We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Magnums Backpackers

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Magnums Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

431 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Magnums Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Showing 379: English reviews
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewed 1 December 2016 via mobile

It's a big hostel attached to a big bar in a party town. I stayed in two different rooms (before and after my Whitsundays Sailing Trip on the Habibi). The first 8 bed shared cabin was disgusting and I didn't want to go near the ensuing shower. The second 8 share cabin was much cleaner though the shower didn't have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heather M
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review

SO genuinely sorry we did not live up to your expectations.

Byron Bay, Australia
Reviewed 1 December 2016

I thought this was a great place to stay!! Right in the hub of Airlie Beach with a cut through straight to Woolies and a really cool rainforest feel. We stayed in a double room and they were a little small but for the price we paid WOW, cannot complain!! There was free Wi-Fi a few steps away, the bar...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kayleighwallace
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review

THANK YOU – So pleased that you had a great stay- if you are happy we are SUPER happy :-)

Reviewed 1 December 2016 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay here over all, the bar areas are really social but the food is pricey! The free wifi barely works and there is no proper in door area to chill apart from the kitchen which doesn't help when it rains ALL day. Another thing which we found frustrating was that the luggage room isn't free ($5 per...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Becca P
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts, just to clarify the luggage storage is FREE for all guests who book their trip with us, otherwise it is the cheapest luggage storage in Airlie @ $5.00 for three days.. The Hostel is an 12 minute walk from the greyhound station – we have timed it :-) All operational...

Reviewed 1 December 2016 via mobile

Really impressed with the quality of this hostel. When we arrived the reception staff were friendly, especially Alana who was welcoming and helpful throughout our stay. The double accommodation was clean and spacious and situated close to the showers and toilets, kitchen, wifi and bar areas. Communal areas were clean and never crowded. The hostel was relaxing and quiet with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ow1990
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review

Great Review, thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts, EVERYONE loves Alana :-) The whole team are wonderful, we are super blessed with our team. I am sure your comments will help other travellers.

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

Magnums is the perfect hostel in terms of location. It is the hub of Airlie beach with many whitsunday tours checking in at the reception. However, this means that reception staff are unable to cope with the large numbers of tourists requiring their service. The staff were incompetent and with so many "trainees" the service was painfully slow and no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hayleyweir1
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us, we had a look at your file and yes indeed you did check in at a very busy time when boats were returning and buses arriving, this is a peak trading time for us and we were fully staffed, you would have noted that 2 of the team members were wearing...

Salvador, BA
Reviewed 25 November 2016 via mobile

Lovely staff, there are Pirates, Mermaids and fairytales...I am following in love for a English pirate. He understands me a little bit and also has a tattoo on the left arm. This is the best boat I have ever been...he heheheeh I am a leader.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thais20152
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review

A little hard to understand but you sound happy, we wish you safe and happy onward travels.

Reviewed 23 November 2016 via mobile

The hostel is nice with little houses in a rainforest. It is centrally located and had beds available spontaneously since we arrived without a booking.. The kitchen was a little small and not too clean but I can recommend it anyways!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marie-sophieeee
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we genuinely appreciate all feedback, just helps us get better and better! Safe Travels :-)

Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewed 22 November 2016

We were lucky to have a nice room at Magnum's. The resort is huge, with bars and disco and restaurants... I was kind of worried that it wouldn't be quiet, but it was. The rooms area seems out of a tropical island - I woke up in the morning feeling like in Costa Rica. There were bugs everywhere, but who...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RosarinhoPT
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you! Sounds like you enjoyed your stay in our little tropical paradise :-) I am sure your comments will help guide other travellers, we wish you safe and happy onward travels.

Folkestone, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 November 2016 via mobile

Stayed here before going on my Whitsundays trip. I rang up and booked the night before asking if I could be in the room with my friend and if I could check in early as I was getting there early the next morning. The lady on the phone was lovely, and got me in the room with my friend and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank samwarby
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer this feedback, we are genuinely sorry if one of our team came across as being abrupt, there are times when we will allow a guest to enter a dorm (share accommodation) early however it is not our preferred option as we like the room to have been serviced for the incoming guest...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 13 November 2016

My friend and I stayed at Magnum's this week and had a great time! We shared a double room with a double bed which was clean and had awesome A/C which we were very grateful for with the heat. Check in/out was easy and the staff at reception were great. Located centrally and being next to a Woolworths makes life...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah L
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time review us, sounds like you had a great stay, we hope people listen to your advice , yes we do get mozzies at this time of year and we do try to share this message via posters throughout the resort. So pleased you felt well looked after, we wish you safe and happy onward...

86 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (71)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.7 km away
Backpackers by the Bay
Backpackers by the Bay
#20 of 54 in Airlie Beach
407 reviews
0.1 km away
Beaches Backpackers
Beaches Backpackers
#49 of 54 in Airlie Beach
173 reviews
0.2 km away
Airlie Beach YHA
Airlie Beach YHA
#37 of 54 in Airlie Beach
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
#38 of 54 in Airlie Beach
456 reviews
0.2 km away
Base Airlie Beach Resort
Base Airlie Beach Resort
#39 of 54 in Airlie Beach
496 reviews
1.8 km away
Seabreeze Tourist Park Airlie Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Whitsundays!!Magnums is a tropical oasis in the middle of the excitement of Airlie Beach. Relax in our beautiful settings or take the short stroll to the famous Airlie Beach Lagoon, Abel Point Marina or Port of Airlie. Magnums is an “over 18 years only” budget holiday retreat in the heart of the beautiful Whitsundays.No need for a cab - Magnums is within walking distance of all the fantastic restaurants, pubs and nightclubs Airlie beach has to offer.Our affordable accommodation styles include dorm rooms, deluxe cabins and private rooms which are all surrounded by beautiful tropical gardens. All of our rooms have air-conditioning and ceiling fans for your comfort. Professionally cleaned linen is provided and our rooms are cleaned daily by our friendly in-house housekeeping team. Magnums’ facilities include a fully equipped shared kitchen and undercover eating area, coin operated washing machines in our laundry, free security deposit service for your security and a free WiFi area, all for your convenience.Our new kitchen/recreation room is now open! We have a 51 inch Plasma TV, games and free Wifi - so it is the perfect indoor entertainment area for your enjoyment. Get some friends together or make some new ones and enjoy a game of volleyball on our sun-filled volleyball court.Want to venture out on a daytrip or an overnight sailing adventure and discover what the Whitsundays has to offer? Magnums has a fully accredited tour desk within our reception area with a large range of tours and activities at very competitive prices. Come and discover Magnums – you will be surprised! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Magnums Backpackers

Address: 366 Shute Harbour Rd | (PO Box 313), Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Price Range: $47 - $58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Magnums Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Magnums Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnums Backpackers Hotel Airlie Beach
Magnums Backpackers Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Magnums Backpackers staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Magnums Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I cannot get over that a double room for us both was less than most 8 bed dorms!”
 of 5 bubbles kayleighwallace, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The free parking is actually in a parking lot behind the complex; 3 minutes walk away.”
 of 5 bubbles RosarinhoPT, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Great Value”
 of 5 bubbles Bella392, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“8 Person Cabins are the best!”
 of 5 bubbles erinb185, 29 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room at the back far away from the bars.”
 of 5 bubbles suusst, 21 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay