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was the only hotel that we pre-booked for our trip through the Outback (Broome to Darwin). The restaurant was good - especially compared to what options we'd had up to that point and the restaurant staff were excellent. We did roll our eyes when we had to make a reservation for the hotel for dinner in an hour -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dcchick1425
Management_The_Croc, General Manager at Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel, responded to this review

Dear dcchick1425, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. It is pleasing that you have enjoyed most aspects of your stay, in particular that the food & service was to a very high standard, and that the room was spacious. In regards to reservations for dinner, we do this to ensure the best possible...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A must see when in Kakadu and worth a nights stay. Friendly staff and clean cool rooms. Pool area clean tidy and inviting. As with all things Kakadu a little expensive but worth the trip. Kakadu park is on your doorstep and you do it need a four by four to visit most sites.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steven M
Management_The_Croc, General Manager at Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Steven M, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. It is very pleasing that you have enjoyed your stay, in particular the room was very clean, staff stood out as being very friendly and the pool was inviting. Warm regards, Richard McArthur General Manager

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

When my partner booked us to stay in a crocodile I was a bit concerned that it would be tacky - to my surprise it was one of the best places we have stayed on our journey. The hotel itself is very well kept and incredibly nice. Upon arrival we were greeted by very friendly staff and a bottle of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jazzyjazyjazzy
Management_The_Croc, General Manager at Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel, responded to this review

Dear jazzyjazyjazzy, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. I am absolutely delighted you and your partner enjoyed your stay, in particular that you found the room & hotel well maintained & clean, and that the reception staff were very friendly and were able to suggest a range of appealing activities during your visit....

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Service from staff is completely non-existent, had to go and collect our own lunch menu once we were seated. We had to hunt someone down to take a drink order and for water to be brought to the table. The food was fine, not worth the money paid but we were fed. The staff were friendly enough, but when we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BuffaloJade
Management_The_Croc, General Manager at Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel, responded to this review

Dear BuffaloJade, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. It is most disappointing to hear that the service during your stay was not up to expectations. I will be sure to share your feedback with the team to further improve the attentiveness and experience for our guests. It was pleasing however that you found...

Prevessin Moens, France
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Bedooms are ok, bathrooms are tired, staff in the restaurant is not really efficient but friendly.Staff at the desk is friendly Food at the restaurant is not unforgettable but good. Overall , itbhas been a nice stay when there is not much choice

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aviscath
Darwin, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The service is outstanding! From my first phone call to book to checking out. The room was spotlessly clean, beds and pillows very comfortable. After a hot day of sight-seeing, the pool is a welcome relief to the humidity! Rooms are a good size and most overlook the pool and outdoor area. Parking is easy and undercover by Reception. No...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kate S
Alice Springs, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

room was comfortable and clean...staff were excellent and friendly...best brushcetta ever and the main meals were of a very hight standard...really enjoyed it all...from booking in to booking out was a very good experience. the hotel is in a crocodile shape and in the middle is a well thought out paradise of water landscaping and swimming pool

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
Australia
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Yes you found it. I giant actual crocodile in Kakadu! A welcome retreat from the heat and bugs. All the trappings of fine life in the ruggedness that surrounds the epic Kakadu national Park. The Restaurant has a vegetarian option (one) which was nice. Cosy comfortable soft bed. Super cold air-con. Buffet breakfast. Nice big pool and internal court yard...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan C

245 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (235)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (62)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (44)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (82)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kakadu National Park
27.6 km away
Aurora Kakadu Hotel
Aurora Kakadu Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kakadu National Park
381 reviews
1.4 km away
Cooinda Lodge Kakadu
Cooinda Lodge Kakadu
#1 of 5 in Kakadu National Park
699 reviews
1.0 km away
Kakadu Lodge and Caravan Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Kings Canyon Wilderness Lodge
Kings Canyon Wilderness Lodge
#1 of 1 in Kings Canyon
174 reviews
0.0 km away
Bullo River Station
Bullo River Station
#2 of 2 in Timber Creek
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
From the marble foyer to the air-conditioned guest rooms, Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel is a cool retreat in the midst of Kakadu National Park s wilderness. This uniquely shaped hotel, just 2 hours drive from Darwin, is the ideal base to explore Ubirr and Nourlangie rock art galleries and view the towering sandstone escarpment of Arnhem Land. The hotel offers 110 guest rooms making the shape of a crocodile which overlook's a central shaded courtyard and swimming pool. Award winning Escarpment Restaurant offers tastes of Kakadu with both buffet and a la carte options available. Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel also has an Indigenous art gallery showcasing works from the Kakadu and Arnhem region. Guests have access to a 9-hole golf course, Olympic-size pool, and tennis courts at neighbouring Jabiru Township. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel

Address: 1 Flinders Street, Kakadu National Park, Northern Territory 0886, Australia (Formerly Gagudju Crocodile Holiday Inn)
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Kakadu National Park
Price Range: $98 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gagudju Crocodile Holiday Hotel Kakadu National Park
Holiday Inn Gagudju Crocodile
Gagudju Crocodile Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Kakadu National Park
Kakadu National Park Holiday Inn
Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel Kakadu National Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms on the bottom floor have pool access.”
 of 5 bubbles BuffaloJade, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“first floor offers more privacy but no lift to take your suitcase up , only stairs”
 of 5 bubbles aviscath, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for one on ground floor near the pool. Glass doors open direct to pool.”
 of 5 bubbles , 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Go elsewhere”
 of 5 bubbles Adcairns, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Check your room out and don't be scared to ask for another. Ground floor is best.”
 of 5 bubbles 587GregS, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay