We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Barkly Homestead

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tennant Creek
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Barkly Homestead
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

270 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 270: English reviews
Start your review of Barkly Homestead
 Click to rate
Barcaldine, Australia
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Coming home from working remote we stayed at Barkly Homestead after a long drive. Needed a good nights sleep. Woke up with bed bug bites over my body...spent the rest of my trip back to Qld in terrible itchiness and soreness. I paid $150 for the night's attack of bed bugs!!! Don't stay here!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm C
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stopped there six times now over the years. Fuel is much dearer than Camooweal or Tennant Creek (no surprise given the isolation)but they have all types and it is a reliable service. Have had no issues with fuel quality. Used a powered site last visit. It was bloody wet. Rolled a swag out beside the power pole. Ammenities were clean,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jon S
Andrew M, Manager at Barkly Homestead, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. Your right fuel is dearer here than Camooweal or Tennant. Isolation, freight and being self sufficient (generated power and water) and jsut a few things that contribute to this. We turn over a lot of fuel so the quality is always good and we never run out. I agree with the need of a dry walk...

Mount Isa, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was really pleasantly suprised by the rooms at the Barkly Homestead. The rooms were clean and spacious, unfortunately the shower kind of flooded the bathroom but apart from that everything was great. The beds were nice and comfortable and the Chicken Burger and Chips at the restaurant were great. I would happily stay here again to breakup the trip...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca C
Andrew M, Manager at Barkly Homestead, responded to this review

Hi, We are glad you enjoyed your stay here. I am sorry to hear about the bathroom. We do have very hard water here that causes problems with the shower heads and taps. I try and check these regularly but sometimes they crack without us knowing. I am glad you enjoyed the food. We hope to see you again.

Katherine, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

No hot water on arrival, dinner took 2 hours to arrive. when we complained we were told it was the outback and things are different here, told us to leave and took the room key with him, this guy was supposed to be the Manager but I suspect he may have been the maintenance man.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daniel K
Andrew M, Manager at Barkly Homestead, responded to this review

Hi, This review is shocking and very hard to understand. No one has ever waited 2 hours here for a meal in 10 years of us trading, let alone in our quietest time of year when we would be lucky to do 1/10th of the meals. It certainly wasn't me who asked you to leave and why would the maintenance...

Cowra, Australia
Reviewed 9 February 2017 via mobile

Wow! We only stopped for diesel, refreshments and to use the facilities but I was impressed. We'd been in the outback for awhile and this was a wonderful stop. Stepped into pay for our diesel and I was wanting to book in for the night. Clean, friendly and not what I was expecting after our other stops at roadhouses. I'm...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alohataj
Andrew M, Manager at Barkly Homestead, responded to this review

Hi, Than you for your review. I'm glad you liked your stop. Please try and stay with us next time you a through.

Palmerston, Australia
Reviewed 7 February 2017

Having stayed here on numerous occasions over the years was gob smacked to see a green oasis in the outback. Visually very attractive and tidy. Rooms refurbished to a good standard and very clean. So surprised to have gourmet food at reasonable prices....wish this was closer home. Staff very friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lesley S
Andrew M, Manager at Barkly Homestead, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your great review. We have spent a lot of time and money in very harsh conditions to make this a nice place to stay. Everyone works extremely hard here so it is nice that it gets noticed. We look forward to seeing you next time.

Sunshine Coast, Australia
Reviewed 21 January 2017

Our third stay and will be definetily be our future stopover on our trips to and from Darwin. Staff were very accomodating with our request for a motel room where we could park our boat safely. Great and very clean facilities and were very happy to receive a discount off our room rate due to a storm that left minimal...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sylviawellings1
Andrew M, Manager at Barkly Homestead, responded to this review

Hi Sylvia and Andrew, Thanks for your kind review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. The TV was out for a couple of days but was fixed as soon as we could get a new box delivered. This proved difficult in the holiday season but its back online. Things like this do occur unfortunately so when they do we are...

Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile

This is our second visit. Love the bed in the cabin. Our dogs are very happy on the verandah. People remark it is over priced, however, I think it's forgotten that all power water etc must be self generated. Clean. Comfortable and friendly staff!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dean J
Andrew M, Manager at Barkly Homestead, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for your review. Yes we sometime get the complaints about the price. Our fuel is more expensive than a lot but we have extreme costs that most businesses don't have to endure. Our food, accommodation etc is in line with anywhere else. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you next time.

Darwin, Australia
Reviewed 14 January 2017

My husband and I stopped at Barkly on the way through in the morning for fuel and a coffee. The coffee was excellent, and the staff were helpful and friendly. We looked forward to stopping there for the night on our way back through. In a rush, we forgot to book and when we arrived there were no rooms available....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kaharaminttu
Andrew M, Manager at Barkly Homestead, responded to this review

Hi, we are sorry that we were booked out when you arrived. It is disappointing that you have given us a 2 star rating based on a cup of tea and it is doubly disappointing that you wont stop here now based on that. Our staff are obviously very transient and language is also an issue at times but on...

Darwin, Australia
Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

Nice modern room that was spotlessly clean. A good choice of rooms since my last visit with cabins now available too. Comfortable bed and bedding. Aircon worked well - thankfully as it was especially hot outside. I enjoyed the stopover here much more than Tennant Creek which used to be my preferred stopover. Although affecting my drive times, the quieter...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AussieKelEllery1234
Andrew M, Manager at Barkly Homestead, responded to this review

Hi, thanks for your review. We look forward to seeing you again.

82 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (62)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tennant Creek
171.9 km away
Bluestone Motor Inn
Bluestone Motor Inn
#1 of 3 in Tennant Creek
181 reviews
171.6 km away
Goldfields Hotel Motel
Goldfields Hotel Motel
#2 of 3 in Tennant Creek
56 reviews
0.0 km away
Bullo River Station
Bullo River Station
#2 of 2 in Timber Creek
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Near Barkly Homestead

Top-rated Attractions Nearby
Top-rated Restaurants Nearby

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Barkly Homestead is situated 220km east of Tennant Creek on the Barkly Highway. The Homestead offers a variety of services including fuel, excellent accomodation and fantastic bar and grill. It is a welcome stopover on the long journey across the Barkly Highway. A true oasis in the desert. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Barkly Homestead

Address: Corner of Barkly & Tablelands Highways | Barkly Tablelands, Tennant Creek, Northern Territory 0862, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Tennant Creek
Number of rooms: 21
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Barkly Homestead staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Barkly Homestead staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go to another Roadhouse”
 of 5 bubbles malcolmc555, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All rooms equal”
 of 5 bubbles 316lesleys, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Cabins = good A/C..... motel = nicer bathroom”
 of 5 bubbles paulsS5211QQ, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get one of the self contained cabins for a little extra :)”
 of 5 bubbles Etonbeach, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“As the rooms are set back from the highway there were no major issues with noise”
 of 5 bubbles 1954dean, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5