We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Magnums Backpackers

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Magnums Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

420 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Magnums Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Showing 372: English reviews
Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were lucky to have a nice room at Magnum's. The resort is huge, with bars and disco and restaurants... I was kind of worried that it wouldn't be quiet, but it was. The rooms area seems out of a tropical island - I woke up in the morning feeling like in Costa Rica. There were bugs everywhere, but who...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RosarinhoPT
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you! Sounds like you enjoyed your stay in our little tropical paradise :-) I am sure your comments will help guide other travellers, we wish you safe and happy onward travels.

Folkestone, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here before going on my Whitsundays trip. I rang up and booked the night before asking if I could be in the room with my friend and if I could check in early as I was getting there early the next morning. The lady on the phone was lovely, and got me in the room with my friend and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank samwarby
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer this feedback, we are genuinely sorry if one of our team came across as being abrupt, there are times when we will allow a guest to enter a dorm (share accommodation) early however it is not our preferred option as we like the room to have been serviced for the incoming guest...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My friend and I stayed at Magnum's this week and had a great time! We shared a double room with a double bed which was clean and had awesome A/C which we were very grateful for with the heat. Check in/out was easy and the staff at reception were great. Located centrally and being next to a Woolworths makes life...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah L
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time review us, sounds like you had a great stay, we hope people listen to your advice , yes we do get mozzies at this time of year and we do try to share this message via posters throughout the resort. So pleased you felt well looked after, we wish you safe and happy onward...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have never stayed in a hostel before, coming into Magnums, I already had set views on hostels. But i am glad I did because the experience I had at Magnums was a great one! We had a double room- which had everything we needed, comfy bed, air con, fan, fridge which was keeping our water super cold. Quiet and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bella392
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review

So pleased that Magnums exceeded your expectations of what a ‘hostel’ is like, we genuinely try to offer as much value as possible and your feedback is very much appreciated, please come back soon!

Varese, Italy
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I have been in this hostel for some days . I stayed in tent and it was terrible . Ok I have seen the tent site before check in , but I receive a warning just about volley field in the nearby . Nobody notice me about drunk people screaming all the night and music high all the night There...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vasco1993
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for this review, it is actually the second recent review we have had about the noise levels in the tent area, as you know we always pre-warn our guests about the possibility of this area getting noisy, we will now take this warning to another level and supply guests with a written overview, we will also step up...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Travelling as a couple we got a double room for just $53 at magnums!! Air conditioned, clean, with a fridge, kettle and kitchen utensils. Room was a bit dated decor wise but more than comfortable and lovely and cool also found it very quiet! Shower and toilet facilities basic again but clean and enough facilities for guests. I would recommend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gem M
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post this review, we certainly do target budget travelers, our aim is simple “to offer the best value to budget travelers in Airlie Beach”, so far so good :-)

Lancashire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were so worried about staying here after reading all the reviews, in fact we nearly cancelled!! However we arrived, checked in and found our lovely private room on the top floor of a cabin style building. It was small but had everything we needed including fridge, kettle, crockery, air con and a fan!! We were very pleased!! It was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gemfrancis87
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Gemma, We are sincerely grateful that you took the time to write this review, I am sure it will help other travellers :-) We are genuinely pleased you had such a great stay and enjoyed all of the facilities.

England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and myself stayed in our campervan on site. We used all the same facilities as the people in the hostel side except the bathroom. The bathroom for campers was very dirty, the same bits on the floor/in the shower for 3 days. But apart from that the kitchen, bbq area and laundry facilities were clean. The wifi does...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenny R
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for this constructive feedback, your concerns will be acted in immediately, your compliments will be passed on :-)

Belfast
Reviewed 28 October 2016 via mobile

Great location, close to all the main areas especially the lagoon, and Woolworths! Lovely helpful staff at reception. Nice area out the back where the rooms are. Kitchen is big with lots of facilities. Private rooms have own fridge and cutlery and kettle in room which was very handy. Noise levels are acceptable as the bar is way at the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emma L
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us, sounds like you had a great stay, we wish you safe and happy onward travels.

Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend stayed here in a private room with a tv fridge and cutlery it's such a nice clean and friendly hostel the staff are so nice and fun and the area makes you feel like you're in a rainforest

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen O
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you, a lovely review but more importantly you had a great stay, if you are happy we are happy!

87 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (72)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.7 km away
Backpackers by the Bay
Backpackers by the Bay
#18 of 53 in Airlie Beach
402 reviews
0.1 km away
Beaches Backpackers
Beaches Backpackers
#49 of 53 in Airlie Beach
165 reviews
0.1 km away
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
#35 of 53 in Airlie Beach
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Airlie Beach YHA
Airlie Beach YHA
#32 of 53 in Airlie Beach
164 reviews
0.2 km away
Base Airlie Beach Resort
Base Airlie Beach Resort
#39 of 53 in Airlie Beach
478 reviews
1.8 km away
Seabreeze Tourist Park Airlie Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Whitsundays!!Magnums is a tropical oasis in the middle of the excitement of Airlie Beach. Relax in our beautiful settings or take the short stroll to the famous Airlie Beach Lagoon, Abel Point Marina or Port of Airlie. Magnums is an “over 18 years only” budget holiday retreat in the heart of the beautiful Whitsundays.No need for a cab - Magnums is within walking distance of all the fantastic restaurants, pubs and nightclubs Airlie beach has to offer.Our affordable accommodation styles include dorm rooms, deluxe cabins and private rooms which are all surrounded by beautiful tropical gardens. All of our rooms have air-conditioning and ceiling fans for your comfort. Professionally cleaned linen is provided and our rooms are cleaned daily by our friendly in-house housekeeping team. Magnums’ facilities include a fully equipped shared kitchen and undercover eating area, coin operated washing machines in our laundry, free security deposit service for your security and a free WiFi area, all for your convenience.Our new kitchen/recreation room is now open! We have a 51 inch Plasma TV, games and free Wifi - so it is the perfect indoor entertainment area for your enjoyment. Get some friends together or make some new ones and enjoy a game of volleyball on our sun-filled volleyball court.Want to venture out on a daytrip or an overnight sailing adventure and discover what the Whitsundays has to offer? Magnums has a fully accredited tour desk within our reception area with a large range of tours and activities at very competitive prices. Come and discover Magnums – you will be surprised! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Magnums Backpackers

Address: 366 Shute Harbour Rd | (PO Box 313), Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Price Range: $47 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Magnums Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Magnums Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnums Backpackers Hotel Airlie Beach
Magnums Backpackers Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Magnums Backpackers staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Magnums Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I cannot get over that a double room for us both was less than most 8 bed dorms!”
 of 5 bubbles kayleighwallace, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The free parking is actually in a parking lot behind the complex; 3 minutes walk away.”
 of 5 bubbles RosarinhoPT, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Great Value”
 of 5 bubbles Bella392, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“8 Person Cabins are the best!”
 of 5 bubbles erinb185, 29 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room at the back far away from the bars.”
 of 5 bubbles suusst, 21 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay