We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

High Cross Park Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
High Cross Park Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

134 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for High Cross Park Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 129: English reviews
South-east Australia
Reviewed 30 May 2016

Excellent dinner options, being just a short stroll from The Spot and its choice of restaurants, or even a counter meal in the pub on the corner. Easy access to the city centre, with frequent buses going down the nearby main street to Circular Quay, or a good walk down to Coogee Beach. Despite Cuthill Street being very busy, our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tassielad
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. High Cross Park Lodge as you said is in a very popular position - close to the University of New South Wales, the Prince of wales Hospital complex, The Spot restaurant, bar and cinema complex and beautiful Coogee Beach. We do advertise Compact Double rooms with a double bed so...

Reviewed 18 April 2016 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights. Tiny room, had to request a service & new towels and they would not do the service. Mouldy bathroom, mirror too high for average person and with inadequate ventilation, Fridge smelt like there was something dead in it. Rooms in serious need of remodeling. Definitely would not stay here ever again. Initially I was happy just to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Martine E
Management response:

Thank you for your review Martine and we are sorry to hear the property didn't meet your expectations. Our single rooms are quite compact and our double rooms are advertised as Small Doubles so our guests know what they can be expecting on checkin. We advertise a weekly service at this property and are happy to replace towels and bathmats...

Central West NSW
Reviewed 20 March 2016

The lodge was quiet, apart from ambulance sirens throughout the evening. The room was not large but was clean and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was adequate and clean with plenty of hot water. The TV was hard to watch as it was too small and high on the wall so I gave up trying to watch it....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stringbean52
sydney_lodges, Manager at High Cross Park Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We pride ourselves on providing comfortable, clean and affordable accommodation so we are happy to hear you were not disappointed. We provide limited parking and if our spots are full we can direct people to free unrestricted parking nearby. We are usually able to help out to avoid guests having to move there cars. Alternatively,...

Reviewed 6 February 2016 via mobile

My partner needed last minute surgery at Prince of Wales hospital. This accomodation is a 5 minute walk to the hospital and my room, even though it's modest in size, is clean and comfortable. I wouldn't recommend it for a 2 week holiday, but certainly fantastic for a couple of nights stay. Olena was very helpful on the phone and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amanda B
sydney_lodges, Manager at High Cross Park Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review High Cross Park Lodge Amanda. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay, the location and the cleanliness of the property. We are located in a very popular area as you say close to shops, entertainment, the Prince of Wales Hospital Complex, University of New South Wales and the beautiful Coogee...

Warana, Australia
Reviewed 24 January 2016 via mobile

My mates son is staying at the moment and although we booked online for him and his girlfriend from qld, processing the payment was time consuming because he didn't have a credit card... In saying this it was good to know that Olena was brilliant and it is reassuring that every box was ticked to ensure everything was above board....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn K
sydney_lodges, Manager at High Cross Park Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are so happy to hear you received 'Awesome Service' from Olena. Paying for someone else does require a security procedure to safeguard the card owner and the business as I am sure you can understand. We are proud of Olena and will pass on your gratitude for her service. We look forward to welcoming...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 9 January 2016

This is a quiet old building with a selection of different-sized rooms located next to the Royal Hotel. Nothing fancy, but you don't expect fancy for around AUD100 a night. The reception isn't always open - no doubt to keep down costs - but the staff are very polite and helpful. They fixed me up with a phone charger during...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bryan T
sydney_lodges, Manager at High Cross Park Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review High Cross Park Lodge. Your comments are a very true indication of the lodge, service and value for money. I will recommend the installation of safety boxes as you mentioned. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Phuket, Thailand
Reviewed 26 November 2015

Recently my partner had a heart attack and was air lifted to Prince Alfred Hospital. After searching the net to find inexpensive accom I came across this little beauty. The Lodge is about 5 min walk to the rear of the hospital and not being a Sydney person I found that fantastic. It ment I could visit in the morning...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chloe123-11
sydney_lodges, Manager at High Cross Park Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review High Cross Park Lodge and recommend it to other guests. High Cross Park Lodge is conveniently close to The Prince of Wales hospital complex and we are glad you felt comfortable walking to and from the hospital. Your review was a true picture of the lodge, no frills, great ensuite shower/bathroom, clean...

Bowraville, Australia
Reviewed 22 November 2015

We were very disappointed with our stay at this Lodge. We arrived for a late check in to find two different room keys in the lock box in our name - the first key did not open the door of the room indicated and it took a while to find the second room at the rear of the building. Once...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank felicity8666
sydney_lodges, Manager at High Cross Park Lodge, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay. You did book a Small Double Room and we do advertise them as Small so it meets the booker's expectations. I am sorry if the Small Double Room supplied didn't meet your expectations. We don't advertise we have microwave ovens in our rooms, however there is a fully equipped...

Armidale, Australia
Reviewed 16 November 2015 via mobile

After making a booking I noticed that I had unfortunately selected the wrong date online. I called within 5 mins of making the book to change the date to which I was rudely informed I was unable to, the payment had not even been taken out of my bank as yet.As I was on the phone the money was taken...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cooper22222
sydney_lodges, Manager at High Cross Park Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Unfortunately you selected the less expensive option of a non-refundable non-changeable booking. Then asked for your booking to be changed. We are in very close proximity to the Prince of Wales Hospital Complex and offer two rates because medical situations can be unpredictable. Your review will help others to select the most appropriate rate for...

Reviewed 6 November 2015

I would have given this property 5 stars were it not for the poor internet provided by a 3rd party. However everything else about this property is brilliant. The location is great, close to everything in Sydney like public transport, good parking - A few comments: PARKING Ignore other customer complaints about limited parking space - this is Sydney and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ricky N
sydney_lodges, Manager at High Cross Park Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your comprehensive review, it will be a valuable reference for other travelers. Unfortunately we were not aware of the poor internet service and have since had it corrected. Happy travels and we welcome you back anytime.

67 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (43)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Randwick
0.1 km away
Royal Hotel at Randwick
Royal Hotel at Randwick
#7 of 14 in Randwick
121 reviews
2.9 km away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Zetland
0.1 km away
Perouse Lodge
Perouse Lodge
#3 of 10 in Randwick
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Avoca Lodge
Avoca Lodge
#12 of 19 in Randwick
118 reviews
0.1 km away
Randwick Lodge
Randwick Lodge
#5 of 10 in Randwick
225 reviews
0.3 km away
The Blenheim Randwick
The Blenheim Randwick
#7 of 10 in Randwick
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Experience Sydney like a local and stay at High Cross Park Lodge, a boutique lodge close to Coogee Beach in Sydney, Australia. With public transport at your door, it’s just 20 minutes by bus to get to the exciting Sydney CBD and stunning Sydney Harbour. Coogee Beach is just a short walk from the lodge.The hotel offers modern comforts such as wireless internet access, air-conditioning, cable television and direct dial telephones to suit the needs of every traveller. The lodge even has an outdoor area where you can have your own Aussie barbeque while down under.The Lodge is just a short walk from UNSW (University of NSW) and Prince of Wales Hospital.Walk to the beach, shop in the city or try some of the amazing food in and around the buzzing streets of eastern Sydney. With fabulous facilities and a great location, High Cross Park Lodge is the perfect place to stay to experience the real Sydney. ... more   less 

Additional Information about High Cross Park Lodge

Address: 7-9 Cuthill St, Randwick, New South Wales 2031, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Randwick
Price Range: $111 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — High Cross Park Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your High Cross Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Cross Park Hotel Randwick
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from High Cross Park Lodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from High Cross Park Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms at the rear would be quieter but some of the front rooms have balconies which are great for sitting outside during meal times.”
 of 5 bubbles 553JeffS553, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“It doesn't have an elevator, lots of narrow stairs. Bring own food.”
 of 5 bubbles phil350, 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
“A family room with a veranda is worth asking for as you can sit outside for a bit of fresh air and less cramped feeling.”
 of 5 bubbles Stringbean52, 19 Mar 2016 | Read review
“the rooms that over look the BBQ area are good”
 of 5 bubbles chloe123-11, 25 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Room 213 is great. Quiet. No view but it's very quiet. You'll never hear the traffic”
 of 5 bubbles 610rickyn, 6 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5