We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Perouse Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Perouse Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

259 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 253: English reviews
Start your review of Perouse Lodge
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

From the moment we checked in the reception staff were more than helpful and very friendly. The hotel is in a great location, with a bus stop across the road that goes straight into the city, just a few minutes walk from the beach and randwick centre. The rooms were a little small but perfect for what we needed and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Orla M
Julie C, Manager at Perouse Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay! Your comments will be most helpful to someone wanting accommodation close to UNSW, the Prince of Wales Hospital precinct, Royal Randwick Racecourse, 'The Spot' Restaurant/Bar and Cinema complex and beautiful Coogee Beach. There are various room sizes available to book. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had two nights here ...paying $508 felt the wifi needed to be better. Surely in 2017 we are past a daily voucher for one device. Very noisy front room on third floor ...road noise and voices throughout the night. Clean room but severe lack of hanging space for two people..Having arrived v late on night one requested last ckeck out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 505John
Julie C, Manager at Perouse Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and we are so glad you enjoyed your coffee at Kokkino Kafe at the front of Perouse Lodge. The free wifi voucher is for 2 devices and if you run short we are happy to help with a top up. Sorry if this wasn't explained clearly and it inconvenienced you in any way. If traffic...

wollongong
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have stayed here before, so knew that the front desk staff lacked any charm. However this time she exceled herself, was rude, totally unhelpful, and gave us a pokey tiny room. The road to the minute car park was closed and the car park was full, she was really unhelpful, and it took forever to find a park on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank patkWollongong
Julie C, Manager at Perouse Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are sorry to hear your expectations with regard to parking were not met. We do advertise we don't guarantee parking and parking is subject to availability. We are sorry you were inconvenienced if this was missed. The road to access the car park is a public road and cannot be closed unless by...

Vaasa, Finland
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Either the hotel is new or then it's been newly renovated. Everything was so new and fresh. I loved staying here. The location is a coin-toss, depends on what you want. Very close to the hospital and UNSW, and the restaurants at the spot are basically next door. 10min walk down to the beach though (Coogee). Not a big problem,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 694kim
Julie C, Manager at Perouse Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. Your review will assist others when seeking clean, comfortable and affordable accommodation in Randwick or nearby. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 3 February 2017 via mobile

We stayed as a family at Perouse Lodge in two twin rooms. The rooms were comfortable and had everything we needed, including efficient air conditioning and openable windows. The laundry facilities were very handy, as were the bus stop, cafes, restaurants and cinema just out the door and it is within easy walking distance to Coogee Beach (about 20 minutes)....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BrianJ98
SydneyLodgesRandwick, Manager at Perouse Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, the content of which will assist others in finding suitable accommodation in Randwick. We are so glad to hear Perouse Lodge ticked all of the boxes for you. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 31 January 2017 via mobile

Twin room was spotless - fresh towels and room cleaned every day - sheets crisp and perfectly made bed every day. Small fridge could be upgraded to fridge with ice box - air con effective - Kitchen and laundrette adequate - most people we met were visiting family and staying at least a week - Wifi poor connection and kept...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jean D
SydneyLodgesRandwick, Manager at Perouse Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. Your review will help others find suitable accommodation in Randwick close to the Prince of Wales Hospital, The Royal Randwick Racecourse, the University of New South Wales and beautiful Coogee Beach. We are working to improve the Wifi service and we are sorry it disappointed you. We look forward to welcoming you...

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 31 January 2017

We stayed here only because it was near the hospital. The rooms were clean and the bed comfortable. They are very small though. The hotel is central to the hospitals and shopping precint. The lady at reception seemed very unsure about how to book us in and was very annoying to say the least. There is a cafe right next...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maree W
SydneyLodgesRandwick, Manager at Perouse Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Perouse Lodge is close to the Prince of Wales Hospital complex as well as the Royal Randwick Racecourse, the University of New South Wales and beautiful Coogee Beach. Our Small Double rooms are quite compact so if you are looking for some extra space for a little extra cost I suggest our King Rooms or...

EAST SUSSEX, UK
Reviewed 19 January 2017

Booked a "small" double room between 22-27 Dec 16 so that we could attend family gatherings based in Coogee. Whilst the room was indeed "small" and did not have much in the way of storage, what we wanted was somewhere to sleep and this is what we got, so no complaints. Perouse Lodge is right next to public transport and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PIGASIMU
SydneyLodgesRandwick, Manager at Perouse Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. The information you have provided will be helpful for others. If in future you intend to stay may I suggest booking a king or king deluxe room if you are looking for a lot more space for a little extra price. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Reviewed 14 January 2017

perouse lodge is ideally situated for the beaches and for central quay. The bus system is frequent and easy to use with an opal card. This card can be used on the train system and the manly ferry. Able to bus to googee, bondi and bronze beaches. The immediate area includes an excellent cafe/restaurant centre whilst in the other direction...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Graham M
Julie C, Manager at Perouse Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. Your review will assist other in selecting suitable accommodation in Randwick. Perouse Lodge offers fresh, new accommodation in Randwick. After receiving a complete renovation, the property re-opened in December 2015. The new-look Perouse Lodge features large, bright rooms with modern facilitates and furnishings. Facilities at the property include a full...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

The beds here have had their day. They have lost their firmness and are absolutely terrible to sleep on. Sleeping on the floor was better. Not good enough for a so called 4 star hotel. The WiFi is also very limited, only 500 mb per 24hrs!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gianni M
Julie C, Manager at Perouse Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are sorry you didn't find our new beds as comfortable as most of our guests do. Of course everyone has a different level of comfort and it is difficult to please everyone. You are correct, the free wifi we offer is advertised at 500mb per day, we apologise if you missed this in the...

75 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (45)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Randwick hotels
Royal Hotel at Randwick
#7 of 14 in Randwick
129 reviews
Coogee
Adina Apartment Hotel Coogee
Coogee
Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
High Cross Park Lodge
#4 of 10 in Randwick
134 reviews
Randwick Central Suites
#4 of 14 in Randwick
141 reviews
Avoca Lodge
#12 of 19 in Randwick
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Experience Sydney like a local at Perouse Lodge, boutique accommodation close to Coogee Beach in Sydney, Australia. The property has recently received a complete renovation and re-opened 29 December 2015. The brand new rooms are bright and modern. They feature premium bedding, free wireless internet access and air-conditioning. The property also has a guest laundry, outdoor BBQ area, large shared dining area and Kokkino Kafe right out the front. Perouse Lodge is surrounded by Randwick's best cafes, restaurants and bars, and a short walk to The Spot. Coogee Beach is also within walking distance, as is UNSW (University of NSW) and the Prince of Wales Hospital. Public transport services the area, with frequent buses to the Sydney CBD and Bondi Beach. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Perouse Lodge

Address: 6 Perouse Rd, Randwick, New South Wales 2031, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Randwick
Price Range: $125 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Perouse Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Perouse Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Perouse Hotel Randwick
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Perouse Lodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Perouse Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“don't have ground floor room!”
 of 5 bubbles patkWollongong, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“theres a couple of balcony rooms, other than that, walls are your view.”
 of 5 bubbles 540mareew, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Queen room at least”
 of 5 bubbles grahamm291, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room 109 has a shower which floods the bathroom”
  • desk area was handy
  • small double
  • bathroom - clean but shower flooded+++
 of 5 bubbles 50andout, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Stayed 113. Lower ground rooms are generally quieter and have a nice king size bed, but small does mean small.”
 of 5 bubbles F1104EVadamm, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5