We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

OutBack Caravan Park

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tennant Creek
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
OutBack Caravan Park
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

128 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 127: English reviews
Start your review of OutBack Caravan Park
 Click to rate
UK/IBZ
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed on an unpowered site. Price was ok. Free Wi-Fi, Onsite shop and bar but it was overpriced. There's a nice Swimming Pool unfortunately didn't get to use it as we didn't arrive until it was dark. Friendly Staff. There were a lot of Aborigine People wandering around the site and hanging around at night shouting. One actually came...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nickyaskey
Skanderborg, Denmark
Reviewed 21 January 2017 via mobile

We, a family off five, stayed 1 night at this place. The cabin was nice and clean. The bunk beds for the children, have "plastic" mattress and you have to pay extra for linen to the children. They also have a nice pool area, but I wouldn't call it resort style pool, as they do it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hartdk
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Reviewed 14 January 2017

Friendly at arrival. The room was smaller than we expected but it was clean with a comfortable bed and the cooking facilities we needed. The day was hot and we wanted a swim but the pool didn’t look clean. We used the laundry facilities and the washing machines were full of bugs. The park had plenty of facilities and I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve5691
Lisa P, General Manager at OutBack Caravan Park, responded to this review

Hello Steve, Thank you for your feed back. It is unfortunate at this time of year with the Wet SEASON, we do have a lot of Bugs flying around all the time, sorry this comes with the Top End. The Laundry washing machines are cleaned everyday and people do tend to leave the lids up after using, which we do...

Australia
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

I stayed here with my teenage daughter for 3 weeks while working. The cabins are new and comfortable with all the appliances of home. Fully self contained with flat screen tv with inbuilt DVD player,free wifi, split system aircon. The shop at the park is open until 8pm and has everything you might need. The beer garden bar is also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TraciePAustralia
Lisa P, Manager at OutBack Caravan Park, responded to this review

Dear Tracie, Thank you for your lovely Feedback. Hope to see you again. Kind regards, All the Outback Staff

Victoria
Reviewed 19 December 2016 via mobile

The cabin was clean and had everything we needed. The staff were helpful. We swam in the pool which was nice. I believe the room was way over priced. The bed was not very comfy at all. The air conditioning system although it worked was not a very well thought out system being that it switched off every 15 mins...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank michelesY8776YC
Darwin, Australia
Reviewed 18 December 2016 via mobile

We travel a lot and have always been told to stay away from Tennant Creek. This is so not the case here. We would most definitely stay here again. It is very clean and welcoming. The pool is great after a long day driving. Felt very safe.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kloe J
Management response:

Thank you Kloe! Great to hear you decided to find out for yourselves and enjoyed your time here! We look forward to seeing you again! Many Thanks, From all of us here at the Outback

Darwin, Australia
Reviewed 17 December 2016 via mobile

We stayed a night in one in the two bedroom cabins. Whilst the cabin is an older style cabin, it was spotlessly clean, smelt fresh, very well equipped and extremely comfortable. Jan, Pennie, Lisa and William the dog made us feel extremely welcome and were very friendly and helpful. We were very comfortable, had a good nights sleep and no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alison H
Management response:

Thank you ever so much Alison! We try our best to provide a high standard of quality & service for our guests in little ol Tennant Creek and it is great to hear that it doesn't go unnoticed. Many Thanks, Jan, Pennie, Lisa and especially William!

Reviewed 24 November 2016 via mobile

I needed a drive through site with power and a clean pool to cool off in. It was stinking hot that day so the friendly, welcoming staff n pooch made it all so easy for an overnight stay at $27. Loved it n would definitely stay again 👍

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susanne A
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 13 November 2016

It's the first time I review a location only with one point but it was the worst camp site I ever was. Surprisingly the owner was so unfriendly and harsh, I couldn't believe. The bush kitchen is outworn, there is no cooker, even not a BBQ and the micro wave doesn't work. But the worst thing is, one step outside...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bernhard H
Janice w, General Manager at OutBack Caravan Park, responded to this review

Dear Bernhard, I am writing in response to your review. We are very sorry that your experience with us was not what you expected. I apologize for the rude person that you said was on Reception, who was not the Owner and was a Reception staff member who is no longer with us. Not once to my knowledge did you...

Reviewed 5 November 2016 via mobile

On first look the park is okay. Easy drive through parking pleanty of room and quiet. Go for a nice relaxing shower and wgat do you get is a cold shower. I understand that in the wuiet tone parks shut some amenities but why cut off the hot water. Tutn it fow to 50% heat but not off and still...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank June F
Management response:

Hi June, It is a shame to hear you had an unpleasant shower within one of our amenity blocks, our apologies. The unfortunate reason due to the lack of hot water was not because we "cut off" our hot water system, as we never do that regardless of what time of year it is. But the fact we were not...

69 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tennant Creek hotels
1.5 km away
Bluestone Motor Inn
Bluestone Motor Inn
#1 of 3 in Tennant Creek
181 reviews
0.9 km away
Goldfields Hotel Motel
Goldfields Hotel Motel
#2 of 3 in Tennant Creek
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This beautifully presented park was established in 1981, and now boasts glorious shady trees with spacious drive-through sites, a choice of grassed camping areas and extensive amenities. A Pool provides welcome relief in the middle of the Territory's Golden Heart. Our cheerful team and commitment to improvements, service and the environment now offers a range of 4 Green Star facilities. Choose from our broad range of accommodation options and spend a few days enjoying the local attractions, relax in our licensed garden cafe and enjoy the camp fire entertainment with Jimmy Hooker's humorous bush poetry and local bush tucker tasting during the High Season only. All needs are provided for, from powered and unpowered shaded and grassy camping and long drive through caravan sites to air-conditioned En-suite cabins with full kitchen facilities, wireless internet, Laundromat, camp kitchen, dump point, fuel, Mini-mart and gas. Free 30min wifi when you check in! ... more   less 

Additional Information about OutBack Caravan Park

Address: 71 Peko Rd, Tennant Creek, Northern Territory 0860, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Tennant Creek
Number of rooms: 37
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from OutBack Caravan Park staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Melbourne, Australia
9 months ago
Coles Bay, Australia
Alice Springs, Australia
over a year ago
Victoria, Australia

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from OutBack Caravan Park staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“turn right immediately after Office and head to grassed campsites next to Amenities block”
 of 5 bubbles samesdifd, 2 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Cabin as this is a Tourist Park, well appointed not 5 star but clean and comfortable, we enjoyed our stay.”
 of 5 bubbles SheilaPannell, 9 May 2015 | Read review
“As we were Travelling with Campers, Grab the drive through sites near the camp Kitchen if available.”
 of 5 bubbles Turbo1234, 28 Apr 2015 | Read review
“The newer cabins in the middle are great and a bit quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles deant312, 25 Mar 2015 | Read review
“Good stopover for the Grey Nomads.”
  • Cabin
 of 5 bubbles Maikzone, 1 Mar 2015 | Read review
5 of 5