We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Portside Whitsunday

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Portside Whitsunday
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

201 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Portside Whitsunday
See the most recent reviews
Showing 192: English reviews
Mackay, Australia
Reviewed 28 April 2016

Super location to access the Main Street and the new marina complex. Fully self contained with everything you could need for a holiday away. The bathroom was definitely showing its age and looked a bit neglected with mould in the shower and grime in the exhaust fan. The exhaust fans were extremely loud and noisy and there was no option...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Strat4ds
Colleen-16, Manager at Portside Whitsunday, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Portside. I am so very sorry that you had a bad experience. We take pride in our cleaning and presentation and I am very sorry that this must have somehow been neglected in your bathroom. I do wish you had told us at the time of your stay so we could have...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 3 April 2016 via mobile

The place is nice, clean and big. It has a great view of the sea and just across the maritime port. The only drawback is the internet connection is poor inside the rooms, if you want good reception you have to do it on the balcony. The parking is plenty underground and its accessible by a lift. The staff are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank escaussie
Colleen-16, Manager at Portside Whitsunday, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review! We are so very pleased you enjoyed your stay at Portside and hope we may welcome you back in the future. Kindest regards Colleen

Townsville, Australia
Reviewed 20 March 2016

From the outside looks almost new. We had a two bedroom apartment . First impression from the walk from the car park there were light grey 300 x 300mm ceramic tiles that looked like they had never been cleaned. As we entered the room the tiles continue throughout the unit . They were a little better but looked like the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sally D
Colleen-16, Manager at Portside Whitsunday, responded to this review

So sorry you were unhappy with your recent stay at Portside. We do wish you had informed us at the time of your stay that the floor was sticky, so we could amend this for you. The second bedroom contains 2 standard size single beds - not King singles. The second bath room does have a shower over the bath,...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 8 March 2016

We have just spent another week at Portside Apartments, Airlie Beach. From the minute we arrived, Colleen and John were, once again, the perfect hosts! We were greeted with genuine smiles...and filled in on any local changes since the last time we visited. Colleen took us to our apartment...even helping with the luggage. Our room was close to the lift...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sandymac58
Melbourne
Reviewed 7 March 2016

We recently stayed at Portside Whitsunday apartments in a 2 bedroom 2 bathroom apartment for 5 nights. The apartment was fantastic. It was spacious, clean with laundry facilities in the apartment. It had a large balcony which faces the sea and its wonderful to have breakfast and drinks just looking out at the sea. The apartment is very close to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Happy_Traveller_Melb
Mackay, Australia
Reviewed 4 March 2016 via mobile

We have been to the Portside Whitsunday twice now. It's a nice clean Venue, with a lovely view of the hills and the water. Although this visit we were in a room that did not maximize the view. Nice rooms, Friendly staff. Prices were at a premium this time round, for a view of a bush, but enjoyed stay.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Danny G
County Mayo, Ireland
Reviewed 20 February 2016

If I could give Portside a 6* I would! From my booking & email exchange with Colleen, to arriving late, landing into a fabulous scented lit apartment & the crisp white sheets I was very happy. Stayed I think apt 101 (first floor) & could step out into the pool area for a quick dip! You feel you are out...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kellianxxxx
Colleen-16, Manager at Portside Whitsunday, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind review :-) It was lovely meeting you and we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay. Unit 1 is very popular being so close to the pool... especially in the extremely hot weather we are experiencing! We would love to welcome you back to Portside anytime!!

Australia
Reviewed 20 January 2016

this is a great place. convenient andrelaxing. no steep walks back to your accomodation and an easy walk to to the shops and the marina. the staff are helpfull and informative. the accomodation has it all. a few nights we ate in. easy to walk to woolies supermarket and you can even walk back with the trolley and leave it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Karen R
Colleen-16, Manager at Portside Whitsunday, responded to this review

Thrilled you enjoyed your stay Karen! One of the things I enjoy most about my work at Portside is all the lovely people I get to meet :-) . I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Kindest regards Colleen

Cold Lake, Canada
Reviewed 17 January 2016

Just got home from an amazing, yet too short, 4 day stay at Portside apartments unit 11. Views were amazing from the balcony and main bedroom. Everything we needed for a comfortable stay was at hand in the apartment, beds are super comfy, plus having access to our very own rooftop terrace with spa was just fantastic... The location couldn't...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BaldCanadian
Colleen-16, Manager at Portside Whitsunday, responded to this review

It was an absolute pleasure meeting you both and your lovely parents Rob. We are so pleased you enjoyed staying at Portside as much as we enjoy working here, though it would be fantastic to be on the other side of the desk :-). Yes, our private rooftop Jacuzzi apartments are lovely and extremely popular. Portside is in a wonderful...

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 12 January 2016 via mobile

We stayed for one week in a two bedroom apartment (no 5). We had the most amazing stay ever! I visit Airlie beach frequently from south Australia as my brother lives in Airlie & I've stayed at numerous resorts in Airlie beach and this is by far the best there is! We were up for my brothers wedding and had...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Maddi1602
Colleen-16, Manager at Portside Whitsunday, responded to this review

Wow! Thank you for your kind review! We love having nice, happy people stay with us at Portside and are so pleased you and your family enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back anytime :-). An absolute pleasure meeting you all !

98 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (74)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Airlie Beach
1.5 km away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#4 of 9 in Airlie Beach
366 reviews
0.2 km away
Airlie Beach Hotel
Airlie Beach Hotel
#2 of 9 in Airlie Beach
416 reviews
15.7 km away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 3 in Long Island
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays
0.9 km away
Coral Sea Resort
Coral Sea Resort
#1 of 9 in Airlie Beach
991 reviews
0.5 km away
Peppers Airlie Beach
Peppers Airlie Beach
#12 of 53 in Airlie Beach
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Spa
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Portside Whitsunday is situated across from the New 5 star Port of Airlie Beach Marina site and consists of 1, 2, 3 & 4 bedroom and penthouse apartments. All Master bedrooms have LCD tvs. Private Jacuzzi apartments on request. Experience ultimate 4.5* Luxury and relaxation from your spacious balcony with views over the Port of Airlie, out to the Coral Sea and Whitsunday Islands. Only 100m level stroll to beach, shops & restaurants Onsite facilities include Heated Pool,BBQ facilities, Tour Desk, free wifi & free undercover parking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Portside Whitsunday

Address: 406 Shute Harbour Rd, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Price Range: $192 - $482 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Portside Whitsunday 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Portside Whitsunday reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portside Whitsunday Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Portside Whitsunday staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Portside Whitsunday staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms have ocean views”
 of 5 bubbles alexO876FC, 29 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Go for the water views”
 of 5 bubbles 938suep, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The higher apartments have a better view of the sea and harbour.”
 of 5 bubbles michaelpG9255BM, 19 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Our rooms faced the main road can get a little noisy, but we soon got used to it. The view more than makes up for the traffic noise.”
  • Sensational view of sunrise.
  • Fabulous location
 of 5 bubbles lisj2013, 26 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Wifi very slow. Apartment 14a was good.”
 of 5 bubbles jacdeeS, 1 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay