We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

3 Explorers Motel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
3 Explorers Motel
3 Explorers Motel
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

333 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for 3 Explorers Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 324: English reviews
Gungahlin, Australia
Reviewed 25 April 2016 via mobile

Family room is ideal for up to 3 children and the prices are reasonable. Rooms have everuthing you need. I would highly recommend for any family visiting Katoomba, Echo point, three sisters and scenic world.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michelle M
3ExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer a very kind review, delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Blue Mountains & stay at the 3 Explorers Motel, hope to see you again.

Mildura, Australia
Reviewed 21 April 2016

Our room on the second floor was ideal good bed plenty of room and all the facilities we needed The manager was very helpful and obliging. The position was ideal being only a few minutes walk from Echo Point and the beginning of many walks one of which took us to & from Scenic World . A good place to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ian M
3ExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer a very kind review, delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Blue Mountains & stay at the 3 Explorers Motel, hope to see you again.

Reviewed 7 April 2016 via mobile

Having booked on line there was an error on the credit card and on arrival at the motel the host flatly refused to accept an alternative booking by us using a different credit card. With no explanation other than he didn't trust us. His attitude was extremely disrespectful treating us like second class citizens. Very poor customer service. On principle...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nigel S
3ExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer a review even though you never stayed with us, quite rightly you have however pointed out the fact that the details supplied on your Credit were incorrect, this might come as a surprise, but the error can not be attributed to the Motel, you booked online through a Booking Agent, we contacted...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 6 April 2016

It was our third time visiting Katoomba and third time lucky. We were fortunate enough to have two days of fantastic weather and zero fog! To top it off we stayed in this fantastic motel. If you are looking to explore the blue mountains this is the place to stay. As we were driving, it was great to have a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank thegurudave
3ExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer a very kind review on your recent stay @ the 3 Explorers Motel, delighted that you enjoyed your stay & your time in the Blue Mountains, pleasure having you & hope to see you again.

UK
Reviewed 22 March 2016

On arrival the owner was friendly and very helpful with local information. My room was clean, and the heater worked very well. The shower had excellent temperature control and pressure (it was one of the best I've had on this long trip!), but the mattress and the pillows on the bed were a bit too firm for me, and I...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank majikthise
3ExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer a very review, pleased that you enjoyed your visit to the Blue Mountains & stay at the 3 Explorers Motel, we do advise on all web sites & in the confirmation that we do not offer self catering, but also advise that you contact reception should you require anything further, such as...

Fairlight, Australia
Reviewed 22 March 2016

We travelled as two couples and stayed 2 nights a this Motel. It is super clean, comfortable and in a great location with just the right price tag attached. We loved having the little fridge since we were doing picnics during the day. Simple but good and clean which is always on top of my list. Nice people too.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Fenny L
3ExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer a review, delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Blue Mountains & stay at the 3 Explorers Motel, hope to see you again.

Queensland
Reviewed 13 March 2016

Recently stayed 3 nights here to explore the Blue Mountains. Definitely pleased with our choice of accommodation and would recommend to others. The check-in was efficient and helpful. Although not self-catering as we usually choose - you are provided with a microwave and small fridge and reception are happy to supply you with a toaster and crockery/cutlery if asked -...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tripmode33
3ExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer a very kind review on your recent stay @ the 3 Explorers Motel, delighted that you enjoyed your stay & your time in the Blue Mountains, pleasure having you & hope to see you again.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 February 2016

Good sized room and bathroom within easy distance of town centrefacilities. We walked to Echo Point, then down giant staircase to the bottom of the cliff then walked along to the scenic railway which took us back to the top path and then back to the motel. All do able in 4 hours.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank S M
3ExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer a review, delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Blue Mountains & stay at the 3 Explorers Motel.

Broadway, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 February 2016

We booked this hotel without really understanding the geography of Katoomba. It was a perfect location with the Three Sisters at Echo Point just a five minute walk away.. We booked a day ticket on the hop-on / hop-off bus and because we were there for a few days one ticket lasted the full four days. We parked the car...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bradders57
3ExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer a very kind review & allowing us to respond, delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Blue Mountains & stay at the 3 Explorers Motel.

Reviewed 10 February 2016 via mobile

Spent 3 nights here. Rooms clean and comfortable. Bathrooms clean. Free Wifi. Staff very helpful and nice. If you are looking for somewhere to stop that's not too expensive but could not be much closer to the Three Sisters and the Blue Mountains then this is for you. It's not 5 star but you will not be paying 5 star...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paula P
3ExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer a very kind review on your recent stay @ the 3 Explorers Motel, delighted that you enjoyed your stay & your time in the Blue Mountains, pleasure having you & hope to see you again.

290 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (37)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (233)
Viewed
Family Deluxe Room (28)
Viewed
Queen Spa Room (33)
Viewed
Superior Double Room (35)
Viewed
Superior Family Room (37)
Viewed
Superior Twin - Double Room (35)
Viewed
The Hotel (18)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Luxurious Spa Suite (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Katoomba hotels
1.6 km away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
790 reviews
1.7 km away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
505 reviews
1.1 km away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
0.1 km away
3 Sisters Motel
3 Sisters Motel
#8 of 15 in Katoomba
443 reviews
2.4 km away
Sky Rider Motor Inn
Sky Rider Motor Inn
#3 of 15 in Katoomba
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service

Additional Information about 3 Explorers Motel

Address: 197 Lurline St, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Price Range: $118 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 3 Explorers Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your 3 Explorers Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3 Explorers Hotel Katoomba
3 Explorers Motel Blue Mountains/Katoomba
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Katoomba
#4 Luxury Hotel in Katoomba
#4 Romantic Hotel in Katoomba
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from 3 Explorers Motel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from 3 Explorers Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ground level out the back.”
 of 5 bubbles , 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Some of the rooms are upstairs so may want to specify ground floor.”
 of 5 bubbles sarahnorris99, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Book early if staying on weekends”
 of 5 bubbles 716MikeF716, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Only two floors. Not much difference all rooms looked similar.”
 of 5 bubbles thegurudave, 6 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Above ground floo”
 of 5 bubbles KiraBeauty, 5 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay