We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

High Cross Park Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
High Cross Park Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

135 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 130: English reviews
Start your review of High Cross Park Lodge
 Click to rate
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I turned up at 10pm and had already cancelled and found somewhere else to stay by 11pm. I'm not sure which rooms they use to advertise there hotel on booking.com but it certainly wasn't the one we were put in. The room was small, dirty and dated. Instead of the large bay windows advertised, we had a tiny window in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BenThompson123
SydneyLodgesRandwick, Manager at High Cross Park Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear High Cross Park Lodge did not meet your expectations. Our photos displayed are of each room type and not each room. We offer clean comfortable and affordable accommodation and that is what we provide. We checked the room the following morning and the toilet seat was attached and the bed...

Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

Good value for money. Nice service and convenient to everything in Sydney. This is a better place to stay at a cheaper rate than a lot of other hotels in Sydney as it's a good quality place (unlike many of the kings cross hotels) and is still very close to the city

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ricky N
Julie C, Manager at High Cross Park Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. High Cross Park Lodge is convenient to the Prince of Wales Hospital precinct, the Royal Randwick Racecourse, the University of New South Wales and beautiful Coogee Beach. A regular bus service is operating between Randwick and the CBD, Central Station and Circular Quay. We are glad you enjoyed your stay...

Reviewed 4 February 2017 via mobile

Great location, across the road from the prince of wales hospital. It's got a near new bathroom, and we had our own balcony. It's very clean and has friendly staff. Laundry facilities were adequate. I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again, even though the floor boards were very creaky throughout the room and down the halls. Though overall, it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda S
SydneyLodgesRandwick, Manager at High Cross Park Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review it will help others in selecting suitable accommodation. Sorry about the creaky floorboards, we are addressing that commencing April this year. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Reviewed 17 December 2016 via mobile

We stayed one night as my partner had surgery at the local hospital the room was clean and comfortable and staff was great. Close walking distance to the Main Street and hospital, car parking was a little tricky but had no issues otherwise.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kylie M
SydneyLodgesRandwick, Manager at High Cross Park Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your stay. We are happy to hear Avoca Lodge was a convenient place for your to stay because of its location, across Avoca Street to the Prince of Wales Hospital complex. We offer clean comfortable and affordable accommodation close to the Randwick Shopping Centre, Coogee Beach, the University of New South Wales and the Royal Randwick...

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 6 November 2016

As an "out of towner" I needed somewhere to stay while my wife was undergoing treatment in the nearby Prince of Wales Hospital. The High Cross Park Lodge was not only close but the rooms were exceptionally clean and comfortable. As I was unsure how long I would be staying the staff were amazingly understanding and helpful as my departure...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeff S
SydneyLodgesRandwick, Manager at High Cross Park Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay Jeff. The content of your review will help others who are seeking accommodation near the Prince of Wales Hospital complex, the Royal Randwick Racecourse, the University of New South Wales and lovely Coogee Beach. We were happy to be flexible with your length of stay, you kept us well informed...

Drobak, Norway
Reviewed 14 October 2016

We stayed here for 7 nights,during this period nobody came to clean the room or empty our garbage.room was so noisy,could clearly hear all the traffic,everything,also room was very small and not nice,walls and carpet were dirty. Need repaint and refurbish.We would not choose this place again. Only good thin was asian restaurant nearby.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Erika B
SydneyLodgesRandwick, Manager at High Cross Park Lodge, responded to this review

Oh dear! We are sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay. We advertise a weekly service and perhaps you missed this information when you booked. We are always happy to provide extra amenities and clean towels when requested. If you are wanting a room with daily servicing may I recommend Perouse Lodge just 50 metres from High Cross Park...

Auckland
Reviewed 11 October 2016 via mobile

The accommodation was in a convenient location to where we needed to be. A short walk to some nice restaurants in Randwick and of course a very short walk down the hill to Coogee Beach. The room we stayed in was basic, but clean and had what we needed, including a small kitchen with toaster and kitchen sink that I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AandD07
sydney_lodges, Manager at High Cross Park Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I am glad to hear our accommodation suited your needs. High Cross Park Lodge is well located near 'The Spot' Restaurant/Bar and Cinema complex, the University of New South Wales, the Prince of Wales Hospital precinct, the Royal Randwick Racecourse and beautiful Coogee Beach. Public transport is only 50 metres from the lodge offering...

Concord, California
Reviewed 9 September 2016

The price was right and the place looks like an old Victorian house with several rooms turned into hotel. My room has a fireplace that is blocked by one of the beds of a two bed in a small hotel room. The check in was done by a very nice Taiwanese woman and was very polite and informative about the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank phil350
sydney_lodges, Manager at High Cross Park Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you felt you received value for money and the guest service agent was helpful and pleasant on check in. High Cross Park Lodge has only ground floor and first floor rooms so a lift is unnecessary and we are happy to offer assistance with luggage when required. We are well...

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 27 August 2016

I stayed at this place for a visit at UNSW, which is within 10 minute walking distance. The room I had was rather cheap for Sydney standards, probably as cheap as it gets unless you stay in a hostel. It is better suited for short term stays, as there is no daily room service and the room is very small....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank woflmao
Julie C, Manager at High Cross Park Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We offer clean comfortable and affordable budget accommodation. Our single rooms are quite small and for an extra small charge you can upgrade to a larger room if available. We offer free wifi up to 500MB per day. Avoca Lodge is handy to the University of New South Wales, the Prince of Wales Hospital complex,...

Tuggeranong, Australia
Reviewed 18 August 2016

I have stayed at High Cross Park Lodge between 50 and 60 night a year for the past three years. Julie and her team are excellent to deal with. The location is ideal and it is very good value for money. Most of my stays have been work related but some for leisure also. It is close enough to walk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DBC303
Julie C, Manager at High Cross Park Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind review, it will certainly assist others when needing accommodation in Randwick close to the University of New South Wales, the Royal Randwick Racecourse, the Prince of Wales hospital complex or beautiful Coogee Beach. We look forward to welcoming you back!

67 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (43)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Randwick hotels
Royal Hotel at Randwick
#7 of 11 in Randwick
132 reviews
Coogee
Adina Apartment Hotel Coogee
Perouse Lodge
#3 of 10 in Randwick
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Avoca Lodge
#11 of 18 in Randwick
121 reviews
The Blenheim Randwick
#9 of 10 in Randwick
177 reviews
Alison Lodge
#6 of 18 in Randwick
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Experience Sydney like a local and stay at High Cross Park Lodge, a boutique lodge close to Coogee Beach in Sydney, Australia. With public transport at your door, it’s just 20 minutes by bus to get to the exciting Sydney CBD and stunning Sydney Harbour. Coogee Beach is just a short walk from the lodge.The hotel offers modern comforts such as wireless internet access, air-conditioning, cable television and direct dial telephones to suit the needs of every traveller. The lodge even has an outdoor area where you can have your own Aussie barbeque while down under.The Lodge is just a short walk from UNSW (University of NSW) and Prince of Wales Hospital.Walk to the beach, shop in the city or try some of the amazing food in and around the buzzing streets of eastern Sydney. With fabulous facilities and a great location, High Cross Park Lodge is the perfect place to stay to experience the real Sydney. ... more   less 

Additional Information about High Cross Park Lodge

Address: 7-9 Cuthill St, Randwick, New South Wales 2031, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Randwick
Price Range: $106 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — High Cross Park Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your High Cross Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Cross Park Hotel Randwick
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from High Cross Park Lodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from High Cross Park Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you want to be sure of a good room, book a different hotel.”
BenThompson123, 28 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the rear would be quieter but some of the front rooms have balconies which are great for sitting outside during meal times.”
553JeffS553, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“It doesn't have an elevator, lots of narrow stairs. Bring own food.”
phil350, 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
“A family room with a veranda is worth asking for as you can sit outside for a bit of fresh air and less cramped feeling.”
Stringbean52, 19 Mar 2016 | Read review
“the rooms that over look the BBQ area are good”
chloe123-11, 25 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5