We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Magnums Backpackers

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Magnums Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

450 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Magnums Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Showing 397: English reviews
KIAMA
Reviewed 19 October 2015

best entertainment in Airlie .if there was a view over the water it would be great. in the middle of the main street its a good place to sit and sip on a cold beverage while watching the passes by. no coolers available.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TRUSTY56
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for the review, we agree! However the bar is separately owned and operated – you can certainly see the water from the upstairs bar tho’ – try it next time.

Reviewed 17 October 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights around our whitsundays trip. We enjoyed it here. It's very basic but it is one of the cheapest places we stayed in AUS! It has great kitchen facilities and washing rooms. The dorms are good and have private bathrooms. A double room is only an extra $8/9 dollars if there is 2 of you....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nath L M
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts, we are very pleased you enjoyed your time with us at Magnums, we did have one incident of theft recently but it was not a break in, somebody had left their dorm door open, SO important to lock the door! We have 24/7 security at Magnums, we are the only...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 15 October 2015 via mobile

Parked our mini camper here for two nights while doing a day trip of the Whitsundays. The camper area is pretty basic just a parking spot to the side of the building close to showers and bathroom which were fine. It's right off the bar area so got pretty noisy at night but nothing that bothered us too much, the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sbm994
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you Reviewer! We appreciate your feedback, we will continue to advise guests that the camping area can be noisy, as you know the area for camping is a fair distance from the other accommodation which is generally pretty peaceful – we wish you safe and happy onward travels.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 October 2015

Stayed here for one night as a stop off for the Whitsunday islands. The hostel staff were not helpful and we had to wait for the receptionists to finish their conversations before they turned to serve us. The hostel is set back from the main road and bar in a very good location at Airlie beach across the road from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liv
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for this review, this is particularly concerning to Magnums, our team are committed to great customer service and we seem to have fallen short on this occasion – we are sorry. Our team have been advised of your concerns and we genuinely appreciate you taking the time to let us know. I agree with you 100% that customers...

Tampere, Finland
Reviewed 28 September 2015

We stayed first nights in a tent. If you have a choice avoid tents. Tent spots are just next to the bar and really noisy. Room and resort area are really nice at Magnums and there is really superior athmosphere. Staff was really friendly and Magnums was maybe the best backpacker where we stayed in OZ!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MsKaisa
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us, a very fair review, we agree the tent sites are close to the bar and can be a noisy, we do always warn our guests, the rooms are much further away and set in lovely tropical gardens, they are generally very peaceful! Thank you again, we wish you safe and happy...

Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewed 26 September 2015

There's a restaurant in the hostel, as well as a game room, tv room, snooker, big kitchen , and the location is excellent, in the middle of main street. The only problem is the wi-fi, which can only be accessed at a specific spot, but not in the bedrooms.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liviadr2013
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you! – SO pleased you enjoyed your time with us, unfortunately there is not a solution to the WIFI accessibility - the good thing is it is free 24/7 to our valued guests.

Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed 21 September 2015

While Magnum's is definitely a hub of activity in Airlie Beach, it really provided the perfect launching point for our Whitsunday adventure. Night at Magnum's: Our accommodations at Magnum's were adorable and we had no problems. The location was amazing! There was a BWS and Woolworths right next to Magnum's and the beach was a right across the street. I'm...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sophia A
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this comprehensive review, we genuinely appreciate the feedback, sounds like you had a great time in Airlie so our job is done! In relation to your comment re the arrival time for checking in for Habibi, Yes - you are correct we do need to know everyone is in town, the boat...

Townsville, Australia
Reviewed 20 September 2015 via mobile

My wife and I had a fantastic sleep topped off with terrific service. We were a bit worried about the party atmosphere but we had no trouble getting to sleep. Our room was at the back of the accommodation which helped a lot. We're over thirty as well and enjoyed our stay very much.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gregg S
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you! We genuinely appreciate you taking the time to share your positive experience. Enjoy your travels :-)

Blackburn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 September 2015 via mobile

We booked to stay at magnums for 2 nights because we were in Airlie Beach to do a Whitsunday Islands cruise. However I wish we had stayed longer, I was definitely not ready to leave! The place was so lively and we were able to sit in the 'beer garden' both Tuesday and Wednesday night and there still be live...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank l2202d
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you, we sure do hope you come back! We are so grateful you took the time to share your great experience.

Reviewed 17 September 2015 via mobile

Other than the location, this hostel had very little to offer. The kitchen and bathrooms were really dirty and mouldy, our room was more like a car garage and so damp! My mattress was actually wet with damp. There was no real social area, and the wifi area is just a small hut between all of the rooms. We were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robyn T
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback, we are of course both surprised and disappointed and we can not relate your comments in anyway to the facilities we offer, we would very much appreciate it if you would contact us via our website and share some more details such as which room number you were in etc

88 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (73)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.1 km away
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
#30 of 54 in Airlie Beach
476 reviews
0.7 km away
Backpackers by the Bay
Backpackers by the Bay
#22 of 54 in Airlie Beach
417 reviews
0.2 km away
Airlie Beach YHA
Airlie Beach YHA
#31 of 54 in Airlie Beach
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Beaches Backpackers
Beaches Backpackers
#49 of 54 in Airlie Beach
185 reviews
0.3 km away
Base Backpackers Airlie Beach
Base Backpackers Airlie Beach
#40 of 54 in Airlie Beach
514 reviews
0.2 km away
Airlie Court Holiday Units
Airlie Court Holiday Units
#25 of 54 in Airlie Beach
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Whitsundays!!Magnums is a tropical oasis in the middle of the excitement of Airlie Beach. Relax in our beautiful settings or take the short stroll to the famous Airlie Beach Lagoon, Abel Point Marina or Port of Airlie. Magnums is an “over 18 years only” budget holiday retreat in the heart of the beautiful Whitsundays.No need for a cab - Magnums is within walking distance of all the fantastic restaurants, pubs and nightclubs Airlie beach has to offer.Our affordable accommodation styles include dorm rooms, deluxe cabins and private rooms which are all surrounded by beautiful tropical gardens. All of our rooms have air-conditioning and ceiling fans for your comfort. Professionally cleaned linen is provided and our rooms are cleaned daily by our friendly in-house housekeeping team. Magnums’ facilities include a fully equipped shared kitchen and undercover eating area, coin operated washing machines in our laundry, free security deposit service for your security and a free WiFi area, all for your convenience.Our new kitchen/recreation room is now open! We have a 51 inch Plasma TV, games and free Wifi - so it is the perfect indoor entertainment area for your enjoyment. Get some friends together or make some new ones and enjoy a game of volleyball on our sun-filled volleyball court.Want to venture out on a daytrip or an overnight sailing adventure and discover what the Whitsundays has to offer? Magnums has a fully accredited tour desk within our reception area with a large range of tours and activities at very competitive prices. Come and discover Magnums – you will be surprised! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Magnums Backpackers

Address: 366 Shute Harbour Rd | (PO Box 313), Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Price Range: $41 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Magnums Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HostelWorld, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Magnums Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnums Backpackers Hotel Airlie Beach
Magnums Backpackers Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Magnums Backpackers staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Magnums Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for new sheets upon arrival.”
RustyFoxTaylor, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I cannot get over that a double room for us both was less than most 8 bed dorms!”
kayleighwallace, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The free parking is actually in a parking lot behind the complex; 3 minutes walk away.”
RosarinhoPT, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Great Value”
Bella392, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“8 Person Cabins are the best!”
erinb185, 29 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5