We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

3 Explorers Motel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
3 Explorers Motel
3 Explorers Motel
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

340 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for 3 Explorers Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 331: English reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2016

The room was surprisingly nicely sized and appointed. The beds were very comfortable with quality bedding and even heated mattress pads! The room was very clean. You can't beat the location and the owner was very friendly and extremely helpful with recommendations on when to go to certain attractions for maximum enjoyment and to avoid the crowds. Every tip he...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Terri R
3ExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer a very kind review, delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Blue Mountains & stay at the 3 Explorers Motel, hope to see you again.

Mooloolaba, Australia
Reviewed 27 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for a couple of nights. The hotel has the charm of a classic Australian building. One of the owners talked me through all the local tourist spots as I was checking in. He was very knowledgable and friendly. The room had every amenity required and more. It was quite cold outside when we were there, however, the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TravellingAussieMuso
3ExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer a very kind review, delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Blue Mountains & stay at the 3 Explorers Motel, hope to see you again.

Reviewed 10 July 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights. Hotel manager very welcoming and gave us great tips on accessing the local area. Our room, the family suite, was clean and had been preheated for our arrival. Plenty of room for two adults and two teenagers. Free wifi worked well also.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cathy M
3ExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer a very kind review, delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Blue Mountains & stay at the 3 Explorers Motel, hope to see you again.

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 17 May 2016 via mobile

My son and I stayed here for 5 nights and really enjoyed our visit. The owner gave us great advice on places we wanted to visit, like the best times to avoid peak periods, where to park etc. which made all the difference! The chocolate shop directly opposite the motel and the three sisters being a short walking distance away...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Petra N
3ExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer a review, delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Blue Mountains & stay at the 3 Explorers Motel, hope to see you again.

Melbourne
Reviewed 14 May 2016

Good quiet location, short walk to Three Sisters. Rooms clean, good bed linen, well equipped with microwave, iron, tea/coffee, Wi-fi etc. Bathroom small and dated with pink tiles but very clean and functional. The owner was helpful and friendly. Katoomba town centre is a solid walk away and the dining options are a bit limited which we found surprising for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PJL1952
3ExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer a review on your recent stay @ the 3 Explorers Motel, pleased that you enjoyed your stay & your time in the Blue Mountains, first Guests in the 3 years we have been here to find fault with the Canton restaurant, very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your meal there.

Sydney
Reviewed 8 May 2016

We booked this motel for a mothers day weekend getaway. We had a family room, 2 single beds and a queen bed. Room was clean and comfortable. The heater had been turned on for us prior to our arrival. Gentleman checking us in was very friendly and informative. The location is great, just a short 5 minute walk to The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jek1964
3ExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer a review on your recent stay @ the 3 Explorers Motel, pleased that you enjoyed your stay & your time in the Blue Mountains, pleasure having you & hope to see you again.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 4 May 2016

My boyfriend and I enjoyed two nights here over the ANZAC Day long weekend. The owner was very friendly and recommended a vast array of things to see and do. The room was spacious and clean. And the best thing was that it was so close to all the main attractions (i.e. walking distance to The Sisters and a quick...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank travellover17_12
3ExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer a very kind review, delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Blue Mountains & stay at the 3 Explorers Motel, hope to see you again.

Gungahlin, Australia
Reviewed 25 April 2016 via mobile

Family room is ideal for up to 3 children and the prices are reasonable. Rooms have everuthing you need. I would highly recommend for any family visiting Katoomba, Echo point, three sisters and scenic world.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michelle M
3ExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer a very kind review, delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Blue Mountains & stay at the 3 Explorers Motel, hope to see you again.

Mildura, Australia
Reviewed 21 April 2016

Our room on the second floor was ideal good bed plenty of room and all the facilities we needed The manager was very helpful and obliging. The position was ideal being only a few minutes walk from Echo Point and the beginning of many walks one of which took us to & from Scenic World . A good place to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ian M
3ExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer a very kind review, delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Blue Mountains & stay at the 3 Explorers Motel, hope to see you again.

Reviewed 7 April 2016 via mobile

Having booked on line there was an error on the credit card and on arrival at the motel the host flatly refused to accept an alternative booking by us using a different credit card. With no explanation other than he didn't trust us. His attitude was extremely disrespectful treating us like second class citizens. Very poor customer service. On principle...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nigel S
3ExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer a review even though you never stayed with us, quite rightly you have however pointed out the fact that the details supplied on your Credit were incorrect, this might come as a surprise, but the error can not be attributed to the Motel, you booked online through a Booking Agent, we contacted...

290 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (37)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (233)
Viewed
Family Deluxe Room (28)
Viewed
Queen Spa Room (33)
Viewed
Superior Double Room (35)
Viewed
Superior Family Room (37)
Viewed
Superior Twin - Double Room (35)
Viewed
The Hotel (18)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Luxurious Spa Suite (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Katoomba hotels
1.6 km away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
814 reviews
1.7 km away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
516 reviews
1.1 km away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
0.1 km away
3 Sisters Motel
3 Sisters Motel
#8 of 15 in Katoomba
454 reviews
2.4 km away
Sky Rider Motor Inn
Sky Rider Motor Inn
#3 of 15 in Katoomba
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service

Additional Information about 3 Explorers Motel

Address: 197 Lurline St, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Price Range: $118 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 3 Explorers Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your 3 Explorers Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3 Explorers Hotel Katoomba
3 Explorers Motel Blue Mountains/Katoomba
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Katoomba
#4 Romantic Hotel in Katoomba
#4 Luxury Hotel in Katoomba
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from 3 Explorers Motel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from 3 Explorers Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms were great, whether upstairs or downstairs.”
 of 5 bubbles StephG34, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
“all rooms seem good”
 of 5 bubbles stephenb541, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ground level out the back.”
 of 5 bubbles , 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Some of the rooms are upstairs so may want to specify ground floor.”
 of 5 bubbles sarahnorris99, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Book early if staying on weekends”
 of 5 bubbles 716MikeF716, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay