We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Leura House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Leura House
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

170 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Leura House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 167: English reviews
Sydney
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2015

Leura House is a beautiful old home that has a great deal of potential. However it needs to be refurbished and brought into the 21st century. We booked on Expedia and stayed in the garden cottage. It wasn't as expensive as the rooms but it was very very basic and had we realised we would not have taken it -... More 

Helpful?
Thank JillPSydney
Garry M, Owner at Leura House, responded to this review

Thank you for the points raised. As Leura House is a heritage listed historic house, it is always difficult to find the right balance. Most people stay here because of the old world charm and to modernise it would be to loose the character of the house. As you mentioned we try to supply some budget accommodation on the property... More 

Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2015 via mobile

This is the oldest establishment in leura, and it is certainly showing its age. Was classified as a luxury B&B - I would actually rate it at low end 3 star. I have stayed in some lovely heritage B&Bs over the years, but this certainly was not one. View from small verandah off of bedroom was nice, looking out towards... More 

Helpful?
Thank CazG63
Garry M, Owner at Leura House, responded to this review

Thank you for comments on Leura House. Central Heating is a must here in Leura! On your visit it was not turned on. We understand people have different expectations for breakfast and sometimes it is difficult to meet those expectations. Thank you for comments and we take all on board More 

Tasmania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2015

We booked and paid to stay at Leura House on Wotif. When we arrived, the house was locked up and there was nobody there. A neighbour informed us that the owners had gone to New Zealand! However she kindly phoned the owner and we were told by him that we would need to seek a refund from Wotif. He did... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank MargueriteTasmania
Garry M, Owner at Leura House, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We had closed Leura House while we took time off and somehow a booking was allowed through from an outside booking agency when we had our property closed so we can understand your frustration in arriving and finding it closed! More 

Travellers are raving about these Leura hotels

Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2015

A really beautiful house and a really very nice owner / operator. The rooms are very large and nicely appointed and the house itself is really very full of history (which the owner will gladly share with you). Breakfast was nice and although it could have been both a bit bigger and slightly better it is included in the price... More 

Helpful?
Thank Thekrunkymonkey
Garry M, Owner at Leura House, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice comments on Leura House. We appreciate your feedback! More 

St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2015

We stayed here while visiting the Blue Mountains. The owner, Gary, is very welcoming and if you are interested in the history if the house he will take you through it all and show you the family pictures on the walls. We had room 11 right at the top of the house and the views across to Sydney and the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pete W
Garry M, Owner at Leura House, responded to this review

Thank you Pete for your comments. Being and 1880 house we do not have a lot of modern mod cons as you would expect from a modern Motel. It always difficult to get the right balance with and older house; to modernise or keep the old world charm. More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2015

grand house a few hundred meters out of Leura township great history..very romantic has a secret garden the manger was nice enough but don't expect 5 star service Best to use this place as a base and get breakfast in town..

Helpful?
Thank paul b
Garry M, Owner at Leura House, responded to this review

Hi Paul, Thank you for your comments. While not 5 star, this is our home and we like to make people feel they are staying in a historic home. More 

Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2015 via mobile

I had the most beautiful stay here. I arrived late and there was a bit of a mix up with trying to get in, but after I got onto Garry he upgraded me to the deluxe room and made sure I was warm and set for the night! Don't believe all the terrible reviews on here. They frightened me off... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jessica I
Garry M, Owner at Leura House, responded to this review

Thank you Jessica for your warm comments. People stay here with different expectations and it seems only those you look for fault leave a comment! It is a refreshing change to have such positive feedback! More 

Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2015

I stayed at Leura House 15 years ago - It was magnificent! I I was excited to return and could not believe the change in the place! The new owner is hell bent on extracting the most amount of money from you as soon as possible in exchange for the least amount of effort to ensure you enjoy your stay.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Artjam007
Garry M, Owner at Leura House, responded to this review

Hi Pauline, Thank you for your comments We are sorry that Leura House did not meet your expectations We understand that when expectations are not met everything can seem wrong. More 

Randwick, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2015 via mobile

I have to say that unfortunately I agree with most of the bad reviews, but as one of the only places that allows 1 night bookings, and doesn't cost an arm and a leg, I'm reminded of two old sayings; "beggars can't be choosers", and "you get what you pay for". The worst thing about our stay was definitely the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mtodd5
Garry M, Owner at Leura House, responded to this review

Thank you for your reviews Yes a cash investment would of course do wonders! But like any person who runs there own business we could make Leura House an very modern B&B. But the house is 1880 and we try to keep it in that frame. It is also our home. Of the thousands of people who have stayed here... More 

Manly, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2015

Me and my partner really enjoyed our stay at Leura House recently. We had a nice room upstairs with our own private balcony overlooking the backyard garden area. We wanted a nice quiet romantic getaway and we got that here. The place is very beautiful and historic, you can see and feel the history there. The Managers made us feel... More 

Helpful?
Thank KimberleyandRenato
Garry M, Owner at Leura House, responded to this review

Thank you Kimberley for your comments. We hope you enjoyed your stay in the Blue Mountains and hope to see you again! More 

43 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leura
1.6 km away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
505 reviews
2.1 km away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
784 reviews
1.5 km away
Waldorf Leura Gardens Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection
0.2 km away
Leisure Inn Spires - Blue Mountains
1.1 km away
Broomelea Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This mountain Guest House (c.1880) is an historic and magnificent home. Spacious gardens and sweeping valley views surround the house situated on the highest point (1,900 ft above sea level) of the beautiful village of Leura. Central heating throughout with log fire in the lounge. Superb dining, conference and reception facilities. Adjacent to the many tourist attractions, walking tracks, sporting activities, village shops and railway station. elegantly furnished with lots of old-world charm. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Leura House

Address: 7 Britain St, Leura, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Leura
Price Range: $121 - $481 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Leura House 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Leura House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leura House Hotel Leura
Leura House Blue Mountains
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Leura House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Newcastle, Australia
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Leura House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room was very spacious the bed was good ”
 of 5 bubbles P1816LTjorges, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The deluxe room with balcony over-looking the back yard was nice.”
 of 5 bubbles 597alb, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“plenty of space but a little basic especially bathroom”
 of 5 bubbles scottm706, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Breakfast could have been a little bit nicer”
 of 5 bubbles , 2 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Don't ask for room 1 or 2.”
 of 5 bubbles Tortiebell, 23 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay