We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Magnums Backpackers

Orbitz.comUS$37*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$40*
US$37*
Great Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Magnums Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

451 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Magnums Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Showing 398: English reviews
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 7 December 2015 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights. When checking in and during my stay I have to say the staff were very abrupt and a not friendly but other workers such as the luggage staff were very friendly and nice. The location of the hostel is perfect right in the centre of everything an easy walk to everywhere. Bar has a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emma N
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer us some feedback, this is the first time we have received a comment on the pillows and mattresses, they are standard thicknesses but I will pass your comment on to our Housekeeping and Maintenance teams. There is signage up explaining that the WIFI can be slow at peak times – this is...

Reviewed 29 November 2015

I'm traveling in Australia since nearly 2 years so I've seen a lot of hostels. And this one is for sure the worst I've ever stayed in. Thanks to the people I met there who made it doable. First of all I arrived in the afternoon around 4:30pm. I had a hostelvoucher, lost it the day before though. When I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura1993travel
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to bring this to our attention, if one of our team members was rude to you, we sincerely and genuinely apologise to you – NO excuses – we are sorry. Although our team member was correct in the technical aspects of the need for the correct voucher it her actions were not...

Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 November 2015 via mobile

We spent 5 nights here and stayed with the campervan! The camper facilities were great and the staff were lovely. We also used the tour desk to book a boat trip and a couple of diving trips with Louise, who was really great and able to price-beat for us to get us a great price.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty H
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for this review, we are genuinely thrilled that you had a great experience at Magnums, Lou thanks you for your kind words, she was very pleased to be able to meet you and help you with your Whitsunday Adventures! Hopefully you can come back this way, if you do, drop us a note and Lou can roll out...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 23 November 2015

Came to location very excited to stay until... Turned over pillow before going to sleep and pillow was full of someone elses hair Woke up in the morning with bites over our body, expressed to staff we would like to change rooms in the morning and were very rude and abrupt about the situation. Were not helpful at all. Cleaning...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KLEI1
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we clearly recall your stay with us. Our recollection of events is vastly different form yours, we do recall you were unhappy with a hair you found, we certainly do not deny this could have been the case, we use the services of a professional linen contractor however it would seem our Housekeepers did not...

Scarborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 November 2015 via mobile

We stayed here in a twin room for a week while we explored the Whitsundays. The hostel is really close to the swimming lagoon and a Woolworths. The room was basic but did have a kettle and mini fridge; as well as plenty of power sockets. The bathrooms weren't the cleanest but showers were nice and hot and they were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heather N
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for this review, we appreciate the feedback, our security company have been advised of your review and will certainly be a lot less tolerant of any noisy patrons, please accept our apologies if you were inconvenienced.

Reviewed 15 November 2015

Had a great week stay at Magnums as it was close to everything but at the same time the double room where we were in was a quiet area but still lots of people around to talk to. If you are staying here on a Friday or Saturday please be ready for some noise as it is the weekend and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kate B
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank- you for your review, it sounds like you loved Airlie Beach and Magnums. Sadly you must have struck the girls at a bad moment, they specialise in tour sales, they are all very experienced and most of them have been on all of the local trips. Magnums employs all long term locals because we place so much importance on...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 November 2015 via mobile

Although we are a couple (22/23), we did not feel alienated staying here (some places do!) In fact, I would have liked to come here again with a bunch of friends! The room was nice and comfortable, although it was like living in a large shed as the walls were wooden. The complex is huge and is backs onto its...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AlexBerki1
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for this review, YES! How backpacking has changed! – We agree. We are happy you enjoyed your time with us and hope you do get to come back soon. All feedback is gratefully received, we genuinely appreciate your review – we wish you happy and safe onward travels.

Reviewed 11 November 2015 via mobile

I was recommended this hostel by a friend and I was completely shocked at my experience. I was bitten all over my body from head to toe by bed bugs - over a hundred bites in total. However I was understanding of this but upon visiting reception I was given $3 and told to wash all my clothes and dry...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jess S
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, I was puzzled and disappointed that you sent this review, I certainly did communicate with you on numerous occasions in an effort to support you. I am and have always been available to help and follow through on any complaints, I urge you to contact me further if you feel it would benefit you in anyway, Magnums offer...

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 November 2015 via mobile

Stayed here before and after Whitsundays. The first room was quite dull and a little cramped. However second room was a lot bigger and much more cleaner. We stayed in a mixed dorm, which was equipped with a fridge. The bar attached to the hostel was good, however you could still hear a lot of noise and loud music until...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chelseainsch
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we appreciate people taking the time to offer feedback, not quite sure why the rooms differed between your stays , they are all cleaned by the same very experienced team. The comment you made re the noise you heard was valid, the dates you stayed matched up with the Whitsunday Music Festival being held, Magnums...

Cairns, Australia
Reviewed 28 October 2015 via mobile

This is the 2nd time I stayed in Magnums (last time was in June this year). Price is cheap with all the basic facilities provided. I cant say it is very clean and nice but fair enough at this price point. But this time, I got an insect bite during the mid-night and it turned very serious after the morning....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Grace L
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for this review, obviously we see ourselves as a host very differently but we are always trying to improve. We recently once again won the “Best Backpackers Category” at the Whitsunday Tourism Awards. We take all reviews very seriously and act on each and every review to maintain and improve our facilities and service, unfortunately we cannot control...

88 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (73)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.1 km away
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
#30 of 54 in Airlie Beach
477 reviews
0.7 km away
Backpackers by the Bay
Backpackers by the Bay
#22 of 54 in Airlie Beach
417 reviews
0.2 km away
Airlie Beach YHA
Airlie Beach YHA
#31 of 54 in Airlie Beach
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Beaches Backpackers
Beaches Backpackers
#49 of 54 in Airlie Beach
185 reviews
0.3 km away
Base Backpackers Airlie Beach
Base Backpackers Airlie Beach
#40 of 54 in Airlie Beach
514 reviews
0.2 km away
Airlie Court Holiday Units
Airlie Court Holiday Units
#25 of 54 in Airlie Beach
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Whitsundays!!Magnums is a tropical oasis in the middle of the excitement of Airlie Beach. Relax in our beautiful settings or take the short stroll to the famous Airlie Beach Lagoon, Abel Point Marina or Port of Airlie. Magnums is an “over 18 years only” budget holiday retreat in the heart of the beautiful Whitsundays.No need for a cab - Magnums is within walking distance of all the fantastic restaurants, pubs and nightclubs Airlie beach has to offer.Our affordable accommodation styles include dorm rooms, deluxe cabins and private rooms which are all surrounded by beautiful tropical gardens. All of our rooms have air-conditioning and ceiling fans for your comfort. Professionally cleaned linen is provided and our rooms are cleaned daily by our friendly in-house housekeeping team. Magnums’ facilities include a fully equipped shared kitchen and undercover eating area, coin operated washing machines in our laundry, free security deposit service for your security and a free WiFi area, all for your convenience.Our new kitchen/recreation room is now open! We have a 51 inch Plasma TV, games and free Wifi - so it is the perfect indoor entertainment area for your enjoyment. Get some friends together or make some new ones and enjoy a game of volleyball on our sun-filled volleyball court.Want to venture out on a daytrip or an overnight sailing adventure and discover what the Whitsundays has to offer? Magnums has a fully accredited tour desk within our reception area with a large range of tours and activities at very competitive prices. Come and discover Magnums – you will be surprised! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Magnums Backpackers

Address: 366 Shute Harbour Rd | (PO Box 313), Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Price Range: $41 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Magnums Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Magnums Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnums Backpackers Hotel Airlie Beach
Magnums Backpackers Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Magnums Backpackers staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Magnums Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for new sheets upon arrival.”
RustyFoxTaylor, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I cannot get over that a double room for us both was less than most 8 bed dorms!”
kayleighwallace, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The free parking is actually in a parking lot behind the complex; 3 minutes walk away.”
RosarinhoPT, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Great Value”
Bella392, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“8 Person Cabins are the best!”
erinb185, 29 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Orbitz.com
US$37* /night
View Deal
Booking.com
Hotwire.com
PricelineUS$40
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates