We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Leura House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Leura House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

177 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Leura House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 174: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 8 February 2016

A lovely historic house with beautiful gardens. Great value for money and the house is walking distance to Leura shops and restaurants. There is a Sunday market 1st Sunday in the month at the bottom of the road which is a great stroll after breakfast. The weather turned cool and the house was heated beautifully.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Xanthe P
Garry M, Owner at Leura House, responded to this review

Hi Xanthe, Thank you for your comments! We always try and look after our guests as though they were family We hope you enjoyed the markets! With Thanks Garry M

Reviewed 24 January 2016 via mobile

Fantastic place Clean , homely , beautiful old house with history !! On arrival we were greeted by the owner who completed our check in and told us about the house and it's history ! The room was huge and very clean ! Shower was great and heaps of hot water ! The bed was heaven to. New tv in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca W
Garry M, Owner at Leura House, responded to this review

Thank you Bec & Adam for your kind words! You were wonderful guests and we hope to see you again soon!! Garry

Cowra, Australia
Reviewed 21 December 2015

Well was a little dubious with the reviews we had read but thought what better way to find out than stay. Garry was warm and welcoming and gave us a short brief history of the home mentioning that at some point it was a convent since being built in the 1800's. A beautiful home I must say. We stayed in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rkca56
Garry M, Owner at Leura House, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments! Only the basic Queen Rooms do not have a fridge but we can always put items in the main fridge in the kitchen if required. Hope to see you again!

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 December 2015

My cousin and I stayed at Leura House at the end of September and we were very pleasantly surprised after reading some of the negative reviews on this site. We couldn't fault it! The house is a beautiful old wooden double-storeyed mountains mansion with appropriate period furnishings - just the ambience we required on a visit to see the gardens...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kangaroo66
Garry M, Owner at Leura House, responded to this review

Thank you for your warm thoughts on Leura House! Being a family home as well, we want people to enjoy this ambience! Unfortunately we serve a cooked breakfast on weekends and public holidays only See you again soon!

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 30 November 2015

Pros: A beautiful and charming old house, while still having the modern comforts. Liked having a back stairway to be able to enter our room quietly and easily from the car park. Enjoyed our lovely bathroom and bath and room was very comfortable. Cons: Breakfast was included but do not expect it to be anything awesome, 2 boiled poached eggs...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stacey K
Garry M, Owner at Leura House, responded to this review

Thank you Stacey for your comments While check in time is usually 2pm, we do accommodate earlier checkins if requested. With check out at 10pm, like any establishment we have to prepare the rooms for the possible early checkins! Glad you enjoyed your stay, hope to see you again!

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 25 November 2015 via mobile

What a find ... We loved Leura House with its gorgeous old look and scale. The rooms are large and spacious, the beds comfy and whole ambience of the house was peaceful and grand. A very flash B&B - more enjoyable than a hotel with access to common areas such a family room and garden. We spent a lot of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank helen d
Garry M, Owner at Leura House, responded to this review

Thank you Helen for your kind words. We hope to see you again soon!!

Kincumber nsw Australia
Reviewed 9 November 2015 via mobile

Well where do I start... Welcoming ... What welcoming... Nice , until he took our credit card and paid in full up front...taken to our so called cottage... Heating would not start had to call him back and the muttering under his breath as he was trying to fix it.. Toilet one flush and the water would no go down...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank antoinetteconwell
Garry M, Owner at Leura House, responded to this review

We are sorry that the cottage did not meet your expectations here at our home.The issues you raised have been rectified and once again we apologise

Sydney
Reviewed 24 September 2015

Leura House is a beautiful old home that has a great deal of potential. However it needs to be refurbished and brought into the 21st century. We booked on Expedia and stayed in the garden cottage. It wasn't as expensive as the rooms but it was very very basic and had we realised we would not have taken it -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JillPSydney
Garry M, Owner at Leura House, responded to this review

Thank you for the points raised. As Leura House is a heritage listed historic house, it is always difficult to find the right balance. Most people stay here because of the old world charm and to modernise it would be to loose the character of the house. As you mentioned we try to supply some budget accommodation on the property...

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 8 September 2015 via mobile

This is the oldest establishment in leura, and it is certainly showing its age. Was classified as a luxury B&B - I would actually rate it at low end 3 star. I have stayed in some lovely heritage B&Bs over the years, but this certainly was not one. View from small verandah off of bedroom was nice, looking out towards...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CazG63
Garry M, Owner at Leura House, responded to this review

Thank you for comments on Leura House. Central Heating is a must here in Leura! On your visit it was not turned on. We understand people have different expectations for breakfast and sometimes it is difficult to meet those expectations. Thank you for comments and we take all on board

Tasmania
Reviewed 30 August 2015

We booked and paid to stay at Leura House on Wotif. When we arrived, the house was locked up and there was nobody there. A neighbour informed us that the owners had gone to New Zealand! However she kindly phoned the owner and we were told by him that we would need to seek a refund from Wotif. He did...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank MargueriteTasmania
Garry M, Owner at Leura House, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We had closed Leura House while we took time off and somehow a booking was allowed through from an outside booking agency when we had our property closed so we can understand your frustration in arriving and finding it closed!

48 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leura
2.1 km away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
811 reviews
1.6 km away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
513 reviews
3.0 km away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
2.1 km away
Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection
0.2 km away
Leisure Inn Spires - Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This mountain Guest House (c.1880) is an historic and magnificent home. Spacious gardens and sweeping valley views surround the house situated on the highest point (1,900 ft above sea level) of the beautiful village of Leura. Central heating throughout with log fire in the lounge. Superb dining, conference and reception facilities. Adjacent to the many tourist attractions, walking tracks, sporting activities, village shops and railway station. elegantly furnished with lots of old-world charm. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Leura House

Address: 7 Britain St, Leura, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Leura
Price Range: $117 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Leura House 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Leura House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leura House Hotel Leura
Leura House Blue Mountains
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Leura House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Newcastle, Australia
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Leura House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay somewhere else.”
 of 5 bubbles 689leilab, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The suites at the top of the house have fantastic views from the baloney, but be aware of the stairs as could be a drawback for some elderly. If a problem there are great suites on the lower level. ”
 of 5 bubbles Kingsand, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room was very spacious the bed was good ”
 of 5 bubbles P1816LTjorges, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The deluxe room with balcony over-looking the back yard was nice.”
 of 5 bubbles 597alb, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“plenty of space but a little basic especially bathroom”
 of 5 bubbles scottm706, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay