We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Diamond Island Resort

Hotels.comUS$156*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Professional photos
Diamond Island Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

336 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 321: English reviews
Start your review of Diamond Island Resort
 Click to rate
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Apart from the efforts of the Manager to attempt to make our 3 night stay enjoyable, the whole experience was disappointing. Every part of the resort appears to be suffering from deterioration and lack of maintinance. No wi-fi except in the reception area, BBQ a long and impractical distance away from the units, no directory listing features of the property....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jaypound
Hobart, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very disappointing , and certainly not worth the money we paid. The difference is room standards varied a lot, maybe we were unlucky. There was no shower curtain or bath mat, so hard to keep bathroom floor dry. the bedrooms were upstairs which were very narrow and hard to navigate at night if you wanted to use the toilet ,which...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank winedrinker45
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 17 April 2017

The room was fine and the location is good but it was all ruined by the owner/managers and the badly run restaurant. Very unprofessional customer relations ranging from the surly and uncommunicative to the hostile and abusive. Waiting 90 minutes for a meal - with no apology - just not on.

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Global T
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

Wow. An amazing part of Tasmania but this "resort" experience can leave you thinking why do people even come here. The rooms are old, can forgive that, but not clean. We ran out of toilet rolls and we asked for clean towels and responded with but you only checked in yesterday??. The 4 star rating is a joke, I would...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank EmmaLehman
Wendy W, Owner at Diamond Island Resort, responded to this review

Hi Emma, I see you were in one of the 70yr old beachshacks and yes they are not nearly as luxurious as the 1br and beachfront villas that we have, but families love them for the beach access and the comfortable atmosphere for kids. We do seem to get a lot of issues around the penguin tour and I will...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 13 April 2017 via mobile

Accommodation - for the price is awful. Cold, draughty, all the dishes were filthy with a dirty food filled scrubbing brush under the sink to clean them with. No teatowels either. Two seater couch for 4 people. Dead bugs everywhere. No mattress protector on beds and thin sheets - duvet felt and smelt dirty. Shower head at a height only...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank lisamcjono
Wendy W, Owner at Diamond Island Resort, responded to this review

Hello Lisa, we were advised of your concerns when you were on site as unfortunately decided to be very vocal to our staff. I note you booked direct and received very good value for 4 persons at effectively $80 each per night for beachfront accommodation in an historic 70 year old Beachshack. We have luxury accom as well but only...

Surfers Paradise, Australia
Reviewed 11 April 2017

I was given an upstairs room, modern and spacious rooms with fabulous views, beds really comfortable and lovely soft pillows and doonas and a little kitchen to make quick meals. The restaurant food at the resort was really lovely and more than enough on the plate. I had duck for main and tried some local wine which was from a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mariestephens
Bribie Island, Australia
Reviewed 10 April 2017 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at this resort for 3 nights and totally enjoyed our stay, rooms are big tidy & clean. Greeted my The owners daughter who was warm and very welcoming, had a few drinks in the main area, followed by a relaxing evening looking over the water. The penguin viewing was a nice touch. Really beautiful stop...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tionalee
Reviewed 9 April 2017 via mobile

• It's a good location but that's it • Not a 4 Star resort • Was extremely disappointing stay from check in to check out. Staff & owners aren't friendly and don't have a clue how to run a hotel/resort and don't care when you make any legitimate complaint • Rooms are filty dirty. We had to change rooms as...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ABJILong
welco, Manager at Diamond Island Resort, responded to this review

This is an ongoing trend, a minority of people seem to think they can use these reviews to receive some (!!!!!) All rooms are cleaned extensively, after the first day due to unhappy guests, 2 adults and 2 children, another room no 11 was cleaned and all checked and documented clean. They changed to the new room but were still...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 8 April 2017

I booked 23 rooms for a group touring Tasmania, they were most helpful throughout the booking process and also when we arrived there. This resort is under rated, the location is excellent, it is a short walk to a beautiful beach that has penguins come in of a night. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Some maintenance is needed, maintenance...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bobbeck3
welco, Owner at Diamond Island Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for the review, Maintenance is an ongoing process at the resort. The beach and walk to an island is something no one else has, little penguins frequently walk past units each night all for free. Due to our close proximity to the ocean, our replacement of items is much higher than most. The lights in most units have been...

Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Reviewed 27 March 2017

Not what you'd expect for the price and penguin tour is non existent. We wish we had known this as our special needs daughter was looking forward to seeing penguins. Pay for the tour elsewhere if you want to see them as you are blocked off from the beach and tour (they lock you out) as it is not run...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Krissy L
Wendy W, Owner at Diamond Island Resort, responded to this review

Hi, I am the owner mentioned in the above review. Firstly, I am extremely concerned re the negativity of the review for the following inaccuracies 1. The guest booked direct with myself as her daughter required a disability unit. Villa 2 at the Resort is same and we went out of our way to accommodate the family as we always...

202 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (188)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (20)
Viewed
Other (76)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bicheno
2.0 km away
Beachfront Bicheno
Beachfront Bicheno
#2 of 4 in Bicheno
365 reviews
37.1 km away
Piermont Retreat
Piermont Retreat
#1 of 3 in Swansea
436 reviews
28.1 km away
Edge of the Bay Resort
Edge of the Bay Resort
#2 of 2 in Coles Bay
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Wintersun Gardens Motel
2.6 km away
Bicheno by the Bay
Bicheno by the Bay
#3 of 12 in Bicheno
230 reviews
27.8 km away
Saffire Freycinet
Saffire Freycinet
#1 of 2 in Coles Bay
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Free Penguins viewing & Beach Resort, with large Conference area with Ocean beach views, Bar, Dining, Breakfast areas, Private Dining room, Beach Apartments, 6 one bedroom upper level, 6 ground level, Two Luxury beach front Double level one bedroom Apartments and 12 Beach Shacks. Some with spa units. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Diamond Island Resort

Address: 69 Tasman Hwy, Bicheno, Tasmania 7215, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Bicheno
Price Range: $175 - $357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Diamond Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Diamond Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamond Island Hotel Bicheno
Diamond Island Bicheno
Diamond Island Resort Bicheno, Tasmania
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Diamond Island Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“look before you leap”
winedrinker45, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Our beach view room was just as described”
densmith323, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Depending on ones age and mobility, if stairs are difficult to negotiate, specify a ground floor only room as some have rooms on two levels.”
269denisf, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“enjoy the location and you will never forget the views and try and book an upstairs room”
852russellm, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All rooms seem to have sea views”
MikeE999, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$156* /night
View Deal
TravelocityUS$156
Expedia.comUS$156
Orbitz.comUS$156
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates